Are Fios Internet Speeds "Relative" based on the top limit?
Matt0427

I apologize because I don't know exactly how to ask this...but...

Quick version: Are internet plan speeds I can get "relative" based on their top mbps limit or is it just that speeds are capped at that top mbps limit?

Long version:  Recently moved and set up Fios at our new house.  This is my first time using Fios and the gigabit speeds that it offers.  Unfortunately I didn't do my research as well as I should and didn't realize that in order to get the Gigabit speeds the devices needed to be wired to the gateway.  This is impossible due to the location of the gateway and the way we use our devices.  Every speed test I do usually has me getting somewhere in between 70-100 mbps throughout the house.  But, this is actually perfectly fine for our internet usage - we are quite happy with the speeds we are getting when streaming, downloading, online gaming, etc.  But, from what I understand, we are paying for the gigabit internet speed we are never going to get, right?  Since we VERY rarely see speeds over 100mpbs on the dozens of speedtests I've done, I could drop down to the 100/100 plan and save some serious cash each month, correct?

BUT, my question is: if I were to drop the plan to the lower top limit, would that effect the speeds I'm getting below that limit?  Would the 85mbps speeds I'm currently getting decrease because I'm no longer getting the gigabit signal from Verizon but instead getting a "weaker" 100/100 signal from Verizon?  Or is it case where the internet speeds under the limit wouldn't change.  Isntead, it would just be that I'd have no chance of getting above the 100mbps?

Maybe I'm just thinking about how internet is delivered in the wrong way...  Any help is appreciated.  Thanks.

0 Likes
1 Solution

Correct answers
Re: Are Fios Internet Speeds "Relative" based on the top limit?
CRobGauth
Community Leader
Community Leader

Couple of things when running speedtest.