Adding a computer to my wireless service
Mar
I'd like to add another desktop to my wireless service.  I've purchased a "compact wireless-G usb adapter" by Linksys.  Will this work with my Fios service?  The package says that it's compatible with "Wireless-B or Wireless-G".  Since I am new to all this, I have no idea if this will work or not.  Any help would be appreciated.
0 Likes
Re: Adding a computer to my wireless service
Provider7
Contributor - Level 3
That should work just fine.  Verizon's routers sendout wireless B and G....  If you are running Vista, maks sure it's compatable with the wireless card you've purchased.
0 Likes
Mar

Thanks for the quick reply.  I'm running Windows XP, so I guess I'm okay.

I'm trying to find instructions on how exactly to add the Fios to my second computer, but I'm not finding what I'm looking for.  Can someone point me in the right direction?

0 Likes
Provider7
Contributor - Level 3

Do you already have the wireless adapter installed on the other computer?

What router did you recieve from Verizon?  If you recieved the Actiontec, the SSID and Wep key are printed on a label on the side of the router.

From your Xp machine search for wireless connections, find the wireless network that matches your SSID....hit connect and enter in the password (Wep Key), then re-enter it and see if you connect.

0 Likes
Mar

All went fairly well, the only problem I have is that some site's graphics are not loading.  I guess that has to do with some kind of settings, but I haven't figured that out yet. 

I subscribed to Verizon's Internet Security Suite; is that coverage only for my first computer?

Thank you so much for your help!

0 Likes
Provider7
Contributor - Level 3

@Mar wrote:

I subscribed to Verizon's Internet Security Suite; is that coverage only for my first computer?

That I don't know.   You can try going to

https://activatemyfios.verizon.net/