Accessibility Resource Center Skip to main content
Get it fast with In-store & curbside pickup or same day delivery.

Add a WiFi modem to the Actiontec M1424WR

SOLVED
Reply
SpeedThree
Nickel Contributor
Nickel Contributor
Posts: 46
Registered: ‎07-07-2012

Re: Add a WiFi modem to the Actiontec M1424WR

Message 21 of 26
(1,061 Views)

I'm not sure which of your two problems you're thinking the dual band router will solve, but let say that a 5 GHz signal is less likely to penetrate walls/floors than a 2.4 GHz connection.

A dual band router won't likely solve your problem of getting better service in your lower floor.

 

If I had a dual-band, I could use the 5GHz connection for my wife's computer on the same floor, in a different room and see how the 5GHz might work with the computer one floor down

 

I would reserve the 2.4GHz band for the AppleTV in the basemen.

 

Now, it will have to be a mattter of using the same 2.4GHz band throughout the house.

 



 

 

 

SpeedThree
Nickel Contributor
Nickel Contributor
Posts: 46
Registered: ‎07-07-2012

Re: Add a WiFi modem to the Actiontec M1424WR

Message 22 of 26
(1,034 Views)

Well, I received and installed my new router and the result has been improved speed throughout the house, even in the basement.  Pages open just about instantly in the Laptop web browsers and the signal in the basement has increased appreciably. 

 

Yes, I could have done it more cheaply, but I could also have done it more expensively as I was considering connecting an Apple Extreme Base Station to the old Actiontec and the AEBS is $200.

 

The advantages of the new Actiontec is that I am totally familiar with the web-based software and so don't have to learn my way around a new router's software and, FWIW, I can still call on Verizon support should I run into a problem I cannot solve.

 

Here are the results of some of my speed tests, done using the Verizon speed test.  The router was installed on 27 November, and you can see the speed increase for yourselves:

 

TOP FLOOR:

24 Nov 1200H  21.85 DOWN & 20.97 UP.

24 Nov 1633H  22.87 DOWN & 19.81 UP.  LATENCY 15MS

 

27NOV  1213H  42.81 DOWN & 38.96 UP.  LATENCY 15MS - AUTO

27NOV  1232H  58.15 DOWN & 38.92 UP.  LATENCY 15MS - CH6

 

WIFE’S TOP FLOOR OFFICE; A ROOM AWAY:

24 Nov 1200H 25.98 DOWN & 11.93 UP LATENCY 15MS

27NOV 1210H  38.31 DOWN & 37.69 UP LATENCY 12MS

 

KITCHEN

24 Nov 1200H  15.23 DOWN & 10.37 UP LATENCY 13MS

24 Nov 1525H  21.52 DOWN & 19.23 UP LATENCY 15MS 

24 Nov 1810H  14.05 DOWN &  11.49 UP LATENCY 17MS

24 Nov 2109H  24.31DOWN & 17.74 UP LATENCY  15MS; CH 3

25 Nov 0615H  10,56 DOWN & 16.62 UP LATENCY 13MS; CH 3

25 Nov 2106H  22.53 DOWN & 11.99 UP LATENCY 18MS; CH 3

 

27NOV 1205H   39.37 DOWN & 31.21 UP LATENCY 15MS  CH 6

28NOV  0710H  31.43 DOWN & 36.49 UP LATENCY 15MS  CH 11

 

BASEMENT

24 Nov 1200H 16.23 DOWN & 11.97 UP LATENCY 15MS

24 Nov 1644H 12.14 DOWN & 12.36 UP, LATENCY 15MSS

24 Nov 1803H  07.72 DOWN & 03.42 UP LATENCY 14MS

24 Nov  2052H 06.71 DOWN & 11.46 UP LATENCY 15MS; CH6

24Nov   2056H 07.97 DOWN & 05.65 UP LATENCY 15MS; CH 11

24Nov   2100H 20.88 DOWN & 05.51 UP LATENCY 15MS; CH 1

24Nov   2102H 21.42 DOWN & 11.31 UP LATENCY 15MS; CH 3

 

27NOV 1841H  33.64 DOWN & 34.64 UP  LATENCY 15MS; CH 6

27NOV  2019H  37.22 DOWN & 38.81 UP LATENCY 14MS; CH 6

 

 

A final thanks to all who chimed in with suggestions throughout this thread.

 

 

eljefe
Gold Contributor IV
Gold Contributor IV
Posts: 1,217
Registered: ‎12-14-2009

Re: Add a WiFi modem to the Actiontec M1424WR

Message 23 of 26
(1,030 Views)

I'm a little surprised that the new router is penetrating 3 floors to your basement that well but hey....you can't argue with success!  Smiley LOL

 

Good luck going forward.

SpeedThree
Nickel Contributor
Nickel Contributor
Posts: 46
Registered: ‎07-07-2012

Re: Add a WiFi modem to the Actiontec M1424WR

Message 24 of 26
(1,020 Views)

The penetration to the basement _may_ be because of the central stairwell connecting the three floors.  It's not like the signal has to penetrate three concrete floors.  The signal probably bounces of the various walls until it makes its way into the basement... or I have just revealed my profound ignorance of how router signals are propogated.

 

Happy Thanksgiving.

 “Happiness is having a large, loving, caring, close-knit family in another city.”
- George Burns

 

tns2
Platinum Contributor III Platinum Contributor III
Platinum Contributor III
Posts: 4,437
Registered: ‎12-16-2012

Re: Add a WiFi modem to the Actiontec M1424WR

Message 25 of 26
(1,011 Views)

@SpeedThree wrote:

The penetration to the basement _may_ be because of the central stairwell connecting the three floors.  It's not like the signal has to penetrate three concrete floors.  The signal probably bounces of the various walls until it makes its way into the basement... or I have just revealed my profound ignorance of how router signals are propogated.

 

Happy Thanksgiving.

 “Happiness is having a large, loving, caring, close-knit family in another city.”
- George Burns

 



Floors per say are not that big a wireless signal.  Problems with concrete floors may be because of the reinforcing iron.  Radio signals don't tend to bounce off walls.

logan8
Bronze Contributor II
Bronze Contributor II
Posts: 140
Registered: ‎10-01-2013

Re: Add a WiFi modem to the Actiontec M1424WR

Message 26 of 26
(981 Views)
yeah I wouldn't say radio signals bounce off walls, but that doesn't mean they will cleanly go through a wall. Its not like your WiFi router is a radio tower. Remember for successful WiFi your router has to get a signal to your PC with minimal packet loss and then your computer has to send a good signal back to the router. To do this through multiple materials and to do it at a high rate of speed is not simple tech like a radio. The information being sent back and forth is massive and every time information gets lost it has to get resent until all the information is received.
How-To Videos
 
The following videos were produced by users like you!
   
Videos are subject to the Verizon Fios Community Terms of Service and User Guidelines and contains content that is not created by Verizon.
Have a spare Fios-G1100?Learn how to bridge it into your network
Get Started


Covid19

Browse Categories
Categories:
Posts

Verizon Troubleshooters
Unable to find your answer here? Try searching Verizon Troubleshooters for more options.