Accessibility Resource Center Skip to main content
Get it fast with In-Store & Curbside Pickup or same day delivery.

Allow IMAP

Reply
ggma1126
Bronze Contributor II
Bronze Contributor II
Posts: 269
Registered: ‎08-15-2008

Allow IMAP

Message 1 of 9
(14,379 Views)

Does verizon have any plans on adding IMAP as a way of getting email  -  as it is now I have my outlook set up to delete when I delete from outlook but it doesn't work.  therefore the same email will continue to download to my iphone unless i go to website and delete.

 

 

8 REPLIES 8
dslr595148
Platinum Contributor III Platinum Contributor III
Platinum Contributor III
Posts: 6,050
Registered: ‎09-24-2008

Re: Allow IMAP

Message 2 of 9
(14,345 Views)
While you are waiting for the answer to your question or Verizon to add IMAP to e-mail, I can tell you that most e-mail clients have a setting that allows them to store e-mail messages on the server. By default it is usually off.

If it you do not want it on, then turn that feature off.

For example when I used Google to search for

store mail on server outlook express

it told me how to turn on that feature in OE (Outlook Express). Then using "logic", I can turn it off.

^^^

If you have any questions, please post.

If you are the original poster (OP) and your issue is solved, please remember to click the "Solution?" button so that others can more easily find it. If anyone has been helpful to you, please show your appreciation by clicking the "Kudos" button.


 

ggma1126
Bronze Contributor II
Bronze Contributor II
Posts: 269
Registered: ‎08-15-2008

Re: Allow IMAP

Message 3 of 9
(14,300 Views)
basically what I did was uncheck the option in outlook "not to keep on server" " and that is working,  thanks but I still wish they would implement IMAP
hampal
Contributor
Contributor
Posts: 1
Registered: ‎09-03-2009

Re: Allow IMAP

Message 4 of 9
(14,081 Views)

I would also like IMAP. I have three different PC's and trying to keep email in sync on all of them is impossible.

 

Verizon, do you read these forums? Please provide IMAP to your residential customers.

sleepysurf
Contributor
Contributor
Posts: 3
Registered: ‎11-04-2009

Re: Allow IMAP

Message 5 of 9
(13,514 Views)

Ditto!  Palm just recently updated  the Pre/WebOS email function, and now I get duplicate emails on both my Pre and Home PC, which I need to delete twice.  Palms response to this issue is that they updated the software to better work with IMAP servers, and they strongly recommend that option for my email.  Well, Verizon STILL doesn't offer IMAP. and simply ignores our pleas. Great customer service!!

jumpin68ny
Gold Contributor VII
Gold Contributor VII
Posts: 1,778
Registered: ‎05-14-2009

Re: Allow IMAP

Message 6 of 9
(13,488 Views)

I recently installed Windows Live Mail which I plan to use Verizon email and google mail (gmail).  My comment here is that when I use the automatic configuration tool for gmail it sets up gmail in Windows Live Mail with IMAP.  Maybe something worth considering if Verizon doesn't plan to offer IMAP.

sleepysurf
Contributor
Contributor
Posts: 3
Registered: ‎11-04-2009

Re: Allow IMAP

Message 7 of 9
(13,482 Views)

jumpin' 

 

Can you set up gmail to grab the verizon POP email, and then access/manage it via IMAP?

lawrencehare
Contributor
Contributor
Posts: 3
Registered: ‎11-30-2009

Re: Allow IMAP

Message 8 of 9
(13,472 Views)

I asked Verizon years back for Imap and was told there were no plans. As the years passed and still no Imap I gave up! All my other mail was Imap compatible so I got a me.com account and I forward Verizon mail to that. Now Outlook, Mail, my iPhone and my laptop all see the same mail. I think Verizon must be the only large mail host that does not support Imap. Never did understand why they did not implement it. Now I don't care!

jumpin68ny
Gold Contributor VII
Gold Contributor VII
Posts: 1,778
Registered: ‎05-14-2009

Re: Allow IMAP

Message 9 of 9
(13,434 Views)

If the provider doesn't support IMAP it will not work.  In Gmail there is an option for IMAP.  Verizon does not have that option so it will NOT work.

How-To Videos
 
The following videos were produced by users like you!
   
Videos are subject to the Verizon Fios Community Terms of Service and User Guidelines and contains content that is not created by Verizon.
Have a spare Fios-G1100?Learn how to bridge it into your network
Get Started


Covid19

Browse Categories
Categories:
Posts

Verizon Troubleshooters
Unable to find your answer here? Try searching Verizon Troubleshooters for more options.