Accessibility Resource Center Skip to main content
Get gifts fast with In-Store & Curbside Pickup or same-day delivery.

Boosting Signal Strength

Reply
Highlighted
Contributor
Contributor
Posts: 1
Registered: ‎02-10-2009

Boosting Signal Strength

Message 1 of 7
(8,111 Views)

Hi,

I've read many previous threads, but I didn't find what I was looking for. So I apologize if this is repetitive.

 

We have FIOS wireless in the front of our house. Throughout the house we get great reception on our laptops.

 

Our son's room is outside, attached to the garage, about 80' away from our router. So, the signal must travel about 80' and thru a multitude of walls.

 

Is there a signal repeater or booster I can purchase so my son can have a stronger internet signal in his room?

6 REPLIES 6
Highlighted
Gold Contributor III
Gold Contributor III
Posts: 1,059
Registered: ‎10-21-2008

Re: Boosting Signal Strength

Message 2 of 7
(8,105 Views)
Highlighted
Nickel Contributor
Nickel Contributor
Posts: 34
Registered: ‎02-03-2009

Re: Boosting Signal Strength

Message 3 of 7
(8,095 Views)

I have installed a few in peoples houses and it was hit and miss. 

 

You have to install the repeater somewhere that it can see a good signal from the router.  It then repeats the signal and extends the range.  Many people install it next to the out of touch computer and think its going to magically pull the data from out of thin air.

 

It would be better if you could get a cable out there and maybe another router if he doesn't want to use a cable. 

Highlighted
Platinum Contributor III Platinum Contributor III
Platinum Contributor III
Posts: 5,173
Registered: ‎08-05-2008

Re: Boosting Signal Strength

Message 4 of 7
(8,089 Views)

Do you have FiOS TV? And if so, does he have the TV service out there? If so, and assuming you are using the Verizon-supplied ActionTec router, you can probably go to eBay and buy a Motorola NIM-100 box that will allow him to connect wired to your router via the NIM.

 

I have a different but somewhat similar situation, my router is at one end of the house and my wife's PC is at the other end,  with many walls plus the distance, the wireless signal was good at times, not so good at others. But she does have a TV in that room. So, since I had a left-over NIM, I just put a splitter (5-1000 MHz) on the coax, ran one output to the TV and the other output to the NIM. Then plugged an ethernet cable into the NIM and her PC, no more complaints from her about losing connection or speed.

 

Other than that, there are plenty of wireless access points that you can buy; for example, NewEgg has a LINKSYS WAP54G on sale for members for $55 with free shipping (and no sales tax in some areas). Another option that might work is to replace the antenna on the router with a better one, I know some people have done that with good results.

 

Good luck.

 

__________________________________
Justin
Verizon FiOS TV, Internet, and phone
IMG 1.6.0, Build 06.89
Keller, TX 76248

Highlighted
Copper Contributor
Copper Contributor
Posts: 9
Registered: ‎01-05-2009

Re: Boosting Signal Strength

Message 5 of 7
(8,037 Views)

My router and switched hub are in the basement.  I used to have my wireless there as well.  But I was having the same issue as you.  If you get too far away, you do not have a viable signal.  So here's what I did. From the basement, I ran a CAT5 cable from the router to a closet that is pretty much in the center of the house (main floor).  Inside this closet, I installed a WAP (Netgear WG602).   Now everywhere in the house has a good wireless signal.

 

Alternatively, as another poster said, if you already have a coax run, you could buy a Motorola NIM100 on Ebay and bridge the network.

Message Edited by Zoinks on 02-11-2009 07:41 AM
Highlighted
Nickel Contributor
Nickel Contributor
Posts: 25
Registered: ‎08-05-2008

Re: Boosting Signal Strength

Message 6 of 7
(8,028 Views)

If your close enough to get a signal at all, even if it's weak, from that crappy Fios router (assuming it's an Actiontec), then you could probably just replace the antenna on it, or bridge another router off of it. Practically anything would give you a better signal than the Actiontec. Consider the Trendnet TEW-637AP Easy-N Upgrader. Worked unbelievable for me. I've finally got stable wireless! With the Actiontec, all my wireless connections would frequently drop.

 

http://www.buy.com/prod/trendnet-300mbps-wireless-easy-n-upgrader-trendnet-tew-637ap-300mbps/q/loc/1...

Highlighted
Nickel Contributor
Nickel Contributor
Posts: 25
Registered: ‎08-05-2008

Re: Boosting Signal Strength

Message 7 of 7
(8,004 Views)
By the way, that Trendnet wireless upgrader is an access point for b/g/n. It will completely handle the wireless for all of your devices. Plug it into the LAN port on the Actiontec, turn it on, and install it with the cd they provide. So easy and works a million times better than the Actiontec. Just turn the wireless off on the Actiontec. It's garbage.
How-To Videos
 
The following videos were produced by users like you!
   
Videos are subject to the Verizon Fios Community Terms of Service and User Guidelines and contains content that is not created by Verizon.
Covid19


Browse Categories
Categories:
Posts

Verizon Troubleshooters
Unable to find your answer here? Try searching Verizon Troubleshooters for more options.