Conversion to Actiontec MI424-WR Rev. E Stopped Network Printer Functionality -- Need Settings Help

SOLVED
Reply
Highlighted
Contributor
Contributor
Posts: 2
Registered: ‎12-02-2009

Conversion to Actiontec MI424-WR Rev. E Stopped Network Printer Functionality -- Need Settings Help

Message 1 of 4
(5,725 Views)
One Windows 2000 PC and three XP SP2 PCs are CAT5 hard-wired to Actiontec MI424-WR router through a switch; one Vista Home Laptop is wirelessly connected to the router. HP Laserjet 1022 and HP Officejet 7310 are connected to router through the switch. (I also tried a straight CAT5 connection from the 7310 to the router). All 5 PCs report spooler connection failure errors to 7310; only the Windows 2000 PC can print to 1022; all others report spooler connection errors to 1022. I'm using static IPs for all PCs except laptop and static IPs on printers. All PCs/laptop printed to both printers on former Linksys WRT54G router with switch plugged into it; same arrangement of switch plugged into MI424-WR has 90% failure. Since the router substitution is the only network change, please advise what I should do with router settings to enable printing from all PCs/laptop to both printers. Thank you.
1 ACCEPTED SOLUTION

Accepted Solutions
Highlighted
Nickel Contributor
Nickel Contributor
Posts: 28
Registered: ‎08-03-2009

Re: Conversion to Actiontec MI424-WR Rev. E Stopped Network Printer Functionality -- Need Settings H

Message 2 of 4
(5,695 Views)

Have you tried uninstalling and then reinstalling either printer on any of the PCs?  Try this with the 7310 and one of the PCs, allowing the installer to discover the printer.  This may solve your problem.

View solution in original post

3 REPLIES 3
Highlighted
Nickel Contributor
Nickel Contributor
Posts: 28
Registered: ‎08-03-2009

Re: Conversion to Actiontec MI424-WR Rev. E Stopped Network Printer Functionality -- Need Settings H

Message 2 of 4
(5,696 Views)

Have you tried uninstalling and then reinstalling either printer on any of the PCs?  Try this with the 7310 and one of the PCs, allowing the installer to discover the printer.  This may solve your problem.

View solution in original post

Highlighted
Silver Contributor III
Silver Contributor III
Posts: 412
Registered: ‎05-01-2009

Re: Conversion to Actiontec MI424-WR Rev. E Stopped Network Printer Functionality -- Need Settings H

Message 3 of 4
(5,604 Views)

How is the switch connected to the Actiontec ?

 

What is the internal IP Adderss for the printers and what address does the wireless  laptop obtain ?

 

 

 

 

If you are the original poster (OP) and your issue is solved, please remember to click the "Solution?" button so that others can more easily find it.
If anyone has been helpful to you, please show your appreciation by clicking the "Kudos" button.
Highlighted
Contributor
Contributor
Posts: 2
Registered: ‎12-02-2009

Re: Conversion to Actiontec MI424-WR Rev. E Stopped Network Printer Functionality -- Need Settings H

Message 4 of 4
(5,594 Views)

Slotech's Solution: 

 

I reinstalled all of the printers, deleting the printers at the PCs and uninstalling the printer client software and now all work -- it was a major job since the 7310 all-in-one takes about an hour to install.  (The latest driver and software packages also had to be downloaded from HP for each printer and each O/S.)

 

I recommend to anyone facing a similar problem to use static IPs on the internal networks since at least for the W2K machine the Actiontec drops DHCP and does not automatically reassign an IP, and the it also seems to drop the printers without automatic reassignment.

 

Thanks to the commenters for the help.

How-To Videos
 
The following videos were produced by users like you!
   
Videos are subject to the Verizon Fios Community Terms of Service and User Guidelines and contains content that is not created by Verizon.
Covid19


Browse Categories
Categories:
Posts

Verizon Troubleshooters
Unable to find your answer here? Try searching Verizon Troubleshooters for more options.