Accessibility Resource Center Skip to main content
Get it fast with In-store & curbside pickup or same day delivery.

Add a WiFi modem to the Actiontec M1424WR

SOLVED
Reply
SpeedThree
Nickel Contributor
Nickel Contributor
Posts: 46
Registered: ‎07-07-2012

Add a WiFi modem to the Actiontec M1424WR

Message 1 of 26
(2,195 Views)

We have an Actiontec M1424WR Rev e modem/router.

 

We have the  Verizon Double Play bundle, Internet and Phone only, no TV, and with the iMac connected to the Actiontec via Ethernet cable, our speeds are excellent.  E.g., On a Saturday morhing, the iMac gets d/l speeds of 58Mbpa, u/l speeds of 34Mbps

 

The internet signal comes into the Actiontec via Coax cable.  

 

The Actiontec is located on the third floor of a three-floor townhouse.

 

The WiFi signal to the AppleTV three floors away can be _dismal_ at prime time in the evenings.  A recent Ookla speedtest returned 1.47 d/l, 3.58 u/l, 66 ping.

 

I have seen posts indicating that the Actiontec M1424WR gets poor ratings for WiFi signal strength and have seen posts claiming that you can turn off the WiFi on the Actiontec and add a WiFi capable modem with a good reputation for wireless strength.  Specifically, I see a lot of recommendations for ASUS routers.

 

Can any of you network gurus confirm this?

 

Would this be a good plan for acheiving better WiFi signals at the AppleTV?

 

Is there another way which does not involve pulling ethernet cable throughout the house?

 

Many thanks.

 

 

1 ACCEPTED SOLUTION

Accepted Solutions
eljefe
Gold Contributor IV
Gold Contributor IV
Posts: 1,217
Registered: ‎12-14-2009

Re: Add a WiFi modem to the Actiontec M1424WR

Message 15 of 26
(2,123 Views)

 A powerline adapter won't work from two outlets in the same room if both of those outlets aren't on the same phase of the building's power wiring.

 

Most residential power in the U.S. is 220-240 volt two phase.  One phase feeds each half of the main circuit breaker panel.  Individual 110 volt circuit breakers are on one phase or othe other of the main feed.  220-240 devices, such as air conditioning motors, have a feed from both sides of the CB panel and use both phases.

 

In the case of the power line adapter, the signal can't bridge between two different 110v circuits that are hooked up to different sides of the main CB panel. 

 

Here's the bottom line to me:  I've had reasonable results with power line adapters and so have other people I know.  The OP could give it a try, or not.  I don't see that there's much to lose, especially if they buy the adapters from someplace where they can return them if they don't work.

 

As always..... different strokes for different folks. Smiley Wink

 

 

View solution in original post

25 REPLIES 25
eljefe
Gold Contributor IV
Gold Contributor IV
Posts: 1,217
Registered: ‎12-14-2009

Re: Add a WiFi modem to the Actiontec M1424WR

Message 2 of 26
(2,187 Views)

I doubt any WiFi device will work well through 3 floors of a building.

 

Might you already have coax running to the TV on the first floor?  If so, a fairly simple solution would be a MoCA adapter, such as the Actiontec ECB 2200.

SpeedThree
Nickel Contributor
Nickel Contributor
Posts: 46
Registered: ‎07-07-2012

Re: Add a WiFi modem to the Actiontec M1424WR

Message 3 of 26
(2,177 Views)

Sadly, we do not have a Coax connection in the basement.

 

Looking on another networking site I found this posted by a guy in a multi-story townhouse:

 

"I currently have the Actiontec set up as the DHCP server and an Apple airport Extreme serving as the wireless plus an Airport Express upstairs to extend the network.  Only two things I cannot do:
Running DD-WRT on my router (won't run on either the Actiontec or the Apple).
Using Apple's Guest network feature so guests don't have to use my home network."
 
What do you think of that possibility???
 
 

 

eljefe
Gold Contributor IV
Gold Contributor IV
Posts: 1,217
Registered: ‎12-14-2009

Re: Add a WiFi modem to the Actiontec M1424WR

Message 4 of 26
(2,162 Views)

I'm not an Apple kind of guy so I can't tell you whether or not that configuration would work for you.

 

Hopefully someone else with hands on experience will chime in.

SpeedThree
Nickel Contributor
Nickel Contributor
Posts: 46
Registered: ‎07-07-2012

Re: Add a WiFi modem to the Actiontec M1424WR

Message 5 of 26
(2,157 Views)

Thanks very much for chiming in.  Much appreciated.

SpeedThree
Nickel Contributor
Nickel Contributor
Posts: 46
Registered: ‎07-07-2012

Re: Add a WiFi modem to the Actiontec M1424WR

Message 6 of 26
(2,143 Views)


There's something about the wifi speed I just don't get.

