Accessibility Resource Center Skip to main content
Get it fast with In-store & curbside pickup or same day delivery.

ActionTec router reboots on it's own?

Reply
rfa5
Copper Contributor
Copper Contributor
Posts: 17
Registered: ‎09-28-2008

ActionTec router reboots on it's own?

Message 1 of 12
(6,825 Views)

I originally posted this on Aug 4, but it seems that a whole bunch of posts from that day were lost in the maintenance that night so here goes again!  My MI424WR Rev I router several times a day just shuts down and reboots.  When it's finished rebooting everything is just fine.  I noticed it when I was streaming radio on computer and it would just shut off.  I looked at the router and saw that it was off, and then started going through it's booting...red power light, then green along with the rest of the green lights.  Since my original post I called Verizon and explained what was happening.  I went through all the reboots and shut downs that you can do with the equipment...rebooting the ONT, powering down the router, etc.  Still happening at what seems like totally random times.  They sent me a new router and I hooked it up today and so far I did have one reboot.  Any suggestions as to what I should look at here?  I like to troubleshoot and get things right before I call tech support. I'll have to keep watching and see if there is any pattern to these reboots.  Maybe today's reboot was just a fluke?  Have FIOS here for quite a few years and it's been trouble free up until now.  The problem does not seem to affect neither the TV nor the digital voice service.  BTW, my main connections to the router are Ethernet connections. 

11 REPLIES 11
JOSEm441
Silver Contributor V
Silver Contributor V
Posts: 631
Registered: ‎12-17-2009

Re: ActionTec router reboots on it's own?

Message 2 of 12
(6,806 Views)

Is the router located in a low moisture, well ventilated area?

If a forum member gives an answer you like, please give them the Kudos they deserve. If a member gives you the answer to your question, mark the answer as Accepted Solution so others can see the solution to the problem. Thanks !!!
http://forums.verizon.com/t5/Verizon-net-Email/Fix-for-Missing-Inbox-sent-folders-etc-with-Internet-Explorer-11/m-p/647399
rfa5
Copper Contributor
Copper Contributor
Posts: 17
Registered: ‎09-28-2008

Re: ActionTec router reboots on it's own?

Message 3 of 12
(6,764 Views)

LOL!  It's been in the same dry location, and well ventilated too for the last 7 years or so. 

ocean25
Silver Contributor II
Silver Contributor II
Posts: 279
Registered: ‎08-07-2010

Re: ActionTec router reboots on it's own?

Message 4 of 12
(6,760 Views)

@rfa5 wrote:

Maybe today's reboot was just a fluke?  Have FIOS here for quite a few years and it's been trouble free up until now.  The problem does not seem to affect neither the TV nor the digital voice service.  BTW, my main connections to the router are Ethernet connections. 


   If not a fluke, maybe another defective router. Stranger things have happened!

   Good luck!

Smith6612
Platinum Contributor III Platinum Contributor III
Platinum Contributor III
Posts: 7,557
Registered: ‎12-15-2010

Re: ActionTec router reboots on it's own?

Message 5 of 12
(6,736 Views)

Seven years is a good life for a router. It sounds like it may be on the way out for you if it's rebooting spontaneously. Just take note, some types of traffic or devices have been known to cause routers to crash and reboot. See if you can narrow the problem down to a particular device, program, or activity on your network.

 

If all else fails, chat or call with Verizon. They should be more than happy to give you a new one.

rfa5
Copper Contributor
Copper Contributor
Posts: 17
Registered: ‎09-28-2008

Re: ActionTec router reboots on it's own?

Message 6 of 12
(6,682 Views)

I have been in touch with Verizon and they sent out a new router and I continue to get totally random reboots.  I'm not a high volume user such as downloading movies and such.  Still trying to figure out what's happening here. I'll keep searching!

Holly1
Silver Contributor II
Silver Contributor II
Posts: 280
Registered: ‎11-03-2009

Re: ActionTec router reboots on it's own?

Message 7 of 12
(6,648 Views)

Many times when I have a problem, I do a google search and find out someone else has had that problem. I googled

your problem and found out this was on the forum in other years. See the google link below:

http://www.google.com/#bav=on.2,or.r_qf.&fp=53e3d0ede0d92e8a&q=actiontec+router+keeps+rebooting

One of those on the google page I put below, but I don't know if you can still use it.

http://consumerist.com/2008/01/04/fios-router-constantly-rebooting-heres-the-fix/

Hope this helps.

