Amazon echoes and firestick lose internet connection
LezGrl791
Enthusiast - Level 2

I've been using fios internet for at least 8 years. But for the past week I now lose connection to everything that uses wifi.

I have 2 firesticks, an echo spot, Echo plus, and echo dot. All of these were connecting fine till a week ago like I said. 

Basically everything will be online and then after about 2 hours all my stuff starts saying it can't connect to the internet or reach Amazon site. 

Factory resetting doesn't work. My router will say I'm connected but my devices can't find a connection. So I reboot. Then everything works. But after 2 hours everything disconnects again.

I've gotten a replacement router, same issue. I've even changed channels to recommended ones that Amazon says to use. Same issue. The only thing that works is rebooting my router every 2 hours or so which is very annoying.

I've had a technician here, he can't figure it out either. I'm at a loss what to do. I'm tired of factory resetting my Amazon things and the router. My ont box was even replaced. It's a newer smaller black one now. Used to be this huge white box one.

Nothing in my home has changed. Everything was fine for years. And now all of a sudden it isn't. I don't have cable or phone. Just internet. And my speed is 200/200.

0 Likes
Re: Amazon echoes and firestick lose internet connection
LezGrl791
Enthusiast - Level 2

Been looking at my fios modem/router settings. I found a section about broadband connection. I noticed my dns was 0.0.0.0 in both fields. So I changed it to 1.1.1.1 and 1.0.0.1 and so far my echo and firestick devices have stayed connected to the internet.

I also noticed the ip address distribution is disabled but can't figure out how to enable that. I'll report back if the adding a dns somehow fixed everything or if it'll disconnect after 2 hours again. 

0 Likes
LezGrl791
Enthusiast - Level 2