Accessibility Resource Center Skip to main content
Have a phone you love? Get up to $500 when you bring your phone.

Actiontec MI424WR DLNA Problems

SOLVED
Reply
Cory1070
Contributor
Contributor
Posts: 2
Registered: ‎01-06-2013

Re: Actiontec MI424WR DLNA Problems

Message 81 of 105
(3,080 Views)

This jump worked for me!!! Everything works again. The PS3 media server and the TVersity media server both now show up on my PS3. Thank you for posting this. I had tried all the other fixes to no avail.

LexLuthor
Nickel Contributor
Nickel Contributor
Posts: 29
Registered: ‎03-30-2011

Re: Actiontec MI424WR DLNA Problems

Message 82 of 105
(2,988 Views)
I spent a lot of time trying to figure this out. Isn't this a bug that Verizon should be fixing ASAP? This can't be intended behavior. Only once I figured out that it was a wired vs wireless issue was I able to find that other thread in this forum about the same issue. I'm good now, but what a frustrating problem.
LexLuthor
Nickel Contributor
Nickel Contributor
Posts: 29
Registered: ‎03-30-2011

Re: Actiontec MI424WR DLNA Problems

Message 83 of 105
(2,891 Views)
I just noticed this morning that IGMP Proxy was enabled again. I didn't touch that setting. Is it possible it reverted back on its own or via a network command from Fios? Anyone else have it revert back? In general, will Fios be issuing a fix for this? No way it's correct that this is enabled by default and causes this kind of issues with DLNA.
Media101
Contributor
Contributor
Posts: 1
Registered: ‎01-28-2013

Re: Actiontec MI424WR DLNA Problems

Message 84 of 105
(2,763 Views)

Thanks for the direct link.  I disabled IGMP proxy but my iTunes Home Sharing still disconnects after a few minutes?  Do I need to disable the IGMP in the routing sections of Advanced Settings as well or something else?

soshamba
Contributor
Contributor
Posts: 1
Registered: ‎02-03-2013

Re: Actiontec MI424WR DLNA Problems

Message 85 of 105
(2,643 Views)

I've got the MI424WR Rev E. and just recently streaming from my Windows 7 PC to my xbox stopped working. Had the same setup and router for almost a year and worked without issue.

 

Tried everything I could think of one Saturday afternoon to no avail. A call to verizon tech support didn't help either. Finally decided to get the router swapped at my nearest verizon store. Streaming worked fine when I first set it up, but to my surpise later in the evening it stopped working again.

 

Disabling IGMP Proxy as suggested in this thread immedietly fixed the issue. Thanks for the help!

 

imran238
Copper Contributor
Copper Contributor
Posts: 9
Registered: ‎02-04-2013

Re: Actiontec MI424WR DLNA Problems

Message 86 of 105
(2,612 Views)

I have major issues with my Actiontec router, I can't see any of my DLNA devices. I tried the following fixes:

1. Changing the IGMP proxy settings - I had no options on the router to do this until I found a link that took me to this option directly and by disablingit I couldn't see my DLNA DEVICES.

2.I tired changing the IP Address Distribution and again this did not work

3. I tried messing with the IVP6 settings and again no luck.

 

I have called Verizon mutliple times and they cannot give me the Westell 9100em router that worked with all my DLNA devices. Does anyone have any other ideas, I now have a non-fuctioning home network because of this rubbish router.

 

 

imran238

imran238
Copper Contributor
Copper Contributor
Posts: 9
Registered: ‎02-04-2013

Re: Actiontec MI424WR DLNA Problems

Message 87 of 105
(2,586 Views)

I have major issues with my Actiontec router, I can't see any of my DLNA devices. I tried the following fixes:

1. Changing the IGMP proxy settings - I had no options on the router to do this until I found a link that took me to this option directly and by disablingit I couldn't see my DLNA DEVICES.

2.I tired changing the IP Address Distribution and again this did not work

3. I tried messing with the IVP6 settings and again no luck.

 

I have called Verizon mutliple times and they cannot give me the Westell 9100em router that worked with all my DLNA devices. Does anyone have any other ideas, I now have a non-fuctioning home network because of this rubbish router.

 

 

imran238

lakers2012
Contributor
Contributor
Posts: 1
Registered: ‎02-09-2013

Re: Actiontec MI424WR DLNA Problems

Message 88 of 105
(2,505 Views)

Worked like a charm...Thanks bro!

imran238
Copper Contributor
Copper Contributor
Posts: 9
Registered: ‎02-04-2013

Re: Actiontec MI424WR DLNA Problems

Message 89 of 105
(2,418 Views)

How did you get your Actiontec to work? I've had serious issues and tried all the options and yet I can't see any pf my DLNA devcies. Any help would be geatly appreciated. 

 

Thanks

 

 

Chuckh1958
Nickel Contributor
Nickel Contributor
Posts: 34
Registered: ‎06-14-2012

Re: Actiontec MI424WR DLNA Problems

Message 90 of 105
(2,391 Views)

I think they have moved or removed thisoption. I'm having the same problem and on the Advanced tab there is no IGMP proxy setting.  The only thing related to IGMP that I've found was under Advanced --> Routing --> Routing Protocols. There's a check box to completely disabled IGMP. 

 

I disabled it but I'm accessing my router remotely and can't test to if DLNA is working again. I'll update this thread tomorrow with my findings

 

FWIW my firmware version is 40.19.36, hardware version 5A.

How-To Videos
 
The following videos were produced by users like you!
   
Videos are subject to the Verizon Fios Community Terms of Service and User Guidelines and contains content that is not created by Verizon.
Have a spare Fios-G1100?Learn how to bridge it into your network
Get Started


Covid19

Browse Categories
Categories:
Posts

Verizon Troubleshooters
Unable to find your answer here? Try searching Verizon Troubleshooters for more options.
Modal Dialogue Title