Convert ethernet to coax
cc112
Enthusiast - Level 2

Hi all, I'm a newbie here and have a question - tried to search through existing threads but couldn't figure it out, please bear with me.

I'm upgrading from 100mbps internet only plan to 300mbps. Current set up is ONT > COAX > MI424WR (wireless turned off) > Orbi rbr50 mesh system.

My understanding from other thread is that Verizon will have anything above 100mbps go through COAX? They will replace it with ethernet? However I don't run ethernet cable all over the place. Trying to leverage the existing COAX cable and existing set up as much as possible. 

I was wondering if new set up can be ONT > ethernet cable > MOAC adapter > COAX > MI424WR (wireless turned off) > Orbi rbr50 mesh system?

I saw people mentioning following adapter but it seems the installation instruction starts with COAX in, and convert it to ethernet, not the reverse order that I wanted. Do you know if it can work the reverse ways? from Ethernet > COAX and then at other side of the house i can connect MI424WR and then Orbi?

https://www.amazon.com/gp/product/B013J7O3X0/ref=as_li_tl?ie=UTF8&camp=1789&creative=9325&creativeAS...

OR should I use 2 MOAC adapter and do following, woutd this work better? ONT > ethernet cable > MOAC adapter > COAX > MOAC adapter > Orbi rbr50 mesh system

Thank you very much and happy holidays.

0 Likes
1 Solution

Correct answers
Re: Convert ethernet to coax
Cang_Household
Community Leader
Community Leader

imageInternet via Coax

I just went digging a bit in a video made by another community leader and found this nice diagram. The above diagram likely depicts the setup you currently have, minus the TV service if you did not order such, and minus the phone service if you did not order either.

imageInternet via Ethernet

The above diagram shows if you were to order Internet with speeds higher than 100Mbps, you would need an Ethernet cable between the ONT and the router.

View solution in original post

dexman