Accessibility Resource Center Skip to main content
Get gifts fast with In-Store & Curbside Pickup or same-day delivery.

Connectivity issues

Reply
Highlighted
Contributor
Contributor
Posts: 3
Registered: ‎08-10-2010

Connectivity issues

Message 1 of 8
(4,210 Views)

Up until 2 week ago my FIOS has worked flawlessly.   Now I lose internet randomly every few hours and have to do a power  cycle on the modem to get it back.  Anyone else having this issue, or have a solution?

 

Thanks

7 REPLIES 7
Highlighted
Platinum Contributor III Platinum Contributor III
Platinum Contributor III
Posts: 6,023
Registered: ‎09-24-2008

Re: Connectivity issues

Message 2 of 8
(4,172 Views)

#1 What is the model and Version of that Westell router?

 

For example, ActionTec MI-424-MI, Rev C.

 

#2 Is wireless in the router, turned on?

 

#3 If so, what level is the wireless security set to ( WEP / WPA ) ?

If you are the original poster (OP) and your issue is solved, please remember to click the "Solution?" button so that others can more easily find it. If anyone has been helpful to you, please show your appreciation by clicking the "Kudos" button.


 

Highlighted
Contributor
Contributor
Posts: 3
Registered: ‎08-10-2010

Re: Connectivity issues

Message 3 of 8
(4,109 Views)

#1 What is the model and Version of that Westell router?

Westell 9100EM,  HW Rev A.   A90-9100EM15-10

 

 

#2 Is wireless in the router, turned on?

Yes the wireless is on

 

#3 If so, what level is the wireless security set to ( WEP / WPA ) ?

Using WPA/WPA2


 

Woke up this morning and had to cycle the modem to get internet, but it's been on for a couple of hours and seems to be ok for now.

 

 

Thanks for you assistance.

Highlighted
Platinum Contributor III Platinum Contributor III
Platinum Contributor III
Posts: 6,023
Registered: ‎09-24-2008

Re: Connectivity issues

Message 4 of 8
(4,092 Views)

Hmm..

 

NAT Table issue, maybe?

 

Points to http://www.dslreports.com/faq/16233

 

 

If you are the original poster (OP) and your issue is solved, please remember to click the "Solution?" button so that others can more easily find it. If anyone has been helpful to you, please show your appreciation by clicking the "Kudos" button.


 

Highlighted
Gold Contributor VII Gold Contributor VII
Gold Contributor VII
Posts: 2,153
Registered: ‎11-10-2009

Re: Connectivity issues

Message 5 of 8
(4,045 Views)

@Axcid wrote:

Up until 2 week ago my FIOS has worked flawlessly.   Now I lose internet randomly every few hours and have to do a power  cycle on the modem to get it back.  Anyone else having this issue, or have a solution?

 

Thanks


When it's in this state can you connect to the admin menu of the router.  If so any entries in the system log that are unusual.  What status does the router show itself to be in?

Highlighted
Platinum Contributor III
Platinum Contributor III
Posts: 6,820
Registered: ‎08-23-2008

Re: Connectivity issues

Message 6 of 8
(4,025 Views)

I am in sort of agreement with dslr. But it could be malware that is making multiple connections, and cause the router to lock up. Have you installed and games or peer to peer software?

 

Is your antivirus up to date?

 

Have you scanned for malware? A good free version I use.

http://malwarebytes.org/

 

All else fails, contact tech support and get the router replaced.

Highlighted
Contributor
Contributor
Posts: 3
Registered: ‎08-10-2010

Re: Connectivity issues

Message 7 of 8
(3,912 Views)

Just now I had to do a reboot of the modem, it was working fine all day till now.

 

When it's down I can't access the modems main page, same with my laptop thru wifi.

 

That's the AV software I've been using Malwarebyte Anti-Malware, just did another scan and nothing malicious in my system.

 

No peer to peer software or online games recently installed.

 

Thanks everyone for the help/tips,  Gonna give Tech Support a call in the AM.

 

 

Highlighted
Gold Contributor V
Gold Contributor V
Posts: 1,692
Registered: ‎05-17-2009

Re: Connectivity issues

Message 8 of 8
(3,881 Views)

Actually Malwarebytes is an anti-malware program. NOT an Anti-Virus program. This is very important as the anti-malware program Malwarebytes will not protect you against virus's. Do you have an anti-virus program?




====================================================================================

Error exists between keyboard and chair.
How-To Videos
 
The following videos were produced by users like you!
   
Videos are subject to the Verizon Fios Community Terms of Service and User Guidelines and contains content that is not created by Verizon.
Covid19


Browse Categories
Categories:
Posts

Verizon Troubleshooters
Unable to find your answer here? Try searching Verizon Troubleshooters for more options.