Accessibility Resource Center Skip to main content
Get it fast with In-Store & Curbside Pickup or same day delivery.

Does FIOS have IPv6 yet?

SOLVED
Reply
glnz2
Bronze Contributor II
Bronze Contributor II
Posts: 104
Registered: ‎12-28-2011

Does FIOS have IPv6 yet?

Message 1 of 23
(21,138 Views)

If not, when will we get it?

1 ACCEPTED SOLUTION

Accepted Solutions
MikeV
Contributor
Contributor
Posts: 1
Registered: ‎09-07-2020

Re: Does FIOS have IPv6 yet?

Message 22 of 23
(5,364 Views)

Verizon has been testing IPv6 for months in a few small areas. It's enabled at the Central Office level, so at least for the moment the deployments have been rather limited.

 

The areas that Verizon has been testing in for months now include (these were verified from a thread on DSLReports):

- Ashburn VA (no surprise, HQ's there)

- Waltham MA (VZ Tech Center there)

- A number of areas along I-95 in Virginia, including Midlothian/Richmond, Spotsylvania, and Dale City.

 

That said, I'm not in any of those areas (just west of Ashburn, but served by another CO) and I started seeing IPv6 router advertisements on my pfSense router last week. After some experimentation on Saturday, I was successful in getting native IPv6 service working.

 

So after months of no IPv6 expansion, it appears there may be further limited rollout of it going on.

 

If you run pfSense as your router, you might want to check out this thread on the pfSense forums. It has the settings I'm using, as well as a script that can be scheduled to run that will send notification when router advertisements are detected on your WAN interface.

https://forum.netgate.com/topic/155534/verizon-fios-and-ipv6-which-settings-work

View solution in original post

22 REPLIES 22
jonjones
Platinum Contributor II
Platinum Contributor II
Posts: 5,275
Registered: ‎10-18-2016

Re: Does FIOS have IPv6 yet?

Message 2 of 23
(21,078 Views)

@glnz2wrote:

If not, when will we get it?


No they do not on Fios. They do on Verizon wireless.

its been over 6+ years that Fios said they were thinking about it. However it has not happened yet. When it will happen? Who knows.

pasques
Contributor
Contributor
Posts: 3
Registered: ‎12-31-2016

Re: Does FIOS have IPv6 yet?

Message 3 of 23
(20,971 Views)

I think it's time for a revolt.

jonjones
Platinum Contributor II
Platinum Contributor II
Posts: 5,275
Registered: ‎10-18-2016

Re: Does FIOS have IPv6 yet?

Message 4 of 23
(20,965 Views)

@pasqueswrote:

I think it's time for a revolt.


Thank you for that. I needed a laugh.

your service and mine do not now, nor did Verizon say I was ever going to have it.

 

 

theochino
Contributor
Contributor
Posts: 2
Registered: ‎06-07-2018

Re: Does FIOS have IPv6 yet?

Message 5 of 23
(20,454 Views)

I agree that it is time for a revolt !

 

I live in the New York City area and I called the DOITT (who investigate any issue with the providers) and they sent me back to verizon support.

 

I am currently leading a revolt in the Democratic party of New York city running OutragedDems.NYC to replace the technically clueless politicians and then when I am done, with that I will get them to turn around against Verizon and force them into IPv6.

 

I got with a few cohorts to change the charter of New York City to get a Chief Privacy Officer and stuff like that so by the time I done in September, I will get back into Verizon behind to get them to put IPv6 on top of the list. I am tired to have to fiddle with my router just to see Netflix and HBOgo because of the HE bridge.

 

Revolt ! Revolt ! Revolt !

Like Stephen Colbert used to say, you are on Notice Verizon !

 

@TheoChinoGeek

jonjones
Platinum Contributor II
Platinum Contributor II
Posts: 5,275
Registered: ‎10-18-2016

Re: Does FIOS have IPv6 yet?

Message 6 of 23
(20,445 Views)

To much sugar in your breakfast cereal.

there is nothing in verizons service agreement that guarantees any technology updates. IPv6 being the assigned ip addresses scheme. But nice try.

 

in New York State the Department of Public Service controls verizon and other utilities.

they cannot make Verizon go to IPv6 and they handle valid complaints on service issues. Overcharging, non repairs to service, switching out services without consent, etc.

 

the rest of your post has nothing to do with asking for assistance from a customer helping customer forum.

 

call 1-800-VERIZON and ask them for assistance.

intramorph
Contributor
Contributor
Posts: 3
Registered: ‎03-25-2018

Re: Does FIOS have IPv6 yet?

Message 7 of 23
(19,823 Views)

There's absolutely nothing wrong to ask for IPv6 because every other ISP has it by now... I would like to ask when it will happen for V-Fios as well but I know the answer to that... even if they're planning on providing it they won't tell us... so this post is pointless to an extent however we're allowed to vent our frustrations aren't we?

jonjones
Platinum Contributor II
Platinum Contributor II
Posts: 5,275
Registered: ‎10-18-2016

Re: Does FIOS have IPv6 yet?

Message 8 of 23
(19,817 Views)

@intramorph wrote:

There's absolutely nothing wrong to ask for IPv6 because every other ISP has it by now... I would like to ask when it will happen for V-Fios as well but I know the answer to that... even if they're planning on providing it they won't tell us... so this post is pointless to an extent however we're allowed to vent our frustrations aren't we?


Incorrect. Most ISP’s do not have it now. And Fios is still one of them not having it.

when Verizon is ready to roll it out Verizon will do it.

 

 

 

maxehr
Contributor
Contributor
Posts: 2
Registered: ‎02-22-2018

Re: Does FIOS have IPv6 yet?

Message 9 of 23
(19,780 Views)

Does Verizon pay you or something? Both Comcast and TWC have ipv6 for residential customers. Regardless it's the right thing to do technologically. There's really no excuse for them not having it except that they don't care, and it's not something thats defensible it's just objectively wrong. 

jonjones
Platinum Contributor II
Platinum Contributor II
Posts: 5,275
Registered: ‎10-18-2016

Re: Does FIOS have IPv6 yet?

Message 10 of 23
(19,765 Views)

@maxehr wrote:

Does Verizon pay you or something? Both Comcast and TWC have ipv6 for residential customers. Regardless it's the right thing to do technologically. There's really no excuse for them not having it except that they don't care, and it's not something thats defensible it's just objectively wrong. 


https://www.timewarnercable.com/en/support/internet/topics/ipv6.html

https://www.spectrum.net/support/internet/ipv6/

https://www.dslreports.com/forum/r31469180-Does-Charter-offers-IPV6

 

Part of your statement is correct. It is available but not everywhere. See above links.

more not than have. And no I don’t work for Fios. 

As I stated when they are ready to let customers have it like they do on the wireless side the customers will get it.

 

How-To Videos
 
The following videos were produced by users like you!
   
Videos are subject to the Verizon Fios Community Terms of Service and User Guidelines and contains content that is not created by Verizon.
Have a spare Fios-G1100?Learn how to bridge it into your network
Get Started


Covid19

Browse Categories
Categories:
Posts

Verizon Troubleshooters
Unable to find your answer here? Try searching Verizon Troubleshooters for more options.