Accessibility Resource Center Skip to main content
Get it fast with In-Store & Curbside Pickup or same day delivery.

Avenger's Question Thread

Reply
CharlesH
Employee Emeritus Employee Emeritus
Employee Emeritus
Posts: 895
Registered: ‎12-01-2008

Re: Avenger's Question Thread

Message 51 of 72
(6,833 Views)
As odd are that you are experiencing a DNS issue...the DNS server isn't the fastest sadly.  I recommend using OpenDNS and pointing your router and/or computer to point to their DNS services instead of the ones we use.
Avenger
Nickel Contributor
Nickel Contributor
Posts: 37
Registered: ‎01-08-2009

Re: Avenger's Question Thread

Message 52 of 72
(6,801 Views)

I know Verizon uses my coax but they do not put the coax splitter to use. Doing so would enable me to connect my router via a coaxial outlet of my choice, or so Verizon says. They said it's not possible since I'm a DISH user, which is the main reason this topic was made. It's because Internet-only FIOS users are usually FUBAR'd unlike those who purchase the complete service.

 

I have DISH, but I heard it is still possible to use the coax splitter for the FIOS internet. It has something to do with switching back and forth with using DISH and FIOS Internet via a switcher, as you can see I just have a rough idea of what that concept is. It's something I heard months ago and it's possible I misunderstood, so whatever.

 

Also I was asking which couplers (Ethernet or coax) cause more loss in general. I know it depends on factors but I was asking in general. This is probably a hard question so I'm not expecting an answer. It's probably not something that matters anyway. Couldn't I simply use the Internet Connection Speed Test to test out the connection? 

 

Ok, so the NAT is not like something that gets crowded up and slows down connections? I'm not sure why I always hear p2p sharing and counter strike when NAT is brought up. I know they work it hard but I think general surfing and loading/downloading kinda uses it up as well.

 

Not sure why someone brought up DNS.

 

And this is probably a dumb question but if you read tsk's post on the previous page, I was wondering after doing those steps he listed, which router's NAT would be in use, the primary router or the secondary one? I think it's the secondary but I wanted to be sure.

Avenger
Nickel Contributor
Nickel Contributor
Posts: 37
Registered: ‎01-08-2009

Answers to any of the above questions would be appreciated.

Message 53 of 72
(6,716 Views)

Answers to any of the above questions would be appreciated. :smileyvery-happy:

Avenger
Nickel Contributor
Nickel Contributor
Posts: 37
Registered: ‎01-08-2009

Re: Avenger's Question Thread

Message 54 of 72
(6,216 Views)

Hey guys I'm back.

 

I'm still wondering how I can make sure my FIOS wireless connection is optimized. Does it require a simple upload/download speed test or is there a link or something I can use that can verify whether or not my fios connection is at its peak?

 

Thanks.

Avenger
Nickel Contributor
Nickel Contributor
Posts: 37
Registered: ‎01-08-2009

Re: Avenger's Question Thread

Message 55 of 72
(6,040 Views)

It's been two weeks...can someone respond?

Bob_Robertson
Silver Contributor III
Silver Contributor III
Posts: 497
Registered: ‎05-21-2009

Re: Avenger's Question Thread

Message 56 of 72
(6,044 Views)

Use this www.verizon.com/connect

---------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Bob Robertson - Lighter Klepto - I steal lighters, not bandwith
Avenger
Nickel Contributor
Nickel Contributor
Posts: 37
Registered: ‎01-08-2009

Re: Avenger's Question Thread

Message 57 of 72
(5,838 Views)

Thanks. By the way, can anyone tell me if there are any disadvantages in using my linksys AND my actiontec router's wireless features at the same time? Basically having both of their wireless settings "enabled". Will that effect the other router's wireless in anyway? Overall wireless bandwidth? Etc.? Or does it expand wireless bandwidth since now there are TWO routers giving wireless signals?

 

Thanks.

Avenger
Nickel Contributor
Nickel Contributor
Posts: 37
Registered: ‎01-08-2009

Re: Avenger's Question Thread

Message 58 of 72
(5,797 Views)

anyone?

mattheww
Silver Contributor V
Silver Contributor V
Posts: 668
Registered: ‎10-26-2008

Re: Avenger's Question Thread

Message 59 of 72
(5,792 Views)

As long as the wireless routers all  operate on different channels, there should be no co-existence problems. Potentially there will be more bandwidth available to the network. Depending upon whether the WiFi device the router is talking to is running 802.11b or 802.11g you may have more bandwidth available to the router than any individual Wi-Fi channel can use.  Obviously more units will allow you cover more space, and it will probably allow more connections since most low cost wireless access points don't support a lot of simultaneous wireless connections .

 

You also want to make sure the wireless access points/routers are physically separated so that they don't interfere with each due to signal overload.

 

Users will see multiple  wireless networks, one from each wireless accesspoint/router if they can get a satisfactory signal from them.

tsauter
Silver Contributor II
Silver Contributor II
Posts: 372
Registered: ‎09-15-2009

Re: Avenger's Question Thread

Message 60 of 72
(5,787 Views)

 


@Avenger wrote:

 

Ok, so the NAT is not like something that gets crowded up and slows down connections? I'm not sure why I always hear p2p sharing and counter strike when NAT is brought up. I know they work it hard but I think general surfing and loading/downloading kinda uses it up as well.

 

Not sure why someone brought up DNS.

 

And this is probably a dumb question but if you read tsk's post on the previous page, I was wondering after doing those steps he listed, which router's NAT would be in use, the primary router or the secondary one? I think it's the secondary but I wanted to be sure.


 

 

NAT stands for network address translation. It is the only way that your private address (192.168.x.x) can talk to the internet. In order to talk on the interent you have to have a public address. The NAT table allows the data to repackaged with  a public IP address so it can be routed on the internet. Generally speaking P2P is affected by NAT because the addresses used constantly rotate depending on what is availible when the data comes through the router. Public addresses are expensive and most companys only ay for the minimum nedded for the network to function. NAT allows a netework of a 100's or 1000's of computer to use the same handfull of public addresses.

 

In the setup that TSK lines out, the actiontec router would be doing the NATing.



"If your problem has been solved, please mark it as such. Don't forget to hand out your Kudos!"
How-To Videos
 
The following videos were produced by users like you!
   
Videos are subject to the Verizon Fios Community Terms of Service and User Guidelines and contains content that is not created by Verizon.
Have a spare Fios-G1100?Learn how to bridge it into your network
Get Started


Covid19

Browse Categories
Categories:
Posts

Verizon Troubleshooters
Unable to find your answer here? Try searching Verizon Troubleshooters for more options.
Modal Dialogue Title