Accessibility Resource Center Skip to main content
Have a phone you love? Get up to $500 when you bring your phone.

Cell Phone WiFi Locks up ActionTec MoCA Point

Reply
marroquincr
Contributor
Contributor
Posts: 1
Registered: ‎01-19-2009

Cell Phone WiFi Locks up ActionTec MoCA Point

Message 1 of 8
(8,401 Views)
So this morning I logged my cell phone into my wifi network.  About 5 minutes after having it online, the whole MoCA locked up.   It made the MoCA light on my ONT flash red..   My only solution was to reboot it.  Is there any way to fix this; outside of getting another router?
7 REPLIES 7
dslr595148
Platinum Contributor III Platinum Contributor III
Platinum Contributor III
Posts: 6,108
Registered: ‎09-24-2008

Re: Cell Phone WiFi Locks up ActionTec MoCA Point

Message 2 of 8
(8,348 Views)
Perhaps: Do not use your cell (or cordless) phone so close to the router..

If you are the original poster (OP) and your issue is solved, please remember to click the "Solution?" button so that others can more easily find it. If anyone has been helpful to you, please show your appreciation by clicking the "Kudos" button.


 

e292644
Copper Contributor
Copper Contributor
Posts: 7
Registered: ‎12-07-2008

Re: Cell Phone WiFi Locks up ActionTec MoCA Point

Message 3 of 8
(8,279 Views)

I've got exact the same problem with my 9100EM router.

I'm gonna switch from coax to cat5 by pass verizon's router.

dslr595148
Platinum Contributor III Platinum Contributor III
Platinum Contributor III
Posts: 6,108
Registered: ‎09-24-2008

Re: Cell Phone WiFi Locks up ActionTec MoCA Point

Message 4 of 8
(8,248 Views)
Ok, here is a better answer..

Your phone is probably on the 2.4Ghz frequency which is the same frequency wireless routers operate on. Try changing the channel on the router to one that is far enough away from the phone's frequency so they don't interfere with each other.



To change the channel on the router:

In Internet Explorer, type 192.168.1.1 into the address bar

On the login page that comes up, type admin for the username and password1 for the password (ignore the dots)

Click Change Wireless Settings under Quick Links in the My Router column of the front page.

Under option 3. Channel, select a number from 1 - 11 then click Apply at the bottom of the page.

Click Apply again to save the changes if it asks.



It is pretty much trial and error in determining which channel will be furthest from your phone's frequency, and you might even not find a channel that keeps your wireless connection up every time your on the phone. I had the same problem with my own cordless phone and a linksys router that I ended up having to purchase a new phone in the 5.8Ghz range to keep my connection. With that said, I hope you have better luck then me with this situation.

If you are the original poster (OP) and your issue is solved, please remember to click the "Solution?" button so that others can more easily find it. If anyone has been helpful to you, please show your appreciation by clicking the "Kudos" button.


 

cjacobs001
Silver Contributor III
Silver Contributor III
Posts: 398
Registered: ‎10-09-2008

Re: Cell Phone WiFi Locks up ActionTec MoCA Point

Message 5 of 8
(8,199 Views)
i know cordless home phones could use 2.4Ghz frequency, but the poster said cell phone, didn't he ?
cjacobs001
dslr595148
Platinum Contributor III Platinum Contributor III
Platinum Contributor III
Posts: 6,108
Registered: ‎09-24-2008

Re: Cell Phone WiFi Locks up ActionTec MoCA Point

Message 6 of 8
(8,179 Views)
[Re-Edit} I was right.. See the next post below mine..
Message Edited by dslr595148 on 02-04-2009 11:25 AM

If you are the original poster (OP) and your issue is solved, please remember to click the "Solution?" button so that others can more easily find it. If anyone has been helpful to you, please show your appreciation by clicking the "Kudos" button.


 

TimSykes
Gold Contributor III
Gold Contributor III
Posts: 1,059
Registered: ‎10-21-2008

Re: Cell Phone WiFi Locks up ActionTec MoCA Point

Message 7 of 8
(8,178 Views)
A cell phones WiFi will use the same channel as the router. The have to talk to each other so they must use the same 2.4ghz channel. Kind of like a cordless phone, and its receiver use the same 2.4ghz channel. 
cjacobs001
Silver Contributor III
Silver Contributor III
Posts: 398
Registered: ‎10-09-2008

Re: Cell Phone WiFi Locks up ActionTec MoCA Point

Message 8 of 8
(8,129 Views)
oops!  I wasn't reading what I was seeing.  Thanks. 
cjacobs001
How-To Videos
 
The following videos were produced by users like you!
   
Videos are subject to the Verizon Fios Community Terms of Service and User Guidelines and contains content that is not created by Verizon.
Have a spare Fios-G1100?Learn how to bridge it into your network
Get Started


Covid19

Browse Categories
Categories:
Posts

Verizon Troubleshooters
Unable to find your answer here? Try searching Verizon Troubleshooters for more options.
Modal Dialogue Title