×

Switch Account

Do I really need the BBU?

Do I really need the BBU?

SOLVED
Reply
Contributor CuriousMind
Contributor
Posts: 6
Registered: ‎11-19-2016
Message 21 of 26
(2,952 Views)

Interesting idea of using UPS for backup power. What is the rating of your APC? Any other recommendations? I'd consider Tripplite too.

Gold Contributor VII
Gold Contributor VII
Posts: 4,600
Registered: ‎10-18-2016
Message 22 of 26
(2,943 Views)

@CuriousMind wrote:

Interesting idea of using UPS for backup power. What is the rating of your APC? Any other recommendations? I'd consider Tripplite too.


http://www.bestbuy.com/site/apc-back-ups-900va-battery-back-up-system-black/5554700.p?skuId=5554700

 

This looks like it in the link above. It states 5.9 hours guy at store said if just your router or ont plugged in around double that power level. I have used APC brands for years. I own 4 of the units but as I said the power has never exceeded the length of time to have my devices on.

 

i have another that keeps my desktops operational but mostly I use the wifi from our tablets. (We have cellular on our iPads just in case) 

 

Silver Contributor II Silver Contributor II
Silver Contributor II
Posts: 223
Registered: ‎06-30-2012
Message 23 of 26
(2,873 Views)

I am using an APC Back-UPS 700, which is way, way overkill for this application. I only have the ONT and a Motorola NIM-100 MoCA bridge plugged into it. Should run for hours. Newegg had a really good one-day sale on them making that model cheaper that the 350VA version (and with free shipping), so I figured why not?

[Be nice! We are mostly fellow Verizon customers.
My setup: 75/75 Mbps; Linux router (2x 1Gbps ports) + iptables; Linksys WRT1900ACS in Bridge Mode]
Contributor FairFACTS
Contributor
Posts: 1
Registered: ‎08-18-2017
Message 24 of 26
(2,390 Views)

I have spent far too much time trying to get an answer from Verizon (similar to others using this site). Additionally, the Tech agent sent me (and several others)to a Verizon store to buy a replacement battery for the BBU: store employee was surprised and ststate they have NEVER sold these batteries...OK so back to online and I decided to ask Verizon if I really need a plugged in BBU as I have whole house generator. I cannot tell if they don't know and just won't say that--if they want to maximize battery sales--are waiting for the eclipse. Does anyone know if the whole house generator serves the function of the BBU? Really appreciate!

Silver Contributor II Silver Contributor II
Silver Contributor II
Posts: 223
Registered: ‎06-30-2012
Message 25 of 26
(2,394 Views)

If you have a whole-house generator (and the power cord that goes to the [battery charging circuit and ONT] is part of what that generator covers), you absolutely, positively do not need any battery in the BBU. I have no battery in my BBU at all and haven't had one in a year or so. Instead, I plugged the ONT's BBU into a UPS. It's weathered several 10 second to 20 minute power outages with no loss of Internet. This is even better than the BBU approach is that only backs up the land line telephone service. It seems it backs up the internet and TV for a short while (on the order of 2-3 minutes). After that, only the telephone continues to work.

[Be nice! We are mostly fellow Verizon customers.
My setup: 75/75 Mbps; Linux router (2x 1Gbps ports) + iptables; Linksys WRT1900ACS in Bridge Mode]
Moderator Moderator
Moderator
Posts: 1,495
Registered: ‎07-06-2016
Message 26 of 26
(758 Views)

In order to keep discussion on the community current, this topic has been locked to prevent new replies. If you have a similar question or issue that you wish to discuss, then please feel free to post a new message on the most relevant board. Thanks!

How-To Videos
 
The following videos were produced by users like you!
   
Videos are subject to the Verizon Fios Community Terms of Service and User Guidelines and contains content that is not created by Verizon.



Verizon Troubleshooters
Unable to find your answer here? Try searching Verizon Troubleshooters for more options.