Bridge necessary if Ethernet connection from ONT to Actiontec router?
DanLNYC

Hi community,

My default Verizon FiOS Actiontec MI424WR Rev. I router has been performing poorly for my devices at the far end of my large apartment. I bought a new router, Netgear Nighthawk R6700, to act as my more powerful router while I make the Actiontec a bridge.

All of the instructions I looked up on the web assumes that the connection from the ONT to the Actiontec uses MoCA, but I actually have an Ethernet connection. My question is, does the Actiontec still need to be a bridge since this is the case (ie. can I swap in my Netgear router directly)? If the Actiontec still needs to be a bridge, what are the modifications to the instructions I would use to accomplish this given that all of the instructions available online cater to a MoCA connection?

Please note that I am not tech savvy at all when it comes to making a bridge. This will be my first time attempting this so I would appreciate a dummy's instructions that wouldn't assume that I knew where a particular button or icon was, although I am a quick learner.

Thank you.

Dan

0 Likes
Re: Bridge necessary if Ethernet connection from ONT to Actiontec router?
jonjones1
Legend

@DanLNYC wrote:

Hi community,

My default Verizon FiOS Actiontec MI424WR Rev. I router has been performing poorly for my devices at the far end of my large apartment. I bought a new router, Netgear Nighthawk R6700, to act as my more powerful router while I make the Actiontec a bridge.