×

Switch Account

Changing ONT from Ethernet for Internet to COAX

SOLVED
Reply
Highlighted
Contributor
Contributor
Posts: 9
Registered: ‎02-01-2015

Re: Changing ONT from Ethernet for Internet to COAX

Message 11 of 23
(1,620 Views)

IMG_0113.JPG

Highlighted
Contributor
Contributor
Posts: 9
Registered: ‎02-01-2015

Re: Changing ONT from Ethernet for Internet to COAX

Message 12 of 23
(1,612 Views)

I added it in another post.  Thanks!

Highlighted
Gold Contributor VII Gold Contributor VII
Gold Contributor VII
Posts: 1,670
Registered: ‎12-02-2012

Re: Changing ONT from Ethernet for Internet to COAX

Message 13 of 23
(1,596 Views)

That's the BBU (Battery Backup Unit), not the ONT.  Find the box with coax, phone and Ethernet connected to it.  It's possible it's outside.

 

Enjoy.

 

Highlighted
Contributor
Contributor
Posts: 9
Registered: ‎02-01-2015

Re: Changing ONT from Ethernet for Internet to COAX

Message 14 of 23
(1,593 Views)

Oops.  Ok. It's an ONT611.  The port that says "data" looks to be ethernet.  But I'm not sure if that's be all end all.

Highlighted
Bronze Contributor I
Bronze Contributor I
Posts: 74
Registered: ‎05-06-2010

Re: Changing ONT from Ethernet for Internet to COAX

Message 15 of 23
(1,577 Views)

@lnportcpa wrote:

Only the WAN port has an ethernet cord attached.  Only other input is the coax.


If you disconnect the ethernet cable going to the router wan port does your internet access fail?

 

Highlighted
Contributor
Contributor
Posts: 9
Registered: ‎02-01-2015

Re: Changing ONT from Ethernet for Internet to COAX

Message 16 of 23
(1,560 Views)

Yes.  Devices indicate that it's connected, but there is really no connectivity.

Bronze Contributor I
Bronze Contributor I
Posts: 74
Registered: ‎05-06-2010

Re: Changing ONT from Ethernet for Internet to COAX

Message 17 of 23
(1,544 Views)

@lnportcpa wrote:

Yes.  Devices indicate that it's connected, but there is really no connectivity.


That's because the devices  ARE connected to the router.

 

Logon to the router at 192.168.1.1

On the main page what does it say under Router status?

Mine says 

Ethernet Status:Connected
 Connection Type:DHCP
 IP Address:100.xxx.xxx.213
 IPv6 Address:

 

 

 

You should also be able to look at how your broadband connection is set up by

Select my network

network connections

 

I would guess that the main page is NOT showing an IP address which would indicate that your ont is set up for ethernet connection

 

Highlighted
Contributor
Contributor
Posts: 9
Registered: ‎02-01-2015

Re: Changing ONT from Ethernet for Internet to COAX

Message 18 of 23
(1,526 Views)

I'm having trouble logging into the IP address, but I'm pretty sure the ONT is set up for ethernet.  The question is: how can I change that?

 

Thanks for all the replies!

Highlighted
Gold Contributor VII Gold Contributor VII
Gold Contributor VII
Posts: 1,670
Registered: ‎12-02-2012

Re: Changing ONT from Ethernet for Internet to COAX

Message 19 of 23
(1,522 Views)

As previously mentioned, you must contact Verizon to change between Ethernet and coax.

 

Good Luck.

 

Highlighted
Gold Contributor VII Gold Contributor VII
Gold Contributor VII
Posts: 1,796
Registered: ‎08-06-2008

Re: Changing ONT from Ethernet for Internet to COAX

Message 20 of 23
(1,491 Views)

@lnportcpa wrote:

Oops.  Ok. It's an ONT611.  The port that says "data" looks to be ethernet.  But I'm not sure if that's be all end all.


The 611 only does ethernet. You would have to have a tech come out and swap it to a 612 so that you can use Moca. The 611 can handle upto 4 telephone lines, while the 612 only has 2 available.

How-To Videos
 
The following videos were produced by users like you!
   
Videos are subject to the Verizon Fios Community Terms of Service and User Guidelines and contains content that is not created by Verizon.
Covid19


Browse Categories
Categories:
Posts

Verizon Troubleshooters
Unable to find your answer here? Try searching Verizon Troubleshooters for more options.