Connect a hard drive to router?
Brian
Enthusiast - Level 2

I'm a tech beginner.  I have an Actiontec router on my FIOS system.  Can I connect a hard drive directly to the router and see it with multiple computers if it's not a network drive with it's own networking drivers built in?  I have two USB drives available.  If yes, where can I find out how to do it?  Thanks for suggestions and please forgive me if this is a really dumb question.

Brian

1 Solution

Correct answers
Re: Connect a hard drive to router?
smith6612
Community Leader
Community Leader

To tie onto the above post, what you would need to do for the USB drives is to find a NAS device that allows the linking of USB devices, or you would need to use a PC to share the drives. That would be at least as a temporary solution until the Verizon router support USB drives.

View solution in original post

somegirl
Champion - Level 3

Short answer is no.

Longer answer is that it's theoretically possible with today's technology, but Verizon's router firmware doesn't support it. You could buy a third-party router that might support it, but don't expect Verizon support to be much help with the set-up or maintenance.

smith6612
Community Leader
Community Leader

To tie onto the above post, what you would need to do for the USB drives is to find a NAS device that allows the linking of USB devices, or you would need to use a PC to share the drives. That would be at least as a temporary solution until the Verizon router support USB drives.

Brian
Enthusiast - Level 2