Accessibility Resource Center Skip to main content
Have a phone you love? Get up to $500 when you switch and bring your phone.

Cat 6 cable

Reply
MrEdd00
Copper Contributor
Copper Contributor
Posts: 13
Registered: ‎06-22-2013

Cat 6 cable

Message 1 of 5
(2,194 Views)

I'm wanting to hard wire my desktop to my fios router and want to know if this 50 ft cable from best buy is what I need. Its a cat6 with (rj45 gold connectors) I know I need a eithernet connection but is this the same ??

4 REPLIES 4
gs0b
Gold Contributor VII Gold Contributor VII
Gold Contributor VII
Posts: 1,990
Registered: ‎12-02-2012

Re: Cat 6 cable

Message 2 of 5
(2,183 Views)

Cat5 or Cat6 is fine for 1Gbps.

 

Gold connectors are a waste of money.

 

Best Buy is way overpriced.  Shop online instead.

 

Have Fun!

 

Harder
Contributor
Contributor
Posts: 4
Registered: ‎07-29-2013

Re: Cat 6 cable

Message 3 of 5
(2,162 Views)

This is a "future-proof" Cat7 cable (10Gbps capable): http://www.newegg.com/Product/Product.aspx?Item=N82E16812422687

 

This is what you were looking for though, Cat6 cable: http://www.newegg.com/Product/Product.aspx?Item=N82E16812119171

 

Both cables are 25ft., if you need longer then change the search. BestBuy, while improving in some areas, still seeks to recoup profits in sinks like HDMI and Ethernet cables. Try to stay with places like newegg, micro center, tigerdirect, etc.

Anti-Phish
Gold Contributor III
Gold Contributor III
Posts: 1,122
Registered: ‎12-04-2009

Re: Cat 6 cable

Message 4 of 5
(2,130 Views)

Best prices I've found for network cables is monoprice.com

http://www.monoprice.com/products/subdepartment.asp?c_id=102&cp_id=10208#1020812

 

eljefe
Gold Contributor IV
Gold Contributor IV
Posts: 1,217
Registered: ‎12-14-2009

Re: Cat 6 cable

Message 5 of 5
(2,101 Views)

@MrEdd00 wrote:

I'm wanting to hard wire my desktop to my fios router and want to know if this 50 ft cable from best buy is what I need. Its a cat6 with (rj45 gold connectors) I know I need a eithernet connection but is this the same ??


While the other replies to your question focus on saving you a few $$$, let me just throw in that if Best Buy is convenient for you, and you don't mind spending a little extra for that convenience, then yes, that cable will work fine to connect your PC to your router.

How-To Videos
 
The following videos were produced by users like you!
   
Videos are subject to the Verizon Fios Community Terms of Service and User Guidelines and contains content that is not created by Verizon.
Have a spare Fios-G1100?Learn how to bridge it into your network
Get Started


Covid19

Browse Categories
Categories:
Posts

Verizon Troubleshooters
Unable to find your answer here? Try searching Verizon Troubleshooters for more options.
Modal Dialogue Title