×

Switch Account

Connecting the WCB6200Q Extender

SOLVED
Reply
Highlighted
Contributor
Contributor
Posts: 2
Registered: ‎08-29-2019

Connecting the WCB6200Q Extender

Message 1 of 9
(2,696 Views)

I am a Fios subscriber with internet service only. There's a dead area on the second floor of the opposite side of my house and I'm looking at getting the WCB6200Q Extender.

 

My current setup is the ONT is connected to my G1100 Router via an ethernet connection only. The router is inside in a room with no other ethernet or coax connection points (it's connected to the ONT with a direct cable through the exterior wall). The ONT is outside and there happens to be an unused exterior coax cable that runs from beside the ONT all the way to the room I'd like to put the extender in. 

 

If I have internet only, is the coax terminal on the ONT and Router active? If so, can I connect the Extender directly to the ONT?

 

Thank you

1 ACCEPTED SOLUTION

Accepted Solutions
Highlighted
Gold Contributor VII Gold Contributor VII
Gold Contributor VII
Posts: 1,861
Registered: ‎06-24-2018

Re: Connecting the WCB6200Q Extender

Message 2 of 9
(2,689 Views)

There is no need to connect to the ONT. Just run a coax from the G1100’s coax port to the coax next to the ONT. Then connect the two end with a F-connector. You can get them at Home Depot, Best Buy or order one online. 


751A9523-B989-49C0-B30B-A3E8B63B7CC5.jpeg

View solution in original post

8 REPLIES 8
Highlighted
Gold Contributor VII Gold Contributor VII
Gold Contributor VII
Posts: 1,861
Registered: ‎06-24-2018

Re: Connecting the WCB6200Q Extender

Message 2 of 9
(2,690 Views)

There is no need to connect to the ONT. Just run a coax from the G1100’s coax port to the coax next to the ONT. Then connect the two end with a F-connector. You can get them at Home Depot, Best Buy or order one online. 


751A9523-B989-49C0-B30B-A3E8B63B7CC5.jpeg

View solution in original post

Highlighted
Gold Contributor VII Gold Contributor VII
Gold Contributor VII
Posts: 2,000
Registered: ‎05-27-2010

Re: Connecting the WCB6200Q Extender

Message 3 of 9
(2,632 Views)

Simple answer ... no.

 

The WCB6200Q has to pair with the LAN side of the router.  There must be a path via coax between the router and the extender.  As you indicate that there is no coax in the room with your router, this won't work for you.   To use this, you need to pull the house cable plant into the room with the router (or have a direct coax run between the router and the extender).

 

Suggestion, consider a Wi-Fi powerline adapter.   Wired end goes in the room with router and connects to one of the available LAN ports, other end goes in your area with the dead spot and is configured to be on the same SSID (with same password) as your Vz router.

 

There are different types and models, so make sure you get one of the newer (and must faster/thruput) models.   Note that the two rooms need to be fed by circuits on the phase of your power panel (or on the same circuit breaker) -- so if at first the adapters can't see one another, try placing one of them in a room on a different circuit.

 

You could also consider using the new "mesh" network access points (like Orbi) instead of the G1100 wireless but this is quite a bit more expensive.

 

Highlighted
Gold Contributor V Gold Contributor V
Gold Contributor V
Posts: 1,412
Registered: ‎05-16-2009

Re: Connecting the WCB6200Q Extender

Message 4 of 9
(2,562 Views)

Hi deuce2230:

Found this for you

WCB6200Q       EXTENDER

https://www.actiontec.com/wp-content/uploads/2017/02/WCB6200Q_UserManual.pdf

Pages 7 – 9


If you are the original poster (OP) and your issue is solved, please remember to let all of us know and click the "Accept as Solution" button on all those who helped you. please show your appreciation by clicking the "Kudos" button.

Tom
QIP 7100 1,YAMAHA ATS 1080,QIP 7216 P2, iPad 2 WiFi,iPhone SE
Highlighted
Contributor
Contributor
Posts: 2
Registered: ‎08-29-2019

Re: Connecting the WCB6200Q Extender

Message 5 of 9
(2,445 Views)

Thanks everyone. Problem is solved. I ran another cable that I could connect like first poster suggested. I was just curious if I could avoid that step by connecting directly to the ONT as it would have been easier than getting a cable outside.

 

Thanks again!

Highlighted
Copper Contributor
Copper Contributor
Posts: 11
Registered: ‎05-01-2019

Re: Connecting the WCB6200Q Extender

Message 6 of 9
(2,428 Views)

Another solution would have been to get a wifi repeater and just put it somewhere in between the router and the room in question. Running the cable though is the best way as your connection won't have to go through wifi which is slower.

Highlighted
Contributor
Contributor
Posts: 4
Registered: ‎04-28-2020

Re: Connecting the WCB6200Q Extender

Message 7 of 9
(1,051 Views)

Can anyone answer if this is still possible? This may be my only option!

Highlighted
Contributor
Contributor
Posts: 4
Registered: ‎04-28-2020

Re: Connecting the WCB6200Q Extender

Message 8 of 9
(1,049 Views)

Is this possible??

Highlighted
Moderator Moderator
Moderator
Posts: 1,934
Registered: ‎07-06-2016

Re: Connecting the WCB6200Q Extender

Message 9 of 9
(1,043 Views)

In order to keep discussion on the community current, this topic has been locked to prevent new replies. If you have a similar question or issue that you wish to discuss, then please feel free to post a new message on the most relevant board. Thanks!

How-To Videos
 
The following videos were produced by users like you!
   
Videos are subject to the Verizon Fios Community Terms of Service and User Guidelines and contains content that is not created by Verizon.
Covid19


Browse Categories
Categories:
Posts

Verizon Troubleshooters
Unable to find your answer here? Try searching Verizon Troubleshooters for more options.