×

Switch Account

Advantage of connecting to ethernet on ONT

Advantage of connecting to ethernet on ONT

SOLVED
Reply
Highlighted
Copper Contributor Mark_S
Copper Contributor
Posts: 5
Registered: ‎11-01-2008
Message 1 of 6
(32,945 Views)

I have the full FIOS package (Internet/HDTV/Phone).  Currently I am connected via Coax to the ONT.

 

Is there an advantage to also running Cat5e to the ONT and connecting both ways?

5 REPLIES 5
Contributor FIOS_Tech
Contributor
Posts: 1
Registered: ‎01-20-2009
Message 2 of 6
(32,928 Views)
No. If your router is now connected by coax only (MOCA), the ethernet port of the ONT is not enabled. There is no advantage even if it where enabled.
Silver Contributor III
Silver Contributor III
Posts: 398
Registered: ‎10-09-2008
Message 3 of 6
(32,911 Views)
um, SURE there are advantages . . .   like if your router's data circuit goes on the blink, with ethernet connection to router you can then unplug the WAN cable from the router and plug it directly into your computer until you can get a replacement ;  or if you want to use your own router in the mix (like for a better wireless connection) sometimes there are issues with the coax to router-only set-up, or,  . . or  . .. .   but ,  you do have to ask Verizon to turn the ethernet port on, at the ONT.   Communications-wise, though, basically there is no differnce in the throughput of the data or the end user's experience using just MoCA instead of ethernet.
cjacobs001
Gold Contributor III
Gold Contributor III
Posts: 1,059
Registered: ‎10-21-2008
Message 4 of 6
(32,895 Views)

@cjacobs001 wrote:
um, SURE there are advantages . . .   like if your router's data circuit goes on the blink, with ethernet connection to router you can then unplug the WAN cable from the router and plug it directly into your computer until you can get a replacement ;  or if you want to use your own router in the mix (like for a better wireless connection) sometimes there are issues with the coax to router-only set-up, or,  . . or  . .. .   but ,  you do have to ask Verizon to turn the ethernet port on, at the ONT.   Communications-wise, though, basically there is no differnce in the throughput of the data or the end user's experience using just MoCA instead of ethernet.
 
You know you can have 2 routers setup, I have a wireless n as well as my fios router. Plus if you have Fios TV you need to use the Fios router. It has special programming for the STBs.  

 

Nickel Contributor
Nickel Contributor
Posts: 37
Registered: ‎01-14-2009
Message 5 of 6
(32,883 Views)

Hey Mark,

 

Current Policy will only allow you to be either One, either Moca (Coax) Or Ethernet (Cat5E), 

 

Know Advantages are the following

1) You can use your router if your VZ router goes down, How ever being that you do have TV you will loose you Video on Demand Capability and Guide information

2) They have you on Coax so VZ does not have to run Cat5 through your home if don't have to

3) Moca make is possible for you to have a Wired connection any way you have Coax outlet within your home Via a device called Motarola Nim 100 (great devices) , no need to run new Cat5e

4) Some people have reported packets loose VPN packets when using Moca(coax) connection you can confirm that info with Actiontech as well

 

Hope this info help you,  I personally have my Data on the Ethernet port on the ONT

Platinum Contributor III
Platinum Contributor III
Posts: 6,819
Registered: ‎08-23-2008
Message 6 of 6
(32,818 Views)

@cjacobs001 wrote:
um, SURE there are advantages . . .   like if your router's data circuit goes on the blink, with ethernet connection to router you can then unplug the WAN cable from the router and plug it directly into your computer until you can get a replacement ;  or if you want to use your own router in the mix (like for a better wireless connection) sometimes there are issues with the coax to router-only set-up, or,  . . or  . .. .   but ,  you do have to ask Verizon to turn the ethernet port on, at the ONT.   Communications-wise, though, basically there is no differnce in the throughput of the data or the end user's experience using just MoCA instead of ethernet.

 

Setting up your PC to connect to the Internet directly through your ONT is a very bad idea. Unless you use a very good software firewall and have all your ports in stealth mode. Without the NAT and firewall in your router you are asking for trouble. I know that the PPPOE connection in Windows will do it, and I have tested it. But it's a bad idea.

 

I have one of the first ONTs and it does not support MOCA, so the Internet was connected via Ethernet to the Actiontec and all the STBs are talking to the router via MOCA, with the router acting as a router for the STBs.

 

But I can use a different router if I choose, and then plug the Actiontec into the second router. Or have a different router until a new one comes, if my Actiontec desides to take a dump.

 

Also many do not know this, but you can place a switch off of your ONT, and use two routers in parallel. PPPOE would issue two IP address through your ONT, and violate your terms of service as a residential customer. It does work, but throughput is still the same, and shared by both routers. Yes I prefer the Ethernet port to keep my options open. But you need to have ethernet cable to the desired locations. My house has been wired for sometime.

Message Edited by prisaz on 01-22-2009 08:12 PM
How-To Videos
 
The following videos were produced by users like you!
   
Videos are subject to the Verizon Fios Community Terms of Service and User Guidelines and contains content that is not created by Verizon.


Browse Categories
Categories:
Posts

Verizon Troubleshooters
Unable to find your answer here? Try searching Verizon Troubleshooters for more options.