×

Switch Account

Connecting my own Router with Verizon FIOS

SOLVED
Reply
Highlighted
Contributor
Contributor
Posts: 2
Registered: ‎05-26-2018

Connecting my own Router with Verizon FIOS

Message 1 of 7
(17,027 Views)

Hi,

I am new to the Verizon FIOS and trying to use my own Router. The pin thread "Using your own router with VERIZON FIOS" is very helpful, but my situation is a little different: I don't have the Verizon Router to start with.

I am renting an apartment, and when I moved into, the Verizon ONT was already set up (possibly by former renter). There are Coax and Ethernet cables out from the ONT. When I connect the Ethernet cable directly to my Laptop, it works perfectly. However, when I connect the cable to my own router and wirelessly connect my laptop to the router, there is no Internet. My router is NETGEAR WNDR4300 (a very old version,  but planning to change it if I can use my own router).

I am not sure what happens here. Any help would be very appreciated.

1 ACCEPTED SOLUTION

Accepted Solutions
Highlighted
Platinum Contributor III Platinum Contributor III
Platinum Contributor III
Posts: 7,495
Registered: ‎12-15-2010

Re: Connecting my own Router with Verizon FIOS

Message 2 of 7
(17,033 Views)

Before disconnecting the laptop from the ONT, be sure to do a "DHCP Release" on the IP. Otherwise you'll have to wait a few hours before connecting your router to the ONT.

 

On Windows, the command to DHCP release is "ipconfig /release" in either PowerShell or Command Prompt.

 

Assuming the above has been done, the Netgear router should just be able to get an IP via DHCP at that point.

View solution in original post

6 REPLIES 6
Highlighted
Platinum Contributor III Platinum Contributor III
Platinum Contributor III
Posts: 7,495
Registered: ‎12-15-2010

Re: Connecting my own Router with Verizon FIOS

Message 2 of 7
(17,034 Views)

Before disconnecting the laptop from the ONT, be sure to do a "DHCP Release" on the IP. Otherwise you'll have to wait a few hours before connecting your router to the ONT.

 

On Windows, the command to DHCP release is "ipconfig /release" in either PowerShell or Command Prompt.

 

Assuming the above has been done, the Netgear router should just be able to get an IP via DHCP at that point.

View solution in original post

Highlighted
Contributor
Contributor
Posts: 2
Registered: ‎05-26-2018

Re: Connecting my own Router with Verizon FIOS

Message 3 of 7
(16,983 Views)

It works perfectly. That is awesome. Thank you! I have wasted 5+ hours trying to talk to representatives. Really appreaciate it.

Highlighted
Platinum Contributor III Platinum Contributor III
Platinum Contributor III
Posts: 7,495
Registered: ‎12-15-2010

Re: Connecting my own Router with Verizon FIOS

Message 4 of 7
(16,971 Views)

Glad to help!

Highlighted
Contributor
Contributor
Posts: 1
Registered: ‎10-27-2018

Re: Connecting my own Router with Verizon FIOS

Message 5 of 7
(13,140 Views)

That was easy, and it worked like a charm.  Thanks!

Highlighted
Contributor
Contributor
Posts: 1
Registered: ‎07-03-2019

Re: Connecting my own Router with Verizon FIOS

Message 6 of 7
(7,013 Views)

I'm having same issue. No coax cable connected prior though. I did a dchp release from my laptop. I have a Netgear N600 modem/router I'm trying to use in place of Verizon's router. The Ethernet is plugged directly into the ONT and that is plugged into the router. It's saying I'm connected with no internet. I'm utterly lost trying to solve this!

Highlighted
Platinum Contributor III Platinum Contributor III
Platinum Contributor III
Posts: 7,495
Registered: ‎12-15-2010

Re: Connecting my own Router with Verizon FIOS

Message 7 of 7
(6,931 Views)

If you can get to your Netgear router's web interface, see if it has an IP address. If the Netgear isn't getting an IP when set to DHCP or "Auto Config" mode, make sure you've performed a DHCP Release from the device that was previously connected to the Internet and supplying Internet to you.

 

If that fails, you have two other options you can try. The first is to leave your router connected but unplugged from power for at least two hours. This gives your IP Lease time to expire. Or, you can call Verizon and let them know that you're swapping the router, and you would like then to break the DHCP lease.

How-To Videos
 
The following videos were produced by users like you!
   
Videos are subject to the Verizon Fios Community Terms of Service and User Guidelines and contains content that is not created by Verizon.
Covid19


Browse Categories
Categories:
Posts

Verizon Troubleshooters
Unable to find your answer here? Try searching Verizon Troubleshooters for more options.