×

Switch Account

Disabling router at night

Disabling router at night

Reply
Contributor racebannon
Contributor
Posts: 2
Registered: ‎02-28-2013
Message 1 of 8
(7,423 Views)

Is there an easier way to disable internet access at night than unplugging my router and hauling it into the bedroom with me? With the proliferation of Apple devices with internet capability and the amount of energy my sons are willing to expend to obtain access to said devices, I can't be sure they're not online at 1am unless I shut the whole system down.

7 REPLIES 7
Highlighted
Silver Contributor IV
Silver Contributor IV
Posts: 1,122
Registered: ‎12-04-2009
Message 2 of 8
(7,371 Views)

You can set time based firewall rules in the router to only allow access during certain times.

 

Click the Firewall icon  at the top.

Select Access Control from the left menu

Click ADD

Select a device from the list or leave as ANY to apply to all devices.

Leave protocol as ANY.

When should this rule occur.  Select Specify Schedule. Click ADD.

The Set Rule Schedule screen appears.

Give the rule a meaningful name.

Leave Rule will be active at specified time selected.

Click Add Rule Schedule

Select the days of the week you want the rule to be active.

Click New Hours Range Entry.

Enter the start and end time for the rule

Click APPLY

Click APPLY on Edit Rule Schedule

Click APPLY on Set Rule Schedule

 

 

 

 

Platinum Contributor I Platinum Contributor I
Platinum Contributor I
Posts: 5,175
Registered: ‎08-05-2008
Message 3 of 8
(7,358 Views)

@Anti-Phish wrote:

You can set time based firewall rules in the router to only allow access during certain times.

 

Click the Firewall icon  at the top.

Select Access Control from the left menu

Click ADD

Select a device from the list or leave as ANY to apply to all devices.

Leave protocol as ANY.

When should this rule occur.  Select Specify Schedule. Click ADD.

The Set Rule Schedule screen appears.

Give the rule a meaningful name.

Leave Rule will be active at specified time selected.

Click Add Rule Schedule

Select the days of the week you want the rule to be active.

Click New Hours Range Entry.

Enter the start and end time for the rule

Click APPLY

Click APPLY on Edit Rule Schedule

Click APPLY on Set Rule Schedule

 


But of course if they have physical access to the router all they need to do is reset it to factory defaults and wait for it to connect. Then they can get on by using the default login name and password, which with the newest routers is printed right on the label.

 

IMO the only real solution is to put the router permanently in a room behind a locked door that they do not have the key or password to. Pretty much anything else, including using some kind of network software or software installed on their computers, if they are that dedicated and smart, they will find a way around (and they might find one even with the router locked away, for example disconnect the network connection  at the splitter or ONT and substitute their own router and connect to that).

 

__________________________________
Justin
FiOS TV, 25/25 Internet, and Digital Voice user
QIP7232, QIP7100-P2, IMG 1.9.1
Keller, TX 76248

Platinum Contributor I
Platinum Contributor I
Posts: 6,819
Registered: ‎08-23-2008
Message 4 of 8
(7,351 Views)

They arrest you for using a belt now days!

Silver Contributor V
Silver Contributor V
Posts: 1,416
Registered: ‎04-10-2012
Message 5 of 8
(7,336 Views)

@Justin wrote:

... the only real solution is to put the router permanently in a room behind a locked door ...


 

Justin, would it not be cheaper to just lock the kids in their room overnight (smile)?

 

Bronze Contributor II
Bronze Contributor II
Posts: 218
Registered: ‎07-28-2011
Message 6 of 8
(7,308 Views)

If they have Iphones and Ipads, they already have access via the cellular network.

 

Platinum Contributor I
Platinum Contributor I
Posts: 5,881
Registered: ‎07-22-2009
Message 7 of 8
(7,302 Views)

what about a programmable timed AC outlet?

 

 

Platinum Contributor I
Platinum Contributor I
Posts: 6,819
Registered: ‎08-23-2008
Message 8 of 8
(7,278 Views)

@Hubrisnxs wrote:

what about a programmable timed AC outlet?

 

 


That would help two things perhaps, but create other issues if the Verizon servers and CID can find the DVRs. By morning you would probably have a new IP address. Lighting timer would work great, but if your STBs are not accessable in the "safe ime" they would not get updates.

How-To Videos
 
The following videos were produced by users like you!
   
Videos are subject to the Verizon Fios Community Terms of Service and User Guidelines and contains content that is not created by Verizon.



Verizon Troubleshooters
Unable to find your answer here? Try searching Verizon Troubleshooters for more options.