×

Switch Account

Can I use a Frontier G1100 router for Verizon Fios?

Can I use a Frontier G1100 router for Verizon Fios?

SOLVED
Reply
Highlighted
Contributor
Contributor
Posts: 3
Registered: ‎02-15-2016

Can I use a Frontier G1100 router for Verizon Fios?

Message 1 of 13
(8,949 Views)

Thinking of buying a used G1100 Frontier router... can I use it with Verizon's FIOS 50/50 or Gigabit? Thanks.

12 REPLIES 12
Highlighted
Gold Contributor VII
Gold Contributor VII
Posts: 4,965
Registered: ‎10-18-2016

Re: Can I use a Frontier G1100 router for Verizon Fios?

Message 2 of 13
(8,921 Views)

@ericx wrote:

Thinking of buying a used G1100 Frontier router... can I use it with Verizon's FIOS 50/50 or Gigabit? Thanks.


I have read at Amazon that in reviews many say not to use it.

then as with anything in life some say it will work, but it may be stolen or on a list that will not operate on Verizon Fios. So you take a chance.

 

if you purchase from Amazon they have a no questions asked return policy on most goods. So buy from a reputable place.

Highlighted
Contributor
Contributor
Posts: 1
Registered: ‎12-28-2017

Re: Can I use a Frontier G1100 router for Verizon Fios?

Message 3 of 13
(7,938 Views)

I just placed an order for Verizon 100mbps plan for $40.

I order router Frontier Gateway G1100 from ebay.

Seller has told me that it does work with Verizon Fios.

link below where i got mine. it is not received yet. but i hope it works per seller description and messages.

https://www.ebay.com/itm/Frontier-Verizon-FiOS-Gateway-Router-G1100-NEW-W-4-MONTH-WARRANTY/263385515...

Highlighted
Platinum Contributor III Platinum Contributor III
Platinum Contributor III
Posts: 7,825
Registered: ‎11-04-2008

Re: Can I use a Frontier G1100 router for Verizon Fios?

Message 4 of 13
(7,929 Views)

As long as you can get a refund, then I would try it.

I always question how a seller has a number of units for sale as brand new much cheaper than the original seller has them for.

I wouls ask if the unti you are getting is labelled as Verizon or Frontier.
Some have reported having issues with a Frontier labelled unit on Verizon.

Notice his wording says compatible with their service.

And offers to swap unit if it doesn't work.

If it is a Frontier unit you get and it doesn't work will they give you a Verizon unit or another Frontier?

Do you have to pay shipping to swap it?


If a forum member gives an answer you like, give them the Kudos they deserve. If a member gives you the answer to your question, mark the answer as Accepted Solution so others can see the solution to the problem.
Highlighted
Gold Contributor VII
Gold Contributor VII
Posts: 4,965
Registered: ‎10-18-2016

Re: Can I use a Frontier G1100 router for Verizon Fios?

Message 5 of 13
(7,925 Views)

It will not function properly. They have something different in the firmware.

 

Highlighted
Platinum Contributor III Platinum Contributor III
Platinum Contributor III
Posts: 4,437
Registered: ‎12-16-2012

Re: Can I use a Frontier G1100 router for Verizon Fios?

Message 6 of 13
(7,899 Views)

@jonjones wrote:

It will not function properly. They have something different in the firmware.

 


Actually you can get the firmware reloaded and then it will definitely work.  Not sure what functions are different as my VERIZON branded router (now with Frontier) didn't get an update until I decided to force it in order to get updates that were coming out.  It was using very old level.

Bigger problem is getting proof that its owned and not Stolen.

Highlighted
Gold Contributor VII
Gold Contributor VII
Posts: 4,965
Registered: ‎10-18-2016

Re: Can I use a Frontier G1100 router for Verizon Fios?

Message 7 of 13
(7,895 Views)

Very good point on the stolen issue. If you google that is one of the problems mentioned.

 

also on google it states the Frontier version is not easily flashed/updated for Verizon Fios so that is why it is not recommended.

 

Highlighted
Contributor
Contributor
Posts: 2
Registered: ‎07-26-2018

Re: Can I use a Frontier G1100 router for Verizon Fios?

Message 8 of 13
(6,557 Views)

@jonjones wrote:

It will not function properly. They have something different in the firmware.

 


Hmmm,  I guess I better go break mine...

Highlighted
Gold Contributor VII
Gold Contributor VII
Posts: 4,965
Registered: ‎10-18-2016

Re: Can I use a Frontier G1100 router for Verizon Fios?

Message 9 of 13
(6,553 Views)

@johncap523 wrote:

@jonjones wrote:

It will not function properly. They have something different in the firmware.

 


Hmmm,  I guess I better go break mine...


That would fix the firmware 😀

like I said google “using a Frontier Quantum Gateway Router on Verizon Fios”

it will return with it will not or should not function properly. It states Verizon cannot update it after Frontier changed it. However I have seen a work around firmware mentioned on http://www.dslreports.com which also was shot down because it did not stick. Search your frontier router at that web portal.

Highlighted
Gold Contributor VII
Gold Contributor VII
Posts: 4,965
Registered: ‎10-18-2016

Re: Can I use a Frontier G1100 router for Verizon Fios?

Message 10 of 13
(6,550 Views)
How-To Videos
 
The following videos were produced by users like you!
   
Videos are subject to the Verizon Fios Community Terms of Service and User Guidelines and contains content that is not created by Verizon.
Covid19


Browse Categories
Categories:
Posts

Verizon Troubleshooters
Unable to find your answer here? Try searching Verizon Troubleshooters for more options.