×

Switch Account

Access Point Steering

Reply
Contributor cnervins
Contributor
Posts: 2
Registered: ‎11-08-2018
Message 11 of 16
(949 Views)

You can use the router GUI to see which devices are connected to which router. Verizon is 192.168.1.1

You can see what the FNE ip address is at 192.168.1.1 it woul dbe labled WCB6200.

Gold Contributor V Gold Contributor V
Gold Contributor V
Posts: 1,378
Registered: ‎05-16-2009
Message 12 of 16
(927 Views)

Been doing some more reading found these :

Enable Band Steer on a Wireless Access Point

https://www.cisco.com/c/en/us/support/docs/smb/wireless/cisco-small-business-100-series-wireless-acc...

Objective

Band steering is a feature that enables your dual-band devices to detect higher radio frequency of 5 GHz band and allows the device to automatically transmit on that band. Because the 2.4 GHz band is an early technology developed for Wi-Fi, it is often congested and experiences interference from different devices such as Bluetooth, and even microwave ovens. This feature allows your dual-band access point to steer and direct devices to a more optimal radio frequency, thus, improving network performance.

 

Important: If your Virtual Access Point (VAP) is configured with time-sensitive voice or video traffic, it is not encouraged to enable band steer.

 

This document provides the steps to enable and disable band steering on a wireless access point.

In addition to above url please  read this:

https://www.linksys.com/us/r/resource-center/what-is-a-wifi-access-point/

 

 

Tom
QIP 7100 1,Bose SOLO,QIP 7216 P2, iPad 2 WiFi,iPhone SE
Contributor gson516
Contributor
Posts: 4
Registered: ‎08-17-2019
Message 13 of 16
(858 Views)

It would be great if Verizon communicated this or their support people knew that access point steering is coming in the future as a lot of people have bought the extenders expecting this functionality and it is not there.

Contributor Suss
Contributor
Posts: 2
Registered: ‎05-26-2010
Message 14 of 16
(585 Views)

No, not helpful (or in English).

Contributor ryanbuckner
Contributor
Posts: 3
Registered: ‎04-25-2015
Message 15 of 16
(398 Views)

I was able to enable this on my FIOS G1100 by using the MyFIOS app and going to the internet options. Very strange that you can't do it through the router admin firmware.

Contributor ryanbuckner
Contributor
Posts: 3
Registered: ‎04-25-2015
Message 16 of 16
(396 Views)

It didn't work very well 

How-To Videos
 
The following videos were produced by users like you!
   
Videos are subject to the Verizon Fios Community Terms of Service and User Guidelines and contains content that is not created by Verizon.


Browse Categories
Categories:
Posts

Verizon Troubleshooters
Unable to find your answer here? Try searching Verizon Troubleshooters for more options.