Accessibility Resource Center Skip to main content
Get it fast with In-store & curbside pickup or same day delivery.

Comcast imposing data limits/charges

SOLVED
Reply
Xeno79
Contributor
Contributor
Posts: 3
Registered: ‎01-29-2021

Comcast imposing data limits/charges

Message 1 of 6
(549 Views)

Comcast has recently made the poor decision to limit data use in the home to 1.2TB and charge overage fees. While I have kept the service anxiously awaiting fios to come to my area many users are now desperate for it (including myself). Origonally they held back on placing the limits in areas where Fios was competing and they picked the worst possible time to spread it out! During a pandemic when we are all working from home and using massive amounts of data this couldn't be a better time for Fios to spread out as much as possible. I hope that the Fios team is keeping up with what is going on. Right now Comcast users are beginning to get their warnings as they reach their cap and wonder what is going on. Fios please help!

 

Sykesville, MD user

1 ACCEPTED SOLUTION

Accepted Solutions
Xeno79
Contributor
Contributor
Posts: 3
Registered: ‎01-29-2021

Re: Comcast imposing data limits/charges

Message 6 of 6
(420 Views)

Thanks! I did call them on the phone and got the generic response. Hope is there! People not too far from my area have it but the expansion hasn't happened my way yet.

View solution in original post

5 REPLIES 5
CRobGauth
Platinum Contributor III Platinum Contributor III
Platinum Contributor III
Posts: 7,966
Registered: ‎11-04-2008

Re: Comcast imposing data limits/charges

Message 2 of 6
(519 Views)

This is mainly a peer to peer support forum.

Verizon has said they don't comment on their expansion plans other than to say they have scaled them back.


If a forum member gives an answer you like, give them the Kudos they deserve. If a member gives you the answer to your question, mark the answer as Accepted Solution so others can see the solution to the problem.
Xeno79
Contributor
Contributor
Posts: 3
Registered: ‎01-29-2021

Re: Comcast imposing data limits/charges

Message 3 of 6
(485 Views)

That is a shame 😞 our community has been anxiously awaiting. Thank you for the response though.

jonjones
Platinum Contributor II
Platinum Contributor II
Posts: 5,248
Registered: ‎10-18-2016

Re: Comcast imposing data limits/charges

Message 4 of 6
(473 Views)

Although Verizon likes to say nothing about expansion plans etc they have been branching out in many places. Do a google search on Fios expansion. Verizon having the better product and with a 99.99% up time, it is outstanding and prices are very competitive. 

now having said that you could call them on the phone or even check from the website at http://www.Verizon.com/Fios and see what is up on maybe getting it.

 

where I live they said no expansion but going on six years now my home was connected to Fios (without my permission by the way in they just did a drop) but they did come around and we took the new service and dropped time warner who had rates raising through the roof. Use our own router and hooked to power back up generator and have never lost service.

Cang_Household
Gold Contributor III Gold Contributor III
Gold Contributor III
Posts: 854
Registered: ‎09-06-2020

Re: Comcast imposing data limits/charges

Message 5 of 6
(430 Views)

What I know is that Fios starts to expand again in the NYC. I don't know and therefore cannot comment on other expansion plans.

Xeno79
Contributor
Contributor
Posts: 3
Registered: ‎01-29-2021

Re: Comcast imposing data limits/charges

Message 6 of 6
(421 Views)

Thanks! I did call them on the phone and got the generic response. Hope is there! People not too far from my area have it but the expansion hasn't happened my way yet.

View solution in original post

How-To Videos
 
The following videos were produced by users like you!
   
Videos are subject to the Verizon Fios Community Terms of Service and User Guidelines and contains content that is not created by Verizon.
Have a spare Fios-G1100?Learn how to bridge it into your network
Get Started


Covid19

Browse Categories
Categories:
Posts

Verizon Troubleshooters
Unable to find your answer here? Try searching Verizon Troubleshooters for more options.