×

Switch Account

DLNA Not working on MI424WR (Rev. I)/IOS 4.19.36 Petition

DLNA Not working on MI424WR (Rev. I)/IOS 4.19.36 Petition

SOLVED
Reply
Gold Contributor VII Gold Contributor VII
Gold Contributor VII
Posts: 1,759
Registered: ‎05-22-2010
Message 21 of 31
(3,629 Views)

Not sure it works but BIGDADDY on DSL REPORTS has posted a jump that seems to get you to the IGMP proxy page. Previously others had success when they turned off IGMP proxy.

 

http://192.168.1.1/index.cgi?active_page=6059

Highlighted
Copper Contributor java_man
Copper Contributor
Posts: 11
Registered: ‎12-01-2012
Message 22 of 31
(3,619 Views)

Now that's what I call a perfect Christmas present 🙂 !!! Used the jump. Set IGMP proxy to Disabled. Confirmed: DLNA Servers are visible on both networks: wired & wireless!!!

 

Way to go!

 

THANK YOU

Highlighted
Contributor Ysman
Contributor
Posts: 3
Registered: ‎12-02-2012
Message 23 of 31
(3,611 Views)

Thanks TNS and BigDaddy for that jump.  Disabling the IGMP Proxy worked for  me.  Just in time for the holidays too!  Merry Christmas!

Highlighted
Gold Contributor V Gold Contributor V
Gold Contributor V
Posts: 1,434
Registered: ‎12-02-2012
Message 24 of 31
(3,603 Views)

Amazing...  And Verizon wonders why people don't want to use their router.

 

Anyway, I used this link and verified that IGMP proxy was turned off for me.  This confirms that if it was turned off before the 40.19.36 firmware was pushed, it stays off.  I had turned it off with the older firmware to fix iTunes home sharing, and it was still working after the firmware push.  Now, I am certain that the setting wasn't changed by the push.

 

Does anyone know how to stop Verizon from pushing firmware updates?

 

Does anyone know how to reload 4.19.22?

-----
If a forum member gives an answer you like, give them the Kudos they deserve. If a member gives you the answer to your question, mark the answer as Accepted Solution so others can see the solution to the problem.
Highlighted
Copper Contributor java_man
Copper Contributor
Posts: 11
Registered: ‎12-01-2012
Message 25 of 31
(3,580 Views)

You can save the firmware file on your computer and perform firmare downgrade using router's web UI.

 

BUT

 

As soon as the router is connected to the internet it will check for the latest version (the one you have now) and will install it back.

 

AND

 

There's nothing you can do about it right now.

 

HOWEVER

 

Now that I have my DLNA streaming back I don't see the need to downgrade anymore...

 

Merry Christmas!

Highlighted
Copper Contributor flaredust
Copper Contributor
Posts: 7
Registered: ‎12-20-2012
Message 26 of 31
(3,570 Views)

Wow thanks, it worked. The weblink gets me directly to the IGMP proxy page. Apparently the page still exist in the router setup, there just isn't a link directly to it. Bigdaddy definitely deserves mucho credit for finding this.

 

This was such a easy fix, I'm still wondering if Verizon is really taking this issue seriously.

Highlighted
Copper Contributor Columbiaman
Copper Contributor
Posts: 16
Registered: ‎12-02-2011
Message 27 of 31
(3,561 Views)

Wow amazing, this works!

 

Makes me wonder what else is hidden.

Highlighted
Contributor DB10
Contributor
Posts: 3
Registered: ‎12-27-2012
Message 28 of 31
(3,310 Views)

This is just one more reason to leave Verizon. I just spent 6 hours researching DLNA and networking to fix something that should just work. I should have figured this was another problem created by Verizon.

 

I'm getting tired of complaining, apps don't work, router is outdated, Verizon forces updates that limit services... Can't wait to switch back, I had none of these problems with Xfinity. You get what you pay for.

 

 

Highlighted
Platinum Contributor III Platinum Contributor III
Platinum Contributor III
Posts: 7,391
Registered: ‎12-15-2010
Message 29 of 31
(3,301 Views)

@DB10 wrote:

This is just one more reason to leave Verizon. I just spent 6 hours researching DLNA and networking to fix something that should just work. I should have figured this was another problem created by Verizon.

 

I'm getting tired of complaining, apps don't work, router is outdated, Verizon forces updates that limit services... Can't wait to switch back, I had none of these problems with Xfinity. You get what you pay for.

 

 


Why not swap out the Verizon router for your own? That tends to solve 99.9% of the FiOS issues people have around here. After all, the only thing Verizon NEEDS to supply you with is the connection coming in. The router's a bonus. The same goes for any other provider, and all business circuits (though sometimes you get a Cisco/Juniper router thrown in as a part of the service).

 

Of course, for network nerds, remember the RFCs. It could be possible the Verizon firmware actually follows RFCs to the code. Who knows. I don't think many have taken a full blown dive into that subject.

Highlighted
Platinum Contributor III
Platinum Contributor III
Posts: 5,881
Registered: ‎07-22-2009
Message 30 of 31
(3,207 Views)

that's the igmp link, I wonder what the UpNP link is for those that want to disable it. 

 

It's enabled by default now, but some users want it disabled.  

How-To Videos
 
The following videos were produced by users like you!
   
Videos are subject to the Verizon Fios Community Terms of Service and User Guidelines and contains content that is not created by Verizon.


Browse Categories
Categories:
Posts

Verizon Troubleshooters
Unable to find your answer here? Try searching Verizon Troubleshooters for more options.