×

Switch Account

Anyone upgraded to the FiOS GigE Wireless "N" Router?

Anyone upgraded to the FiOS GigE Wireless "N" Router?

Reply
Contributor Headbanger
Contributor
Posts: 3
Registered: ‎04-09-2010
Message 1 of 12
(11,838 Views)

I've got one of the original Actiontec routers with wireless g speeds. Just curious, has anyone attempted to actually buy the ($80) the "FIOS GigE Wireless N" router at their store? My concern is basic opertional status; can I just swap it in replacing the old g router? I do realize I'd have to set some of my port forwarding options on the new router (for Xbox Live).

11 REPLIES 11
Gold Contributor II
Gold Contributor II
Posts: 991
Registered: ‎11-06-2012
Message 2 of 12
(11,818 Views)

The n router will probably be set for  compatibility mode b/g/n.  You will need to set it for performance mode (802.11n) if you want to achieve best performance. 

 

Also, if you buy a new router, keep the old one because that is the one you will owe Verizon if you ever terminate service.

 

 

Highlighted
Silver Contributor I
Silver Contributor I
Posts: 218
Registered: ‎07-28-2011
Message 3 of 12
(11,691 Views)

And you'll also need to change the encryption to WPA2/AES from WEP if you want the faster speeds.

 

Contributor Accordioncowboy
Contributor
Posts: 3
Registered: ‎11-20-2008
Message 4 of 12
(11,489 Views)

Folks, I just bought FiOS GigE Wireless "N" Router and I need a signal booster / range extender that will work with it.  Any suggestions?  I appreciate your help.   AC

Platinum Contributor III Platinum Contributor III
Platinum Contributor III
Posts: 7,378
Registered: ‎12-15-2010
Message 5 of 12
(11,425 Views)

@Accordioncowboy wrote:

Folks, I just bought FiOS GigE Wireless "N" Router and I need a signal booster / range extender that will work with it.  Any suggestions?  I appreciate your help.   AC


I would recommend changing out the antennas for some better ones, or setting up an access point at the furthest point in your home from the ActionTec via a Wired connection. Repeaters typically cut your bandwidth on the Wireless in half while you're connected to it.

Contributor Accordioncowboy
Contributor
Posts: 3
Registered: ‎11-20-2008
Message 6 of 12
(11,382 Views)

Thanks.  Any brands or models you would suggest for antenna replacement? Would I need to replace both antennas?

 

Wiring another access point is not an option in my home.

Platinum Contributor III
Platinum Contributor III
Posts: 6,819
Registered: ‎08-23-2008
Message 7 of 12
(11,371 Views)

Range.

Remember if you are in a multi-level house, access point and or router location is critical depending on how you wish to receive the signal. Perhaps the worst place to be is below the router. At that point you are below the ground plain, and the router signal will radiate up and out like a mushroom, depending on how the antennas are placed, even I tried one straight up, and one at 90 deg. not much help.

 

I recently upgraded the entire house to gigabit, and thought of placing my extra access point on the third floor. Does great for the neighbors, but not if I am in the basement. Both are downstairs now, but a good distance appart. The reason being, my most secure encryption is behind my second NAT at 300N and WAP2 AES, and Verizon's router is the visitor network 802.11n, and not as tightly secured on the first NAT directly off of the ONT. I have even thought of not having wirless on my second NAT, but everyone wants the printer which is on a computer on that network. It my old network laser jet were still working it would be a no brainer to set that up on the outside of my second firewall.

Contributor Flux
Contributor
Posts: 1
Registered: ‎09-24-2013
Message 8 of 12
(5,985 Views)

Use a network extender, such as Amped Wireless High Power Wireless-N Smart Repeater and Range Extender (SR300) http://www.amazon.com/gp/product/B004NBL9WK/ref=oh_details_o04_s00_i00?ie=UTF8&psc=1

It works well w/ my Actiontec FiOSWireless "N" Router non  GigE. It's wireless & easy to hook-up.

Contributor brazeagle
Contributor
Posts: 2
Registered: ‎01-28-2014
Message 9 of 12
(3,966 Views)

Hello there,

I have been through my second Actiontec MI424WR (latest $99.99 Verizon N Router).

The first one was defective, or I thought it was, then the second arrived and keeps knocking down some of my wireless devices and a newer FOSCAM camera. These devices worked JUST FINE on my older MIxxx router.

 

So now I am looking for solutions in the market for N routers with coaxial input, that is the only issue I have, as it is difficult to find a good router with coaxial!

 

I am back to my older  Verizon router and everything is working FLAWLESS again.

 

I expected that the new router for 99.99 Dollars would be a good investment, but the actual range had decreased and lots of issues with configuration (firewall, port forwading, WPA2 security, etc).

 

The Actiontec MI424WR is a no-go!

 

Cheers

LCL

Bronze Contributor II
Bronze Contributor II
Posts: 119
Registered: ‎09-12-2013
Message 10 of 12
(3,947 Views)

Just hook up a new router behind the Actiontec.

How-To Videos
 
The following videos were produced by users like you!
   
Videos are subject to the Verizon Fios Community Terms of Service and User Guidelines and contains content that is not created by Verizon.


Browse Categories
Categories:
Posts

Verizon Troubleshooters
Unable to find your answer here? Try searching Verizon Troubleshooters for more options.