Accessibility Resource Center Skip to main content
Have a phone you love? Get up to $500 when you bring your phone.

Do I need FiOS Modem + Router?

Reply
JackDawson
Contributor
Contributor
Posts: 3
Registered: ‎10-27-2014

Do I need FiOS Modem + Router?

Message 1 of 8
(128,307 Views)

Community,

 

I just ordered FiOS internet for my apt building in New York.  Internet only.  Do I need to buy the $100 router they advised or can I use my existing modem + router?  Thanks!

7 REPLIES 7
gs0b
Gold Contributor VII Gold Contributor VII
Gold Contributor VII
Posts: 2,008
Registered: ‎12-02-2012

Re: Do I need FiOS Modem + Router?

Message 2 of 8
(128,168 Views)

FiOS does not use a modem.

 

If your existing modem is a "cable modem," it is useless with FiOS.

 

The typical FIOS install uses a coax connection between the ONT and the router (using something called MoCA, which is quite different than cable modem signals).  If you have a MoCA install, you need Verizon's MoCA capable router.  FiOS can be configured to provide an Ethernet connection from the ONT.  This makes it easy to use a non-Verizon router.

 

However, reports are that Verizon will not complete a FiOS install without one of their routers; regardless of if Ethernet or MoCA is used.

 

You can buy or rent a router from Verizon.  You should have covered this issue during the ordering process.  If you think you'll use your own router later, you may want to rent one of Verizon's for a month or two so you can have it present for the install.

 

You may find this FAQ helpful:

http://www.dslreports.com/faq/16077

 

Good Luck.

 

JackDawson
Contributor
Contributor
Posts: 3
Registered: ‎10-27-2014

Re: Do I need FiOS Modem + Router?

Message 3 of 8
(128,144 Views)

I am self installing it.  I have a standard cable modem so I guess that will be no use.

 

Do I need to buy a modem myself?  Maybe Im missing something here.  Customer support was of no help.  If I do need to buy a FIOS modem + router please let me know.  Thanks!

SinCara
Silver Contributor V
Silver Contributor V
Posts: 628
Registered: ‎06-06-2014

Re: Do I need FiOS Modem + Router?

Message 4 of 8
(128,129 Views)

@JackDawson wrote:

I am self installing it.  I have a standard cable modem so I guess that will be no use.

 

Do I need to buy a modem myself?  Maybe Im missing something here.  Customer support was of no help.  If I do need to buy a FIOS modem + router please let me know.  Thanks!


You don't need to buy any modem since fios doesn't use modems period.

You only need a fios router. Fios only uses 1 unit. You can either use the one that Verizon sends to you from ordering service as part of the self install kit and rent that one from them unless you opted out and chose to use your own or buy one to own it.

You can get a rev. i router (Adanced wifi router) here for $74.99 or you can find them on ebay usually for less.

 

https://teleproducts.verizon.com/fios/index.cfm/eh/DisplayProducts

 

There is a new Gateway dual band ac router that is starting to hit markets now, but aren't available everywhere yet so your self install kit will include the rev. i advanced wifi router.

 

Also since you are only getting internet and not fios tv you can use your own 3rd party router, but it does take some configuation to get it going which dslreports.com and the verizon forums is a good website to help with that.

 

Here's some good information.

 

http://www.dslreports.com/faq/verizonfios/3.0_Networking#14077

 

JackDawson
Contributor
Contributor
Posts: 3
Registered: ‎10-27-2014

Re: Do I need FiOS Modem + Router?

Message 5 of 8
(128,124 Views)

Thanks!

 

So I plan to buy one online.  Apologize for all the questions, to make 100% sure it is this one correct?

 

http://www.actiontec.com/41.html

 

Thanks!

SinCara
Silver Contributor V
Silver Contributor V
Posts: 628
Registered: ‎06-06-2014

Re: Do I need FiOS Modem + Router?

Message 6 of 8
(128,121 Views)

Yes thats it. The rev. i.

gs0b
Gold Contributor VII Gold Contributor VII
Gold Contributor VII
Posts: 2,008
Registered: ‎12-02-2012

Re: Do I need FiOS Modem + Router?

Message 7 of 8
(128,107 Views)

Here's a good place to order one:

 

https://teleproducts.verizon.com/fios/index.cfm/eh/ShowCart

 

Enjoy.

 

hlppls
Silver Contributor I
Silver Contributor I
Posts: 395
Registered: ‎11-09-2013

Re: Do I need FiOS Modem + Router?

Message 8 of 8
(128,081 Views)


You don't need to buy any modem since fios doesn't use modems period.

You only need a fios router. Fios only uses 1 unit. You can either use the one that Verizon sends to you from ordering service as part of the self install kit and rent that one from them unless you opted out and chose to use your own or buy one to own it.

 

You are incorrect. In some area's (mainly NY) apartment buildings do use a modem along with a router. MDU (multi-dwelling units)  use DSL to get internet to the aparment's over a phone line. Then ethernet from modem to wan port on router.

How-To Videos
 
The following videos were produced by users like you!
   
Videos are subject to the Verizon Fios Community Terms of Service and User Guidelines and contains content that is not created by Verizon.
Have a spare Fios-G1100?Learn how to bridge it into your network
Get Started


Covid19

Browse Categories
Categories:
Posts

Verizon Troubleshooters
Unable to find your answer here? Try searching Verizon Troubleshooters for more options.
Modal Dialogue Title