Accessibility Resource Center Skip to main content
Have a phone you love? Get up to $500 when you switch and bring your phone.

Block https on MI424WR-GEN2 E ???

Reply
PaulNotar
Contributor
Contributor
Posts: 1
Registered: ‎03-30-2012

Block https on MI424WR-GEN2 E ???

Message 1 of 9
(4,002 Views)

Hello!  I am trying to block youtube on one of our home computers.  The router's parental controls seem to allow only http based sites, but not https.  As such, my son is able to go directly in to certain channels by logging in.  Is there a way to block specific https sites on the router?

 

Thanks in advance....

P.

 

8 REPLIES 8
Hubrisnxs
Platinum Contributor III
Platinum Contributor III
Posts: 5,881
Registered: ‎07-22-2009

Re: Block https on MI424WR-GEN2 E ???

Message 2 of 9
(3,990 Views)

I am not sure if you could do it in the router, but I know verizon offers free parental control software, that you download and install and password protect on his PC      you can download it at www.verizon.com/freetools

Smith6612
Platinum Contributor III Platinum Contributor III
Platinum Contributor III
Posts: 7,573
Registered: ‎12-15-2010

Re: Block https on MI424WR-GEN2 E ???

Message 3 of 9
(3,984 Views)

While I'm not familiar with the Parental Controls capabilities of the FiOS routers, I would suggest using OpenDNS if possible to use.

Justin
Platinum Contributor III Platinum Contributor III
Platinum Contributor III
Posts: 5,173
Registered: ‎08-05-2008

Re: Block https on MI424WR-GEN2 E ???

Message 4 of 9
(3,981 Views)

@Smith6612 wrote:

While I'm not familiar with the Parental Controls capabilities of the FiOS routers, I would suggest using OpenDNS if possible to use.


I second the suggestion to use OpenDNS, been using it for years, works well, I find it faster than Verizon's DNS servers, and they have lots and lots of options for controling access.

 

__________________________________
Justin
FiOS TV, 25/25 Internet, and Digital Voice user
QIP7232, QIP7100-P2, IMG 1.9
Keller, TX 76248

yardley
Contributor
Contributor
Posts: 3
Registered: ‎12-22-2009

Re: Block https on MI424WR-GEN2 E ???

Message 5 of 9
(3,919 Views)

Justin - I see you have FiOS TV and Internet (as well as phone) and successfully use Opendns. I have FiOS Internet and TV and I understand that my TV Set top boxes will not work right if I use Opendns. True?

Justin
Platinum Contributor III Platinum Contributor III
Platinum Contributor III
Posts: 5,173
Registered: ‎08-05-2008

Re: Block https on MI424WR-GEN2 E ???

Message 6 of 9
(3,915 Views)

@yardley wrote:

Justin - I see you have FiOS TV and Internet (as well as phone) and successfully use Opendns. I have FiOS Internet and TV and I understand that my TV Set top boxes will not work right if I use Opendns. True?


Based on my experience, FALSE!

 

I know of no reason why using OpenDNS would have any effect on your STBs at all. The Guide, VOD, Widgets, etc. all work. I have had FiOS TV and Internet (and phone) for over 6 1/2 years now, I used Verizon's DNS in the beginning, the STBs worked fine but I had occasional DNS issues with my PCs, I switched to OpenDNS with the same original STBs and all worked fine, have now upgraded to current 7232 and 7100-P2 STBs and all continues to work ok.

 

I prefer OpenDNS for two primary reasons:

 

1) Reliability. I have not had a single time when I have tried to reach a website when the DNS did not work properly. I cannot say that for Verizon's DNS when I used it.

 

2) Configurability. OpenDNS offers a lot of options, you can choose to control what kind of sites can be accessed, etc. You get more control if you sign up for a free account at OpenDNS. And they offer a fee service too, but for me, that does not seem to be necessary.

 

I also found that OpenDNS seemed to be consistently faster than Verizon, at least in real world use, but there are some DNS performance tests that show other services generally somewhat faster, even sometimes some Verizon servers.

 

If you are interested in some OpenDNS system information you might take a look at this webpage:

 

https://system.opendns.com/?utm_source=nl0312&utm_medium=em&utm_campaign=home

 

You can also try OpenDNS, if it works for you great, if it doesn't, go back to Verizon's, or perhaps try another one, there are a number of free DNS systems available.

 

Did someone in Verizon tech support tell you that, did you read it somewhere, what? Because IMO it just isn't true.

 

__________________________________
Justin
FiOS TV, 25/25 Internet, and Digital Voice user
QIP7232, QIP7100-P2, IMG 1.9
Keller, TX 76248

ceth078a
Contributor
Contributor
Posts: 2
Registered: ‎05-27-2013

Try use Advanced Filtering in the Firewall Settings

Message 7 of 9
(3,494 Views)
rchat
Contributor
Contributor
Posts: 1
Registered: ‎09-10-2014

Re: Try use Advanced Filtering in the Firewall Settings

Message 8 of 9
(3,030 Views)

Advanced Filtering does not seem to work for https://www.youtube.com

ElizabethS
Moderator Emeritus Moderator Emeritus
Moderator Emeritus
Posts: 6,227
Registered: ‎04-29-2009

Re: Try use Advanced Filtering in the Firewall Settings

Message 9 of 9
(2,976 Views)

As this thread is now over two years old, it will be locked in order to keep discussions current. If you have the same or a similar question/issue we invite you to start a new thread on the topic.

How-To Videos
 
The following videos were produced by users like you!
   
Videos are subject to the Verizon Fios Community Terms of Service and User Guidelines and contains content that is not created by Verizon.
Have a spare Fios-G1100?Learn how to bridge it into your network
Get Started


Covid19

Browse Categories
Categories:
Posts

Verizon Troubleshooters
Unable to find your answer here? Try searching Verizon Troubleshooters for more options.
Modal Dialogue Title