Accessibility Resource Center Skip to main content
Have a phone you love? Get up to $500 when you bring your phone.

Connecting Panasonic Blu Ray Player to Fios Internet

Reply
packer_fan
Contributor
Contributor
Posts: 3
Registered: ‎03-22-2009

Connecting Panasonic Blu Ray Player to Fios Internet

Message 1 of 8
(18,675 Views)
My Blu Ray DVD player, (panasonic BD50) allows firmware updates and BD Live if player is connected to Internet. I used Cat5 cable to attach player to FIOS box, used the test connection feature on the blu ray, and got nothin. How do I do this? Do I need to set the IP address, etc. settings manually? Thanks for any help.
7 REPLIES 7
cjacobs001
Silver Contributor III
Silver Contributor III
Posts: 398
Registered: ‎10-09-2008

Re: Connecting Panasonic Blu Ray Player to Fios Internet

Message 2 of 8
(18,661 Views)
I am not familiar with your device, but like any other internet-attached device it must have a unique IP address to send\receive.  SO, the Verizon Actiontec Router assigns network addresses via DHCP;  How is you device setup?  Static IP address or also DHCP ?  You should have some way to access\configure its settings.  You would need to change it to dynamic (DHCP) for easiest configuration.  If it requires a static ip address, that can be accomplished too. Let us know what the set-up requirements are on the device
cjacobs001
chartle
Nickel Contributor
Nickel Contributor
Posts: 34
Registered: ‎02-03-2009

Re: Connecting Panasonic Blu Ray Player to Fios Internet

Message 3 of 8
(18,637 Views)

I two things one do you know that its a good cable and are you plugging it into the right jack on the router.

 

The router has 5 RJ-45 jacks on the back 4 are for connecting LAN devices (computers and such) and one is to connect to a WAN (like the ONT).  The wan port is marked slightly differently.  You want one of the 4 LAN jacks.

prisaz
Platinum Contributor III
Platinum Contributor III
Posts: 6,820
Registered: ‎08-23-2008

Re: Connecting Panasonic Blu Ray Player to Fios Internet

Message 4 of 8
(18,625 Views)
If you are attaching the BluRay player CAT5 to the FIOS set top box Ethernet port, that port is not active and only provided by Motorola for possible future use. The players CAT5 cable must be plugged into your FIOS router to get an IP address.
packer_fan
Contributor
Contributor
Posts: 3
Registered: ‎03-22-2009

Re: Connecting Panasonic Blu Ray Player to Fios Internet

Message 5 of 8
(18,603 Views)

Well crap....I am plugging a Cat5 calble from the Fios Tv box into the Blu Ray player. I thought since I have internet too, it would "find" the internet automatically. I did go through the setup screens via the blu ray, it was automatically searching for IP addresses.....now the real question begins.

 

I don't have internet in the master bedroom, just the Fios HD box. The wireless router is in the spare bedroom connected to the computer and TV there....so....Is there a wireless gadget that I can plug into the blu ray player to access BD Live.

 

This seems to get so complicated, yet the concept in of itself is simple. I just want to hook this stuff up, like it says on the box! ARGH!

cjacobs001
Silver Contributor III
Silver Contributor III
Posts: 398
Registered: ‎10-09-2008

Re: Connecting Panasonic Blu Ray Player to Fios Internet

Message 6 of 8
(18,589 Views)
If you had had the cat 5 from the blue ray device connected to the router, all would be well.  DOES your blue ray device have wireless cababilities?  built in? will it use an adapter ? 
cjacobs001
prisaz
Platinum Contributor III
Platinum Contributor III
Posts: 6,820
Registered: ‎08-23-2008

Re: Connecting Panasonic Blu Ray Player to Fios Internet

Message 7 of 8
(18,568 Views)

What you would need is a wireless bridge. About $100. Perhaps one can be found cheaper. This would give you an ethernet port and antenna for a connection to your wireless. Wireless G 54mbps.

 

I would say to get a CAT5 cable run if you really want the best speed for streaming.

 

There are also powerline ethernet extenders that plug into the wall at two locations, but I do not know how good they are.

 

There used to be a device available from Motorola called a Nim100 that would bridge COAX to ethernet. With this device you could get ethernet off of your coax just like the STB does. I have seen these on E-Bay.

 

Best bet is another hard wired connection from your router. Or move the router to the location where your BluRay player is and then use wireless for the PC in the Extra room? But this would also require a wireless adapter on your PC.

 

It would be nice if the STB did provide an Ethernet port for stuff like this.

Message Edited by prisaz on 03-24-2009 06:28 PM
iheartfios123
Copper Contributor
Copper Contributor
Posts: 24
Registered: ‎03-24-2009

Re: Connecting Panasonic Blu Ray Player to Fios Internet

Message 8 of 8
(18,538 Views)
hmm.  So your computer is hard wired?  is your internet connection coaxial or ethernet?
How-To Videos
 
The following videos were produced by users like you!
   
Videos are subject to the Verizon Fios Community Terms of Service and User Guidelines and contains content that is not created by Verizon.
Have a spare Fios-G1100?Learn how to bridge it into your network
Get Started


Covid19

Browse Categories
Categories:
Posts

Verizon Troubleshooters
Unable to find your answer here? Try searching Verizon Troubleshooters for more options.
Modal Dialogue Title