quick menu

Alexa Voice Control Using Your Own Router

Alexa Voice Control Using Your Own Router

Reply
Copper Contributor Gaudfather
Copper Contributor
Posts: 10
Registered: ‎12-01-2017
Message 1 of 7
(499 Views)

happy FridayHappy Friday! Having some issues getting my Alexa to control my Fios boxes. She will repeat back to you as if she did change the channel but the channel doesn't change. I'm also not getting my caller ID to TV but everything else seems okay. I recently upgraded to the Fios One service. I attached some screenshots of how I have the quantum gateway configured. I'm sure I have something incorrect in their.1-11-2019 10.09.48 AM.png

 

1-11-2019 10.10.24 AM.png

 

1-11-2019 10.11.10 AM.png

 

6 REPLIES 6
Copper Contributor Gaudfather
Copper Contributor
Posts: 10
Registered: ‎12-01-2017
Message 2 of 7
(447 Views)

Working to set up bypassing the quantum gateway and I was wondering if someone knew what ports have to be forwarded in order to get the caller ID to TV to function properly and also the Alexa voice control. Any help would be greatly appreciated.

Platinum Contributor I Platinum Contributor I
Platinum Contributor I
Posts: 7,286
Registered: ‎11-04-2008
Message 3 of 7
(417 Views)

There is a post at the top of this forum on using your own router.

It has all the details you need.


If a forum member gives an answer you like, give them the Kudos they deserve. If a member gives you the answer to your question, mark the answer as Accepted Solution so others can see the solution to the problem.
Highlighted
Contributor Jthelpsme
Contributor
Posts: 6
Registered: ‎01-15-2019
Message 4 of 7
(430 Views)

Hi, it doesn't appear Fios TV supports Alexa integration just yet. I checked here for you. https://www.verizon.com/support/residential/tv/equipment/alexa 

Caller ID only works with the Verizon router. Hope this helps. 

Platinum Contributor I Platinum Contributor I
Platinum Contributor I
Posts: 7,286
Registered: ‎11-04-2008
Message 5 of 7
(407 Views)

FiOS quantum hardware supports Alexa.

FiOS one uses the same software as quantum. I would expect it would support Alexa as well.

https://www.verizon.com/home/fios-tv-voice-control-alexa.html


If a forum member gives an answer you like, give them the Kudos they deserve. If a member gives you the answer to your question, mark the answer as Accepted Solution so others can see the solution to the problem.
Copper Contributor Gaudfather
Copper Contributor
Posts: 10
Registered: ‎12-01-2017
Message 6 of 7
(383 Views)

I've been having issues with the CallerID to TV and having Alexa change channels using voice commands since I have switched out my Quantum Gateway with my router. I have the taken Quantum Gateway out of the equation totally by replacing with that ActionTech Moca Bridge Adapter. Whenever I go to look at my connected devices through the STB and look at the ONT information I always get Server Response For Second Request "Parsing" Failed. When I look at all of the connected devices, they give me back information as I would expect.

Any suggestions would be greatly appreciated. I am not sure where to start to troubleshoot this issue.

Copper Contributor Gaudfather
Copper Contributor
Posts: 10
Registered: ‎12-01-2017
Message 7 of 7
(379 Views)

I also meant to include my port forwarding setup because I don't know if I have it done properly

 

1-19-2019 10.27.14 AM.png

 

How-To Videos
 
The following videos were produced by users like you!
   
Videos are subject to the Verizon Fios Community Terms of Service and User Guidelines and contains content that is not created by Verizon.

My Fios App
Fios TV App
Verizon Troubleshooters
Unable to find your answer here? Try searching Verizon Troubleshooters for more options.
 

My Verizon

  • Add or Change Plan
  • Suspend My Service
  • Apps

Support

Watch Fios