Accessibility Resource Center Skip to main content
Get it fast with In-Store & Curbside Pickup or same day delivery.

Cisco VPN won't connect via FiOS

SOLVED
Reply
tech_struggler
Copper Contributor
Copper Contributor
Posts: 9
Registered: ‎03-27-2010

Re: Cisco VPN won't connect via FiOS

Message 11 of 25
(13,844 Views)

Fixed!  So that anyone searching for a solution finds this, I'm going to re-state the problem and the solution...

 

Problem: an existing FiOS installation using coax (coaxial cable) works flawlessly with Cisco VPN for two years.  Then, all of a sudden, the VPN client can no longer connect.  The exact error message from the Notifications tab of the VPN control panel: "Reason 412: the remote peer is no longer responding".

 

Router: Actiontec M1424-WR rev. C running firmware 4.0.16.1.56.0.10.11.6

 

Solution: re-provision FiOS service to Ethernet from coax, powercycle Actiontec.

 

Proof that it's a FiOS/Actiontec problem:

 

1) Restore Actiontec router to factory default (hard reset).

2) Connect to Internet w/o VPN.  Success.

3) Connect via VPN using Actiontec provisioned for coax.  Fails.

4) Technician installs Ethernet and I powercycle router.  No other changes made -- didn't even re-start VPN client.

5) I click Connect button on VPN client and the VPN client connects flawlessly. 

 

While I did not account for all variables like cosmic rays, a Verizon network specialist playing a prank on me or an intermittent hardware problem that randomly occurs (and doesn't occur) at all the right times, I'm going to posit that either FiOS Ethernet and coax behave differently, or the Actiontec behaves differently. 

 

My (excellent)  technician was equally convinced, and called his office -- no charge for the installation!

 

Do Verizon employees read posts on this forum?  How do I get the info to Verizon tech support folks (especially the guy I talked to yesterday who was 100% sure that this wouldn't fix the problem)?  I'd hate for anyone else get the bad tech support that I recv'd.

 

Thanks to all of you for your help and advice!

 

       Mike

View solution in original post

dslr595148
Platinum Contributor III Platinum Contributor III
Platinum Contributor III
Posts: 6,062
Registered: ‎09-24-2008

Re: Cisco VPN won't connect via FiOS

Message 12 of 25
(12,928 Views)

 


@tech_struggler wrote:

 

Do Verizon employees read posts on this forum?  How do I get the info to Verizon tech support folks (especially the guy I talked to yesterday who was 100% sure that this wouldn't fix the problem)?  I'd hate for anyone else get the bad tech support that I recv'd.


 

 

#1 This is a peer to peer forum. We (mostly consumers of Verizon) help each other.

 

#2 With number one in mind, I believe there are Verizon employees who are here too.

 

 

If you are the original poster (OP) and your issue is solved, please remember to click the "Solution?" button so that others can more easily find it. If anyone has been helpful to you, please show your appreciation by clicking the "Kudos" button.


 

tech_struggler
Copper Contributor
Copper Contributor
Posts: 9
Registered: ‎03-27-2010

Re: Cisco VPN won't connect via FiOS

Message 13 of 25
(12,890 Views)
dslr595148, thanks much.  Hopefully someone from Verizon will cruise by...
I decided to blow another 45 minutes (25 minutes on hold, so I still got some stuff done) and see if I can help those who come after me.  Here's what I did/learned:
  • Talked to an escalation technician (level 2 support) and explained the problem to him.  He was not aware of it
  • He agreed that my problem likely had to be either FiOS or the Actiontec.  He also suspected the Actiontec.
  • Sure enough, he found a memo: VPN users are advised not to use MOCA and to instead use Ethernet.
  • We discussed the poor tech support and customer service I recv'd.  He said that he agreed that tech support on this issue s/be better, and that he would forward specifics to his superiors for action.  I hope he wasn't just being nice.  The good news is that Googling <cisco vpn fios> already brings up this thread as #3.  So, people in my shoes should still get the word.
spacedebris
Gold Contributor V
Gold Contributor V
Posts: 1,692
Registered: ‎05-17-2009

Re: Cisco VPN won't connect via FiOS

Message 14 of 25
(12,838 Views)

Something to take note of is that...."officially", Verizon does not support VPN's. Sounds like you had several people that tried to help and they do have documentation on VPN issues, but their agents are not trained on VPN's because they are not "supposed" to help you with it. So anyone with this issue will need to have all the info listed here ready when they call Verizon. This way you are only calling saing that you need to convert from moca to ethernet and the reason why. Otherwise, the next person will get the same results or worse. You could get someone that follows "Verizon policy" and tells you that it is not a supported system and that they cannot help you with it. Yes this is a cop out and I'm not defending them, but remember the person on the other end of the phone doesnt make policy, they just have to follow it to keep their jobs. Hopefully you will get somone willing to bend the rules and help you out but then again, you may not. They have a set of "support boundries" that lists what they can help you with and what they cant. The items that are on the cant side, thats when they tell you to call actiontec (or other manufacture). Just an FYI for anyone trying to call for help on this issue.




====================================================================================

Error exists between keyboard and chair.
tech_struggler
Copper Contributor
Copper Contributor
Posts: 9
Registered: ‎03-27-2010

Re: Cisco VPN won't connect via FiOS

Message 15 of 25
(12,832 Views)

spacedebris,

Exactly right.  And that's what I told Donald, my escalation support specialist.  He said he agreed that the mention of "VPN" shouldn't immediately result in the response of "Dude, go pound sand."  Instead, the user s/be asked if they are using an Actiontec w/ MOCA.

