Accessibility Resource Center Skip to main content
Get it fast with In-store & curbside pickup or same day delivery.

Connecting a switch to a quantum gateway

SOLVED
Reply
Contributor
Contributor
Posts: 1
Registered: ‎07-21-2018

Connecting a switch to a quantum gateway

Message 1 of 7
(4,834 Views)

I would like to know if the quantum gateway can be connected to an ethernet switch. I have run out of interfaces and I would like to connect the gateway to a 16 or 24 port switch. Please advise on if it can be done and how it can be done.

1 ACCEPTED SOLUTION

Accepted Solutions
Gold Contributor VII Gold Contributor VII
Gold Contributor VII
Posts: 1,931
Registered: ‎06-24-2018

Re: Connecting a switch to a quantum gateway

Message 3 of 7
(4,819 Views)

Sure. One of your lan ports on your router will go to any port on the switch all though I prefer to connect my lan port of my router to the last port of the switch for easy identification. Make sure you get an unmanaged switch and there will be no configuration required. Just plug and play. 

 

View solution in original post

6 REPLIES 6
Platinum Contributor I
Platinum Contributor I
Posts: 5,219
Registered: ‎10-18-2016

Re: Connecting a switch to a quantum gateway

Message 2 of 7
(4,821 Views)

@TMURQUHART wrote:

I would like to know if the quantum gateway can be connected to an ethernet switch. I have run out of interfaces and I would like to connect the gateway to a 16 or 24 port switch. Please advise on if it can be done and how it can be done.


I am a mite puzzled. If you have no working internet what good would a switch do?

you must have a router to obtain DNS so it would be ONT-Quantum Router WAN-switch ( in one of the available LAN ports on the router.

 

i have not seen a switch that connected directly to the ONT or internet but I am a little out of the mix. 😀

Gold Contributor VII Gold Contributor VII
Gold Contributor VII
Posts: 1,931
Registered: ‎06-24-2018

Re: Connecting a switch to a quantum gateway

Message 3 of 7
(4,820 Views)

Sure. One of your lan ports on your router will go to any port on the switch all though I prefer to connect my lan port of my router to the last port of the switch for easy identification. Make sure you get an unmanaged switch and there will be no configuration required. Just plug and play. 

 

View solution in original post

Gold Contributor VII Gold Contributor VII
Gold Contributor VII
Posts: 1,931
Registered: ‎06-24-2018

Re: Connecting a switch to a quantum gateway

Message 4 of 7
(4,798 Views)

One other note make sure the switch you get also has gig ports because there are 10/100 switches that will bottleneck anything that is plugged into them. 

Platinum Contributor I
Platinum Contributor I
Posts: 5,219
Registered: ‎10-18-2016

Re: Connecting a switch to a quantum gateway

Message 5 of 7
(4,742 Views)

@Edg1 wrote:

Sure. One of your lan ports on your router will go to any port on the switch all though I prefer to connect my lan port of my router to the last port of the switch for easy identification. Make sure you get an unmanaged switch and there will be no configuration required. Just plug and play. 

 


That was a good suggestion. I place my switch on lan 1 (mine are marked)

 

Gold Contributor VII Gold Contributor VII
Gold Contributor VII
Posts: 1,931
Registered: ‎06-24-2018

Re: Connecting a switch to a quantum gateway

Message 6 of 7
(4,729 Views)

Thanks. Labeling is always a good practice. Can save a lot of time when troubleshooting. 

Moderator Moderator
Moderator
Posts: 10,436
Registered: ‎03-18-2013

Re: Connecting a switch to a quantum gateway

Message 7 of 7
(212 Views)

As this thread is now over two years old, it will be locked in order to keep discussions current. If you have the same or a similar question/issue we invite you to start a new thread on the topic.

How-To Videos
 
The following videos were produced by users like you!
   
Videos are subject to the Verizon Fios Community Terms of Service and User Guidelines and contains content that is not created by Verizon.
Covid19


Browse Categories
Categories:
Posts

Verizon Troubleshooters
Unable to find your answer here? Try searching Verizon Troubleshooters for more options.