×

Switch Account

Connecting a switch to a quantum gateway

Reply
Contributor
Contributor
Posts: 1
Registered: ‎07-21-2018

Connecting a switch to a quantum gateway

Message 1 of 6
(3,699 Views)

I would like to know if the quantum gateway can be connected to an ethernet switch. I have run out of interfaces and I would like to connect the gateway to a 16 or 24 port switch. Please advise on if it can be done and how it can be done.

5 REPLIES 5
Highlighted
Gold Contributor VII
Gold Contributor VII
Posts: 4,991
Registered: ‎10-18-2016

Re: Connecting a switch to a quantum gateway

Message 2 of 6
(3,686 Views)

@TMURQUHART wrote:

I would like to know if the quantum gateway can be connected to an ethernet switch. I have run out of interfaces and I would like to connect the gateway to a 16 or 24 port switch. Please advise on if it can be done and how it can be done.


I am a mite puzzled. If you have no working internet what good would a switch do?

you must have a router to obtain DNS so it would be ONT-Quantum Router WAN-switch ( in one of the available LAN ports on the router.

 

i have not seen a switch that connected directly to the ONT or internet but I am a little out of the mix. 😀

Highlighted
Gold Contributor VII Gold Contributor VII
Gold Contributor VII
Posts: 1,842
Registered: ‎06-24-2018

Re: Connecting a switch to a quantum gateway

Message 3 of 6
(3,684 Views)

Sure. One of your lan ports on your router will go to any port on the switch all though I prefer to connect my lan port of my router to the last port of the switch for easy identification. Make sure you get an unmanaged switch and there will be no configuration required. Just plug and play. 

 

Highlighted
Gold Contributor VII Gold Contributor VII
Gold Contributor VII
Posts: 1,842
Registered: ‎06-24-2018

Re: Connecting a switch to a quantum gateway

Message 4 of 6
(3,663 Views)

One other note make sure the switch you get also has gig ports because there are 10/100 switches that will bottleneck anything that is plugged into them. 

Highlighted
Gold Contributor VII
Gold Contributor VII
Posts: 4,991
Registered: ‎10-18-2016

Re: Connecting a switch to a quantum gateway

Message 5 of 6
(3,607 Views)

@Edg1 wrote:

Sure. One of your lan ports on your router will go to any port on the switch all though I prefer to connect my lan port of my router to the last port of the switch for easy identification. Make sure you get an unmanaged switch and there will be no configuration required. Just plug and play. 

 


That was a good suggestion. I place my switch on lan 1 (mine are marked)

 

Highlighted
Gold Contributor VII Gold Contributor VII
Gold Contributor VII
Posts: 1,842
Registered: ‎06-24-2018

Re: Connecting a switch to a quantum gateway

Message 6 of 6
(3,594 Views)

Thanks. Labeling is always a good practice. Can save a lot of time when troubleshooting. 

How-To Videos
 
The following videos were produced by users like you!
   
Videos are subject to the Verizon Fios Community Terms of Service and User Guidelines and contains content that is not created by Verizon.
Covid19


Browse Categories
Categories:
Posts

Verizon Troubleshooters
Unable to find your answer here? Try searching Verizon Troubleshooters for more options.