But, who knows if Donald will be successful in his quest (I hope) to get that changed.  That's why it's important that this thread continue to rank highly in Google's search results!

prisaz
Platinum Contributor III
Platinum Contributor III
Posts: 6,820
Registered: ‎08-23-2008

Re: Cisco VPN won't connect via FiOS

Message 16 of 25
(12,816 Views)

Known issue with SSL and VPN with MOCA. Read this thread. Cisco has be discussed with VPN and MOCA issues before. This post was over a year old. Sorry i did not dig it up sooner, but I remembered the discussion.

 

http://forums.verizon.com/t5/FiOS-Internet/SSL-VPN-not-working/m-p/11982#M1851

 

Here is a solutions search for Cisco VPN.

http://forums.verizon.com/t5/forums/searchpage/tab/message?advanced=true&filter=acceptedSolutions%2C...

 

 

Here is some good information that may not be well known.

There is an advanced search of sorts that may help many people. I have discussed it with a few Administrators, and it may find it's way into a revision at some point where you can do an advanced search from the search button. If a user looks at the recent solutions on the Forums home page and then selects Find More Solutions, it list the most recent. But if you scroll up there are many solution search features that can be used. Such as search by author.

 

http://forums.verizon.com/t5/forums/searchpage/tab/message?advanced=true&filter=acceptedSolutions%2C...

 

A direct link to the advanced search. I think I will cross post this to ask that this link be placed on the home page. I don't know what it is not.

http://forums.verizon.com/t5/forums/searchpage/tab/message?advanced=true

tech_struggler
Copper Contributor
Copper Contributor
Posts: 9
Registered: ‎03-27-2010

Re: Cisco VPN won't connect via FiOS

Message 17 of 25
(12,802 Views)

prisaz,

 

Right -- that first thread you posted is what I referred to in my thread-starter.

 

I just didn't believe that could be the only solution.  Now that I know it's a known flaw of the Actiontec router, I believe... [Love to know if making Verizon supply a Westell replacement would work, too.]

 

Thanks for the advanced search tips!

 

Fortunately, I do search engine optimizing (for pay) -- so I aim to keep this thread near the top of the Google (etc.) search results page.  Smiley Happy

prisaz
Platinum Contributor III
Platinum Contributor III
Posts: 6,820
Registered: ‎08-23-2008

Re: Cisco VPN won't connect via FiOS

Message 18 of 25
(12,792 Views)

 


@tech_struggler wrote:

prisaz,

 

Right -- that first thread you posted is what I referred to in my thread-starter.

 

I just didn't believe that could be the only solution.  Now that I know it's a known flaw of the Actiontec router, I believe... [Love to know if making Verizon supply a Westell replacement would work, too.]

 

Thanks for the advanced search tips!

 

Fortunately, I do search engine optimizing (for pay) -- so I aim to keep this thread near the top of the Google (etc.) search results page.  Smiley Happy


 

I just did a little HTML trick to my signature and asked that it be added to the forums home page. I guess I may get in trouble for cross posting.Smiley Indifferent

 

viafax999
Gold Contributor VII Gold Contributor VII
Gold Contributor VII
Posts: 2,159
Registered: ‎11-10-2009

Re: Cisco VPN won't connect via FiOS

Message 19 of 25
(12,737 Views)

@tech_struggler wrote:

prisaz,

 

Right -- that first thread you posted is what I referred to in my thread-starter.

 

I just didn't believe that could be the only solution.  Now that I know it's a known flaw of the Actiontec router, I believe... [Love to know if making Verizon supply a Westell replacement would work, too.]

 

Thanks for the advanced search tips!

 

Fortunately, I do search engine optimizing (for pay) -- so I aim to keep this thread near the top of the Google (etc.) search results page.  Smiley Happy


 

I use a cisco VPN with a Westell 9100em on a daily basis

Have had no issues other than for some reason it will disconnect after 19+ hours, says the client requested it, have to restart machine then then to get the VPN client to work again.

prisaz
Platinum Contributor III
Platinum Contributor III
Posts: 6,820
Registered: ‎08-23-2008

Re: Cisco VPN won't connect via FiOS

Message 20 of 25
(12,723 Views)

 


@viafax999 wrote:

@tech_struggler wrote:

prisaz,

 

Right -- that first thread you posted is what I referred to in my thread-starter.

 

I just didn't believe that could be the only solution.  Now that I know it's a known flaw of the Actiontec router, I believe... [Love to know if making Verizon supply a Westell replacement would work, too.]

 

Thanks for the advanced search tips!

 

Fortunately, I do search engine optimizing (for pay) -- so I aim to keep this thread near the top of the Google (etc.) search results page.  Smiley Happy


 

I use a cisco VPN with a Westell 9100em on a daily basis

Have had no issues other than for some reason it will disconnect after 19+ hours, says the client requested it, have to restart machine then then to get the VPN client to work again.


 

It must be something with the Actiontec and MOCA if your connection is over coax. Good thing it is working for you. Also perhaps not all hardware revision of the Actiontec behave that way. I guess it was never pinpointed.

 

How-To Videos
 
The following videos were produced by users like you!
   
Videos are subject to the Verizon Fios Community Terms of Service and User Guidelines and contains content that is not created by Verizon.
Have a spare Fios-G1100?Learn how to bridge it into your network
Get Started


Covid19

Browse Categories
Categories:
Posts

Verizon Troubleshooters
Unable to find your answer here? Try searching Verizon Troubleshooters for more options.
Modal Dialogue Title