Can't forward TCP ports

SOLVED
Reply
Highlighted
Contributor
Contributor
Posts: 4
Registered: ‎10-15-2009

Can't forward TCP ports

Message 1 of 8
(10,205 Views)

I have an actiontec MI-424 rev c router and I set up port forwarding on port 15000 for pulp tunes. I was unable to connect to the port from work (or any other ports i forwarded, esp 22 and 80) and got a connection refused message.

 

I added UDP port 15000 and tested using hte portforward.com checker and UDP connections get forwarded but not TCP connections.

 

Any ideas? I do not run any firewalls on my computer, and I have set this up many times on these routers. I had to do a hard reset to troubleshoot what ended up being an area-wide outage and it's really frustrating that now everything stopped working after setting it all up again.

1 ACCEPTED SOLUTION

Accepted Solutions
Highlighted
Contributor
Contributor
Posts: 4
Registered: ‎10-15-2009

Re: Can't forward TCP ports

Message 6 of 8
(10,062 Views)

I was able to solve this issue by taking the rev E router and using it by cloning the mac address of the rev C router. Now ports are forwarding fine. Not really a good solution, but I'm happy it works.

View solution in original post

7 REPLIES 7
Highlighted
Employee Emeritus Employee Emeritus
Employee Emeritus
Posts: 110
Registered: ‎09-08-2009

Re: Can't forward TCP ports

Message 2 of 8
(10,171 Views)

Nick_Danger_3D .. In the Actiontec Router under Firewall Settings/ Port Forwarding you added TCP Protocol? Also make sure that under WAN connection type All Broadband Devices are checked & when should this rule occur is set to Always. Let us know Thanks Brett

Brett
Verizon Telecom
Fiber Solution Center


Notice: Content posted by Verizon employees is meant to be informational and does not supercede or change the Verizon Forums User Guidelines or Terms or Service, or your Customer Agreement Terms and Conditions or Plan.

Highlighted
Silver Contributor III
Silver Contributor III
Posts: 412
Registered: ‎05-01-2009

Re: Can't forward TCP ports

Message 3 of 8
(10,149 Views)

Here is a site with good port forwarding information that may help:

 

http://www.portforward.com/english/routers/port_forwarding/routerindex.htm

If you are the original poster (OP) and your issue is solved, please remember to click the "Solution?" button so that others can more easily find it.
If anyone has been helpful to you, please show your appreciation by clicking the "Kudos" button.
Highlighted
Contributor
Contributor
Posts: 4
Registered: ‎10-15-2009

Re: Can't forward TCP ports

Message 4 of 8
(10,100 Views)

I know I am forwarding them correctly, this includes ports forwarded with UPnP. I am selecting TCP or just using predefined services (SSH, HTTP.)

 

The rule is set to Always and it is set for All Broadband Devices.

 

I didn't used to have this problem when I was using a rev D router, it is only since I swapped in this rev C router that I have had this problem (I swapped it out for what turned out to be an area outage, but didn't swap it back. When I tried swapping it back, the rev D had trouble getting an IP address from the DHCP server, even after resetting the ONT and router, obviously did a hard reset too.) If I can get the rev D router working (or rev E router that they accidentally sent my roommate when we added her box to our network) I think this problem would go away.

Highlighted
Trivia Champ
Trivia Champ
Posts: 6,013
Registered: ‎09-24-2008

Re: Can't forward TCP ports

Message 5 of 8
(10,065 Views)

Try turning off UPnP in the router, and see if that helps.

 

 

If you are the original poster (OP) and your issue is solved, please remember to click the "Solution?" button so that others can more easily find it. If anyone has been helpful to you, please show your appreciation by clicking the "Kudos" button.


 

Highlighted
Contributor
Contributor
Posts: 4
Registered: ‎10-15-2009

Re: Can't forward TCP ports

Message 6 of 8
(10,063 Views)

I was able to solve this issue by taking the rev E router and using it by cloning the mac address of the rev C router. Now ports are forwarding fine. Not really a good solution, but I'm happy it works.

View solution in original post

Highlighted
Contributor
Contributor
Posts: 1
Registered: ‎12-01-2009

Re: Can't forward TCP ports

Message 7 of 8
(9,560 Views)

Why is this discussion marked solved, when there is not good solution listed?

 

Basically, port forwarding does not work on the Actiontec is you have TV service.

Highlighted
Moderator Moderator
Moderator
Posts: 2,740
Registered: ‎09-10-2008

Re: Can't forward TCP ports

Message 8 of 8
(9,530 Views)

This issue was marked as solved by the Original Poster, since he found a fix for his own issue.

 

If you have a different issue that this solution doesn't resolve, feel free to open a new thread.

 

If a forum member gives an answer you like, give them the Kudos they deserve. If a member gives you the answer to your question, mark the answer that solved your issue as the accepted solution.

How-To Videos
 
The following videos were produced by users like you!
   
Videos are subject to the Verizon Fios Community Terms of Service and User Guidelines and contains content that is not created by Verizon.
Covid19


Browse Categories
Categories:
Posts

Verizon Troubleshooters
Unable to find your answer here? Try searching Verizon Troubleshooters for more options.