Accessibility Resource Center Skip to main content
Get it fast with In-store & curbside pickup or same day delivery.

Advanced Filtering on New Quantum Router

SOLVED
Reply
Copper Contributor
Copper Contributor
Posts: 6
Registered: ‎03-26-2015

Advanced Filtering on New Quantum Router

Message 1 of 13
(5,140 Views)

Unlike the old actiontech router, the new quantum router has seems to have no way for advanced filtering.  How do I adjust the advanced filtering settings?  I have a VoIP line the router is interfearing with.

1 ACCEPTED SOLUTION

Accepted Solutions
Platinum Contributor I
Platinum Contributor I
Posts: 5,217
Registered: ‎10-18-2016

Re: soha.eido

Message 12 of 13
(1,157 Views)

@itahmed wrote:

So I have upgraded to the 1gig up\down but also need the advanced filtering. I have had to revert back to the old modem. 

 

I have given up on verizon getting advanced filtering to be included in the quantum routers.  The question is, do you know what other routers offer advanced fitlering that are able to give me great performance, rich features, fast, reliable, and offer great WiFi range as well?

 

Please list ones you know offer advanced filtering as I am not finding many that do.

 


This is an older thread, but any high end router (or cheaper) has advanced settings albeit advanced filtering may be/not be included. do a google search to find out prior to shelling out higher money.

D-Link and Nortons and Westell and of curse both Verizon Routers and TP Link are all listed when I just did a quick search on http://www.google.com 

 

Good Luck

 

View solution in original post

12 REPLIES 12
Copper Contributor
Copper Contributor
Posts: 11
Registered: ‎11-07-2013

Re: Advanced Filtering on New Quantum Router

Message 2 of 13
(5,032 Views)

I also have this issue. Advanced filtering was on my previous Verizon router, so where is it in the G1100? I'd like to be able to restrict access to a port forwarding rule instead of having it open to the world. In the previous router I did this with a port forwarding rule and an advanced filtering rule specifying the IP I wanted to let in.

Copper Contributor
Copper Contributor
Posts: 11
Registered: ‎11-07-2013

Re: Advanced Filtering on New Quantum Router

Message 3 of 13
(4,989 Views)

I just spent about an hour and a half trying to explain my issue and the Verizon tech connected me with the Quantum router tech. He informed me that currently there is no way to restrict inbound access to a port forwarding rule. He said, its possible that the feature may be added via a firmware update in the future but could not give me a date or even when to expect one. The Verizon tech said he would call me back in 24 hours with any information he could gather but I may end up switching back to the Actiontec MI424WR Rev1 as it still supports 75/75 and the features I use. I open an SSH tunnel from work to a PC on my internal network at home for testing purposes and I don't want every IP on the Internet to have access. I'll update this post when I hear from the verizon tech tomorrow.

Copper Contributor
Copper Contributor
Posts: 6
Registered: ‎03-26-2015

Re: Advanced Filtering on New Quantum Router

Message 4 of 13
(4,966 Views)

 i ended up switching back to the actiontech gigaE rev.i router  i guess it has gigabyte switching   i dont care about the quantoms g-1100 wireless range or the zwave as the unit is in the basement and inwoild never sign upfor verizon home automation  

 

any idea  how the actiontech mi424wr rev.i compairs speed wise to the g-1100?

Copper Contributor
Copper Contributor
Posts: 11
Registered: ‎11-07-2013

Re: Advanced Filtering on New Quantum Router

Message 5 of 13
(4,953 Views)

I heard back from the Verizon tech and they told me that a firmware update will be released before the 27th of this month that should address the missing features. (hopefully Advanced Filtering)

Copper Contributor
Copper Contributor
Posts: 11
Registered: ‎11-07-2013

Re: Advanced Filtering on New Quantum Router

Message 6 of 13
(4,878 Views)

Still no Advanced Filtering.....

Copper Contributor
Copper Contributor
Posts: 11
Registered: ‎11-07-2013

Re: Advanced Filtering on New Quantum Router

Message 7 of 13
(4,866 Views)

Spent another hour on the phone with Verizon trying to make headway on this issue. Its like beating a dead horse. Even the G1100 tech could not understand that port forwarding alone will NOT restrict the source IP from the Internet. It must be in conjunction with advanced filtering which the G1100 does NOT have.

 

Basically, if you have an Actiontec router and use advanced filtering, DO NOT go to the G1100 as it does not have Advanced filtering and you can't make them understand why its needed.

Contributor
Contributor
Posts: 2
Registered: ‎06-29-2015

Re: Advanced Filtering on New Quantum Router

Message 8 of 13
(4,710 Views)

I have found that if I connect an end point (computer) that has been previously configured on Quantum but does not match the current configuration it will disrupt the current configuration and make any number of unpredictable changes.  It seems that when I do a reset and the network re-configures itself any device previously connected but not present when I did a reset need to have all previous Quantum network user profiles deleted before it is connected again.

Contributor
Contributor
Posts: 2
Registered: ‎06-29-2015

Re: Advanced Filtering on New Quantum Router

Message 9 of 13
(4,705 Views)

Somehow I was returned to the wrong thread after I created a new user account for this forum.  Basically my problem is the same and related.  This Quantum router is not under my control. There are endless configuration problems that I  cannot overcome because access is restricted.  I wish I would have read in these forums before I switched over to this device.

 

It's like gun control and many other issues.  A few people mess up so the institutional answer is take it away from everyone.

Contributor
Contributor
Posts: 2
Registered: ‎01-26-2016

Re: Advanced Filtering on New Quantum Router

Message 10 of 13
(4,255 Views)

Ditto here.  The absence of advanced filtering is a tremendous omission.  

 

Yes, there a quite a few enhancements to the G1100 that makes it better than the MI-424WRs, but the lack of filtering capability outweighs all of that...

 

For some reason, when I upgraded to 75/75, despite the agent telling me "there's no need to replace your hardware," they've sent me not one but TWO of these.

 

I'm afraid if I don't send my 424 back, they'll start billing me, and I don't know what will happen if I just send back the 1100's instead...

 

How-To Videos
 
The following videos were produced by users like you!
   
Videos are subject to the Verizon Fios Community Terms of Service and User Guidelines and contains content that is not created by Verizon.
Covid19


Browse Categories
Categories:
Posts

Verizon Troubleshooters
Unable to find your answer here? Try searching Verizon Troubleshooters for more options.