Accessibility Resource Center Skip to main content
Get gifts fast with In-Store & Curbside Pickup or same-day delivery.

Cannot connect to Google or other Google products but can ping to the sites

SOLVED
Reply
Highlighted
Platinum Contributor III Platinum Contributor III
Platinum Contributor III
Posts: 6,023
Registered: ‎09-24-2008

Re: Can't Connect to Google Services

Message 31 of 48
(1,868 Views)

See thread Cannot connect to Google or other Google products but can ping to the sites 

If you are the original poster (OP) and your issue is solved, please remember to click the "Solution?" button so that others can more easily find it. If anyone has been helpful to you, please show your appreciation by clicking the "Kudos" button.


 

Highlighted
Platinum Contributor III Platinum Contributor III
Platinum Contributor III
Posts: 6,023
Registered: ‎09-24-2008

Re: intermittent connectivity issues

Message 32 of 48
(2,657 Views)

@Manipul2020 wrote:

@dslr595148 wrote:

@wowza wrote:

While disabling Home Network Protections fixed the problem, that's not a truly  desirable solution. I had used this for years. 


Please explain why you feel that way.

 

Thank you


 

Why does that take any explanation? It's a standard feature offered to customers and it suddenly stopped working without any response from Verizon. The correct response is for it to be addressed and fixed, not for customers to simply stop using a feature that Verizon clearly broke. 


 

While not truely fixed yet, it is a work around in the meantime. I and other CLs as well as admins/mods of this message board will make sure that Verizon has be notified of this issue that one or more users want a real fix (not just a work around).

 

Since it is work around and not a real fix I unsolved post 19 of this thread (direct link = https://forums.verizon.com/t5/Fios-Internet/Cannot-connect-to-Google-or-other-Google-products-but-ca...) and marked this post of mine the correct one.

If you are the original poster (OP) and your issue is solved, please remember to click the "Solution?" button so that others can more easily find it. If anyone has been helpful to you, please show your appreciation by clicking the "Kudos" button.


 

Highlighted
Copper Contributor
Copper Contributor
Posts: 9
Registered: ‎01-31-2020

Re: intermittent connectivity issues

Message 33 of 48
(1,842 Views)

Since it is work around and not a real fix I unsolved post 19 of this thread (direct link = https://forums.verizon.com/t5/Fios-Internet/Cannot-connect-to-Google-or-other-Google-products-but-ca...) and marked this post of mine the correct one.


Thanks for the correction. Since I don't really use the Home Network Protection feature, I don't mind disabling it.

 

FYI, some of the options in the FIOS app seem to be corresponding to the settings in the router's admin. I'm sure that the options in the Home Network Protection are also somewhere in the admin, perhaps in the Firewall section. 

Highlighted
Contributor
Contributor
Posts: 1
Registered: ‎04-10-2020

Fios router won't allow google.com to appear in any browser

Message 34 of 48
(1,506 Views)

Every so often I cannot access any google site. I just get a "site is unreachable" page instead. This happens on all our devices, iMac, MacBook, iphones, etc, and in all browsers (tried chrome, firefox, brave, opera). If I try to access google using a cellular connection, everything works as it should. So the problem seems to be with fios, not mac, as far as I can tell. If I reset the fios router, the problem goes away for a spell. The same thing happened a few months ago, Verizon swapped my router and the problem disappeared.

Highlighted
Platinum Contributor III Platinum Contributor III
Platinum Contributor III
Posts: 7,916
Registered: ‎11-04-2008

Re: Fios router won't allow google.com to appear in any browser

Message 35 of 48
(1,479 Views)

Instead of rebooting router, log in to it and try to renew wan ip.

Or do a release and get new IP.

Sometimes a certain network can have an issue.


If a forum member gives an answer you like, give them the Kudos they deserve. If a member gives you the answer to your question, mark the answer as Accepted Solution so others can see the solution to the problem.
Highlighted
Platinum Contributor III Platinum Contributor III
Platinum Contributor III
Posts: 7,547
Registered: ‎12-15-2010

Re: Fios router won't allow google.com to appear in any browser

Message 36 of 48
(1,465 Views)

Next time this happens, open Terminal on your Mac and try pinging Google.com from it. The process is pretty simple. Go to Finder -> Applications -> Utilities and open Terminal. In Terminal, type "ping www.google.com" and see if you are getting any replies back. Press Control + C to stop the command to get your final ping result.

Highlighted
Contributor
Contributor
Posts: 1
Registered: ‎04-12-2020

Re: Cannot connect to Google or other Google products but can ping to the sites

Message 37 of 48
(1,355 Views)

Please let Verizon support desk know this and get them to fix it, or at least tell customers the work around and that it is a known problem 

Highlighted
Contributor
Contributor
Posts: 2
Registered: ‎05-02-2020

No connection for some sites

Message 38 of 48
(1,120 Views)

I have the Fios quantum gateway and it's acting very odd.  When I try to go to some websites like Google.com or wikipedia.com, my computer shows no internet connection, but other websites work just fine.  This happens on several computers, both Mac and Windows.  If I reboot the gateway by unplugging it, then everything is fine for about 30 minutes, but then the problem returns.  This seems really strange to me.  Any thoughts as to what's going on?

Highlighted
Contributor
Contributor
Posts: 2
Registered: ‎05-02-2020

Re: No connection for some sites

Message 39 of 48
(1,093 Views)

What is Home Network Protection?  Is this something you disable by logging into the router or is it part of the FIOS app?

Highlighted
Contributor
Contributor
Posts: 2
Registered: ‎07-16-2020

Re: intermittent connectivity issues

Message 40 of 48
(716 Views)

I know this response is 5 months after your original post, but I just started having the same issues described in this thread and it only started after I replaced my leased G1100 router with a purchased G1100 router.  

 

Since the new router was used, I factory reset it and this issue started immediately. I finally got it to work after I initially connected it to the leased router via the leased router's lan port and ran it as a second network for a few hours.  Then I replaced the leased router with the new one and the problems went away.  

 

The networked worked fine until I returned the leased router to Verizon.  The issue started almost immediately after I came home from returning the leased router.  

 

My only workaround was to use a client side VPN.  No issues using this VPN other than I needed to install it on all the clients in the house since the G1100 does not allow a VPN to be installed on the router.

 

I found this thread and disabled the HNP.  Everything is working.  

 

Thanks for the answer to my problem.

How-To Videos
 
The following videos were produced by users like you!
   
Videos are subject to the Verizon Fios Community Terms of Service and User Guidelines and contains content that is not created by Verizon.
Covid19


Browse Categories
Categories:
Posts

Verizon Troubleshooters
Unable to find your answer here? Try searching Verizon Troubleshooters for more options.