×

Switch Account

Cannot connect to verizon.com (Win8.1) too many hops

Cannot connect to verizon.com (Win8.1) too many hops

SOLVED
Reply
Highlighted
Contributor tbrantigan
Contributor
Posts: 3
Registered: ‎09-30-2014
Message 1 of 6
(1,023 Views)

This is a problem on my desktop but not my laptop both of which are running win8.1.  On my desktop only, through IE or Chrome, when I enter www.verizon.com, I get a message that it cannot connect or that the page is not found.  If I do a tracert, I get a long series of hops before the machine gives up.  I cannot ping www.verizon.com.  I can get to other sites but not verizon.com.  My email through outlook is working.  When I try to access www.verizon.net, a page is eventually displayed but without the stylesheet working.  I have run all kinds of malware detectors and virus detectors (Norton Internet Security) and found no errors.  I have reset the browers (note that this happens both on IE and Chrome) and have reset the router.

 

Can anyone tell me what is happening and how to fix it?  Verizon support was willing to help by taking control of my machine but to do that I had to be connected to verizon.com - Catch22.  Obviously, I am typing this on my laptop which works fine through the same router.  It is just the desktop machine that is acting up.

 

I am on Verizon FIOS service.

 

5 REPLIES 5
Highlighted
Platinum Contributor III
Platinum Contributor III
Posts: 5,881
Registered: ‎07-22-2009
Message 2 of 6
(1,002 Views)
That's interesting. Can you post a screen shot of how it looks and the trace route
Highlighted
Contributor tbrantigan
Contributor
Posts: 3
Registered: ‎09-30-2014
Message 3 of 6
(960 Views)

C:\WINDOWS\system32>tracert www.verizon.com

Tracing route to www.verizon.com [158.85.120.46]

over a maximum of 30 hops:

1 <1 ms <1 ms <1 ms 192.168.1.1

2 37 ms 37 ms 32 ms L100.BLTMMD-VFTTP-63.verizon-gni.net [173.69.138

.1]

3 6 ms 6 ms 7 ms G0-7-1-5.BLTMMD-LCR-22.verizon-gni.net [130.81.2

15.172]

4 8 ms 9 ms 8 ms so-6-1-0-0.PHIL-BB-RTR2.verizon-gni.net [130.81.

199.4]

5 10 ms 11 ms 10 ms 0.xe-3-0-2.XL4.IAD8.ALTER.NET [152.63.3.57]

6 13 ms 11 ms 15 ms TenGigE0-7-0-1.GW1.IAD8.ALTER.NET [152.63.35.149

]

7 13 ms 11 ms 11 ms teliasonera-gw.customer.alter.net [152.179.50.23

4]

8 10 ms 10 ms 10 ms ash-bb3-link.telia.net [213.155.133.182]

9 16 ms 15 ms 15 ms nyk-bb1-link.telia.net [62.115.138.22]

10 36 ms 37 ms 38 ms toro-b1-link.telia.net [62.115.141.193]

11 28 ms 29 ms 28 ms softlayer-ic-304689-toro-b1.c.telia.net [213.248

.66.106]

12 * * * Request timed out.

13 * * * Request timed out.

14 * * * Request timed out.

15 * * * Request timed out.

16 * * * Request timed out.

17 * * * Request timed out.

18 * * * Request timed out.

19 * * * Request timed out.

20 * * * Request timed out.

21 * * * Request timed out.

22 * * * Request timed out.

23 * * * Request timed out.

24 * * * Request timed out.

25 * * * Request timed out.

26 * * * Request timed out.

27 * * * Request timed out.

28 * * * Request timed out.

29 * * * Request timed out.

30 * * * Request timed out.

Trace complete.

C:\WINDOWS\system32>

 

 

Can't find how to add .jpg screen shot files to this forum but the IE screen comes up with the following text if you try to access www.verizon.com.

Oops! Internet Explorer could not connect to www.verizon.com

Try reloading: www.verizon.com

 

Highlighted
Platinum Contributor III Platinum Contributor III
Platinum Contributor III
Posts: 7,391
Registered: ‎12-15-2010
Message 4 of 6
(926 Views)

Have you set up any sort of local proxy on the machine? Also, what is Windows using for the DNS servers? Lastly, what does the file at C:\Windows\system32\drivers\etc\hosts show when you open it with Notepad? Verizon's website at www.verizon.com should be coming out of Akamai.

 

bombomb:~ smith$ traceroute www.verizon.com

traceroute to e2546.g.akamaiedge.net (23.202.202.120), 64 hops max, 52 byte packets

 1  192.168.3.1 (192.168.3.1)  1.307 ms  0.939 ms  1.092 ms

 2  10.41.13.1 (10.41.13.1)  407.496 ms  306.671 ms  408.749 ms

 3  * p0-0-1-1.bflony-lcr-22.verizon-gni.net (130.81.136.28)  14.227 ms  8.062 ms

 4  ae6-0.ny325-bb-rtr2.verizon-gni.net (130.81.209.36)  22.172 ms  21.260 ms  21.289 ms

 5  0.xe-9-1-0.br1.nyc1.alter.net (152.63.4.241)  25.241 ms  22.887 ms  56.564 ms

 6  * * *

 7  dcx2-edge-01.inet.qwest.net (67.14.28.70)  50.105 ms  72.911 ms  50.668 ms

 8  65.122.30.162 (65.122.30.162)  81.257 ms  44.783 ms  43.460 ms

 9  a23-202-202-120.deploy.static.akamaitechnologies.com (23.202.202.120)  59.190 ms  65.706 ms  60.734 ms

Highlighted
Contributor tbrantigan
Contributor
Posts: 3
Registered: ‎09-30-2014
Message 5 of 6
(923 Views)

Issue resolved.  Yes, somehow the automatic DNS settings had been changed to something specific.  I changed this back to automatic and now everything works.

 

Thanks for the willingness to help.  You pointed to the correct solution!

Tom

Highlighted
Platinum Contributor III Platinum Contributor III
Platinum Contributor III
Posts: 7,391
Registered: ‎12-15-2010
Message 6 of 6
(917 Views)

@tbrantigan wrote:

Issue resolved.  Yes, somehow the automatic DNS settings had been changed to something specific.  I changed this back to automatic and now everything works.

 

Thanks for the willingness to help.  You pointed to the correct solution!

Tom


No problem 🙂

How-To Videos
 
The following videos were produced by users like you!
   
Videos are subject to the Verizon Fios Community Terms of Service and User Guidelines and contains content that is not created by Verizon.


Browse Categories
Categories:
Posts

Verizon Troubleshooters
Unable to find your answer here? Try searching Verizon Troubleshooters for more options.