Holly

By the way I just looked at our router and it is the same one but has Rev.E at the end of the model number. We haven't had any problems with it so far and have had it for years.

fossil
Nickel Contributor
Nickel Contributor
Posts: 48
Registered: ‎07-10-2011

Re: ActionTec router reboots on it's own?

Message 8 of 12
(6,567 Views)

Very similar symptoms.  here's my commiseration. I'm undecided as to how to proceed.

 

I had a Rev F router that a very friendly, competent Vz tech left for me after a visit for an unrelated problem.  It's worked fine for several (2+) years.  A  few months ago I had a day filled with FiOS internet access problems.  Phone was fine.  TV was ok, except no VOD on any of the STBs. After powering down everything in the house  from the ONT (removed the battery too!) to the router, STBs, and PCs multiple times and restarting from the outside inward, I gave up and called Vz support.  The (exceptionally clueless?) tech put me through the usual power down/up drill again twice and then declared my router needed replacement.  C'est la vie.  While I disagreed, I knew arguing was senseless.  She put in the order for a replacement to be shipped.  That was a Thursday night. I was told it wouldn't arrive until Monday or Tuesday because of the weekend.  Since I work at home 3 days a week (M-W-F,  lucky me) it would mean making an hour drive into my office(unlucky me) until it arrived.  Friday morning before heading out, I crossed my fingers and tried connecting.  It worked (again, lucky me.)  No problems resurfaced that day, or through the weekend - even VOD came back.   When the replacement router arrived Tuesday, it was a new Rev I.  While happy, I was reluctant to install it and lived with the old one for another week.  I gave in and swapped them, sending back the old one.  

 

As I mentioned, I work from home 3 days a week. I  follow the same "work from home" routine on those mornings. 1) reboot my ethernet-wired PC; 2) go get my coffee in the kitchen and let the dog out; 3) about 10 minutes later I start my VPN; 4) I start a Remote Desktop session to my office machine.  Up to here, that's been the same for years and aside form that one terrible day, there's been no problem worth mentioning.   After connecting the Rev. I all was good as well.  However, for the last 2 weeks, when I go through that routine and reach #4,  to start the Remote Desktop session, the  Rev I spontaneously reboots; just a red light, and then the green lights start and begin to flicker on/off during rediscovery & recognition on the Vz network.  While that progresses, I close the not-connected RDP start-up window, and terminate the VPN which is stuck trying to "reconnect".  I wait until full internet access is restored.  Then I start the VPN.  I start the RDP.  All is good.  If I happen to shut down the RD & VPN during the day, and then restart a connection to work, it connects fine without the router reboot happening.  But the next time I try a "morning" attempt 2 or 3 days later, it goes through the same problematic reboot-upon-RD scenario.  

 

While most Vz techs I've dealt with are very good, I live in fear of getting another clueless tech and figure the "devil I know is better than the one I don't".  But reading this poster's problem is making me think it isn't "just me".  I'm interested in hearing if others are having similar issues.

 

 

 

tveng
Contributor
Contributor
Posts: 1
Registered: ‎02-06-2014

Re: ActionTec router reboots on it's own?

Message 9 of 12
(5,700 Views)
@Fossil: i have the exact same problem. Everything is going along fine for years. More recently my router was replaced since the last one died. Also more recently my employer started prescribing the use of Junos Pulse for VPN connection. Well sometimes (most times) when I establish the VPN followed by rdp the router reboots. Actiontec M1424WR Rev. 1.

Did you get closer to a solution?
sangs
Silver Contributor IV
Silver Contributor IV
Posts: 526
Registered: ‎06-24-2010

Re: ActionTec router reboots on it's own?

Message 10 of 12
(5,697 Views)
How-To Videos
 
The following videos were produced by users like you!
   
Videos are subject to the Verizon Fios Community Terms of Service and User Guidelines and contains content that is not created by Verizon.
Have a spare Fios-G1100?Learn how to bridge it into your network
Get Started


Covid19

Browse Categories
Categories:
Posts

Verizon Troubleshooters
Unable to find your answer here? Try searching Verizon Troubleshooters for more options.