Actiontec MI424WR DLNA Problems

SOLVED
Reply
Highlighted
Contributor
Contributor
Posts: 4
Registered: ‎11-09-2012

Re: Actiontec MI424WR DLNA Problems

Message 41 of 105
(3,802 Views)

Unfortunately, the fix is not permanent. Smiley Frustrated

 

Hopefully, I will hear back from ActionTec.

 

Highlighted
Contributor
Contributor
Posts: 2
Registered: ‎11-15-2012

Re: Actiontec MI424WR DLNA Problems

Message 42 of 105
(3,760 Views)

UTDCole - I agree - You Rock!

I've been trying to get my DLNA connection to work for weeks.  Even contacted LG (my TV maker), to no avail.  I was about to return the TV to Best Buy and try again.  But Voila!  Followed your instructions and I'm connected.  Even the connection to my tablet in the house has been better!  I was about to to have that looked at too!

Thanks a lot man!  I'm going to pass this info on.

Highlighted
Contributor
Contributor
Posts: 2
Registered: ‎11-15-2012

Re: Actiontec MI424WR DLNA Problems

Message 43 of 105
(3,755 Views)

Forgot to add this.  I recently had a new heat pump unit installed with wifi controlled thermostat.  The connection was intermittant.  After applying your fix (UTDCole), it stays connected now!

Highlighted
Contributor
Contributor
Posts: 1
Registered: ‎11-23-2012

Re: Actiontec MI424WR DLNA Problems

Message 44 of 105
(3,645 Views)

Just wanted to thank you for the heads-up.  I was just about to lose it!  Followed your instructions and now all is right.

 

Again Thank you.

Highlighted
Copper Contributor
Copper Contributor
Posts: 16
Registered: ‎12-02-2011

Re: Actiontec MI424WR DLNA Problems

Message 45 of 105
(3,529 Views)

Sory but UTDCole's solution does nto work on MI424WR-GEN3I hardware version I firmware version 40.19.36.  In fact in this version there is no IGMP proxy option at all. I called Verizon support and they want me to sign the premier support contract to even look at it.  Thats basically a support cost of $150 for a problem that Verizon has created to begin with!

Highlighted
Copper Contributor
Copper Contributor
Posts: 5
Registered: ‎12-01-2012

Re: Actiontec MI424WR DLNA Problems

Message 46 of 105
(3,513 Views)

If you update the firmware from version 40.19.36 to 40.19.20 it the IMPG will be in the router.  Worked perfectly for me until Actiontec or VZ started pushing the .36 out to the routers and erasing my config file.  Now as soon as I plug into the WAN it updates the router...I cannot stop it from updating everytime it connects to the internet.  I have inquired with Actiontec how to stop this...VZ is no help at all in this situation and didn't even know what I was talking about.  Now the ONLY solution I can find is to save the .20 on my desk top and anytime I need my DLNA I move the firmware to .20 and leave my router unplugged from the internet...insane!!

Highlighted
Silver Contributor II
Silver Contributor II
Posts: 265
Registered: ‎01-09-2012

Re: Actiontec MI424WR DLNA Problems

Message 47 of 105
(3,508 Views)

bud_man:

 

Logon to the Router:  http://192.168.1.1

 

Go tt;  advanced --> yes --> firmware upgrade

Change to "automatic check disabled"

 

Also yolu may want to see if you can add a Firewall advanced rule to Block Incoming TCP port 4567.

 

Thius way the Router will not auto update and Vz can't get a force and update.

 

Block TCP 4567.jpg

The Lithium Software sux !!
Highlighted
Copper Contributor
Copper Contributor
Posts: 11
Registered: ‎12-01-2012

Re: Actiontec MI424WR DLNA Problems

Message 48 of 105
(3,506 Views)

I'm having the same problem with I Gen. I have tried to downgrade the firmware with Automatic Update Check set to off. It would update it first but then it will reboot in a minute after and reset the version back to the latest one. The reason I paid 80 bucks for this router is to be able to stream HD content from my DLNA media server over WIFI w/o hiccups. What a waste! 

 

If anyone knows a trick on how to get rid of that stupid firmware version please post it here!

 

Thanks.

Highlighted
Copper Contributor
Copper Contributor
Posts: 5
Registered: ‎12-01-2012

Re: Actiontec MI424WR DLNA Problems

Message 49 of 105
(3,467 Views)

I get an error saying that I cannot block port 4567 and that it's not allowed.  This is very frustrating and not sure why they won't correct this.  

Highlighted
Silver Contributor II
Silver Contributor II
Posts: 265
Registered: ‎01-09-2012

Re: Actiontec MI424WR DLNA Problems

Message 50 of 105
(3,465 Views)

bud_man:

 

I was hoping that wouldn't be the case.  Later versions of Firmware have some kind of logic that blocks the creation of a Firewall rule to block incoming TCP port 4567.

 

I wonder if there is a command that can be entered in a Telnet session that bypasses that.

 

 

The Lithium Software sux !!
How-To Videos
 
The following videos were produced by users like you!
   
Videos are subject to the Verizon Fios Community Terms of Service and User Guidelines and contains content that is not created by Verizon.
Covid19


Browse Categories
Categories:
Posts

Verizon Troubleshooters
Unable to find your answer here? Try searching Verizon Troubleshooters for more options.