 

Saturday night, 8:42, and I do a speed test on my ethernet-connected iMac and get download speeds of almost 60Mbps. Blazing fast.

 

I put my iPad down right next to the iMac, about 3 feet from the wifi antenna and get a measly 1.01Mbps down, 4.45Mbps up, and a Ping of 66.

Earlier today, at 9:32 in the morning, with the iPad in the same spot, I was getting 22.59 down, 15.2 up, and a Ping of 17.

 

My Actiontec is set to Channel 6, and iStumbler tells me I am the only router in the neighborhood on that channel. For the heck of it, I changed the channel to 1, and then to 11, but the slow wifi speeds persisted.

 

Why does the wifi d/l speed drop from 22Mbps d/l all the way to 1.01Mbps download in the evening? It baffles me, especially when the wired speed to the iMac stays steady.

roaddogg
Silver Contributor II
Silver Contributor II
Posts: 273
Registered: ‎11-03-2013

Re: Add a WiFi modem to the Actiontec M1424WR

Message 7 of 26
(2,137 Views)

@SpeedThree wrote:

 

Why does the wifi d/l speed drop from 22Mbps d/l all the way to 1.01Mbps download in the evening? It baffles me, especially when the wired speed to the iMac stays steady.


Most likely network/server congestion. Evenings are peak times when everyone and their mother is online.

Speeds shouldn't drop that low, but all depending on the server you are connecting to at the time and how much is on it could very well slow it down.

Have you speed tested several severs....including in different states? Same results?

eljefe
Gold Contributor IV
Gold Contributor IV
Posts: 1,217
Registered: ‎12-14-2009

Re: Add a WiFi modem to the Actiontec M1424WR

Message 8 of 26
(2,115 Views)

The fact that the OP said his iMac's speeds are consistent via a wired connection would tend to discount the problem being network congestionI would lean towards some type of interference that's happening in the evenings...a light fixture or something else creating electronic noise/interference.

 

But even that's hard to envision with the iPad only 3 feet from the wifi source.   As a troubleshooting step I would try a difference wireless device...maybe the iMac if he was wifi available, or a iPhone, etc. etc.

 

Minor nit for SpeedThreeYou have two distinct issues you've lumped into one threadIt's usually better to start a new thread with a new problemThis could get a little confusing over time if fellow users are replying to both your issues here...  :smileywink:

SpeedThree
Nickel Contributor
Nickel Contributor
Posts: 46
Registered: ‎07-07-2012

Re: Add a WiFi modem to the Actiontec M1424WR

Message 9 of 26
(2,110 Views)

My bad for mixing apples and oranges in the same thread.  Shall I start a new one and, if so, what would you suggest for a title?

 

My iMac is a 2009 and it does have a 802.11a/b/g/n card so I can disconnect the ethernet cable tonight around 2100H and see what the wifi connection speed is.  

 

I am glad that some got the fact that it's not a network congestion problem if the wired iMac consistently gets fast d/l speeds 24/7.

 

I also have an iPhone with that OOKLA speed test on it; I'll try that tonight too.

 

What, oh what, can that interference be?  

eljefe
Gold Contributor IV
Gold Contributor IV
Posts: 1,217
Registered: ‎12-14-2009

Re: Add a WiFi modem to the Actiontec M1424WR

Message 10 of 26
(2,106 Views)

It may be too late to split this thread, unless a moderator comes along and does it for you.

 

Anyway, I think it would be good troubleshooting to run the speed test in the evening on the iMac wired and then immediately disconnect the Ethernet cable and run the test again via WiFi.  And also see what your iPhone gets with the speedest.net (OOKLA) app.

 

If you get the same results with all 3 devices on WiFi, when the iMac is still getting normal speeds hard wired, look around for any electronic device in the same room as your router that's on in the evening and not on during the day. 

 

It may be something entirely unrelated to interference but  that's where I'd start.  Given the info you've provided so far it's hard to imagine what besides local interference could be causing the problem.

 

One other thought....I wonder if the problem could be related to something that's running in the evening on your iPad that's using it's data streaming resources.  I can't imagine what that could be, but running the speed tests on the other devices should eliminate that possiblity.

How-To Videos
 
The following videos were produced by users like you!
   
Videos are subject to the Verizon Fios Community Terms of Service and User Guidelines and contains content that is not created by Verizon.
Have a spare Fios-G1100?Learn how to bridge it into your network
Get Started


Covid19

Browse Categories
Categories:
Posts

Verizon Troubleshooters
Unable to find your answer here? Try searching Verizon Troubleshooters for more options.