Accessibility Resource Center Skip to main content
Have a phone you love? Get up to $500 when you bring your phone.

Does Verizon FiOS not work with Firefox any more?

SOLVED
Reply
Gingjie
Contributor
Contributor
Posts: 4
Registered: ‎02-14-2013

Does Verizon FiOS not work with Firefox any more?

Message 1 of 8
(1,998 Views)

Used to work just fine.  Then  a few days I started having trouble logging on:  as soon as I would start typing my password, the screed would go blank and I'd be back at the home page.  So I'd try logging on again, and same thing would happen.  It takes me a long time to log in from FF (which I use on my laptop.  Everything seems to be working fine with ie on my desktop.)

 

Then, once logged in, I can't print from my email (or support or anything else related to verizon).  Although I have my hp wireless printer set  as the default, when I select "HP", that selection show for about a second then my print route suddenly becomes "one note" or "xps document writer".  Printing from excel or another program works with no problems.

 

And I have to say, I must agree with another poster:  verizon help seems designed to avoid giving help.  Beyond having the same type of problem using the forum when I was on my laptop, just finding someplace to ask a question rather than finding a "FAQ" was a nightmare.

 

Thanks for any help y'all can offer.

1 ACCEPTED SOLUTION

Accepted Solutions
walt178
Gold Contributor II
Gold Contributor II
Posts: 991
Registered: ‎11-06-2012

Re: Does Verizon FiOS not work with Firefox any more?

Message 2 of 8
(1,983 Views)

I've found that Firefox is inconsistent on Verizon and a few other sites that I visit.  In my experience Verizon works better with Internet Explorer. I have it set to delete everything but passwords on exit. Keep the box at the top checked to "preserve favorites website data."   I only use IE for Verizon and a few other sites and it works reliablly with those settings.  

 

The alternative is constantly purging Firefox cache and cookies. Which can be a nuisance.

View solution in original post

7 REPLIES 7
walt178
Gold Contributor II
Gold Contributor II
Posts: 991
Registered: ‎11-06-2012

Re: Does Verizon FiOS not work with Firefox any more?

Message 2 of 8
(1,984 Views)

I've found that Firefox is inconsistent on Verizon and a few other sites that I visit.  In my experience Verizon works better with Internet Explorer. I have it set to delete everything but passwords on exit. Keep the box at the top checked to "preserve favorites website data."   I only use IE for Verizon and a few other sites and it works reliablly with those settings.  

 

The alternative is constantly purging Firefox cache and cookies. Which can be a nuisance.

View solution in original post

Gingjie
Contributor
Contributor
Posts: 4
Registered: ‎02-14-2013

Re: Does Verizon FiOS not work with Firefox any more?

Message 3 of 8
(1,978 Views)

Thanks.  I guess I'll just have to remember to use IE when I want to access fios.

gs0b
Gold Contributor VII Gold Contributor VII
Gold Contributor VII
Posts: 2,004
Registered: ‎12-02-2012

Re: Does Verizon FiOS not work with Firefox any more?

Message 4 of 8
(1,976 Views)

I use Firefox exclusively.  I've no problems using it to access Verizon's or many other web sites over FiOS.  This message was posted through Firefox.

 

Not sure what your logging into.  There is no login on FiOS in order to access the internet.  Are you referring to a specific web site?  If so, it may be that the web site is setup for Explorer only.  Complain to the web site owner.

 

Good Luck!

 

Smith6612
Platinum Contributor III Platinum Contributor III
Platinum Contributor III
Posts: 7,590
Registered: ‎12-15-2010

Re: Does Verizon FiOS not work with Firefox any more?

Message 5 of 8
(1,888 Views)

I've never had issues with using Firefox or Chrome for that matter with Verizon's website. At most, it would be these forums that gave me issues in the past. Regardless of the fact, give Firefox a complete Cache and Cookie clear and see if it helps. Also make sure it is up to date.

walt178
Gold Contributor II
Gold Contributor II
Posts: 991
Registered: ‎11-06-2012

Re: Does Verizon FiOS not work with Firefox any more?

Message 6 of 8
(1,855 Views)

In my experience, Firefox works if I clean cache and cookies and restart.  Until the next time I visit!  Then it normally acts flaky and I have to stop, and clean it out again. For me it's easier to have one browser (IE) which I keep clean at all times, and use it for sites where I encounter problems.

 

Why does Firefox (and Chrome and IE) work well on some sites and not others? Wish I knew.

Why does Firefox (and Chrome and IE) work well for some users and not others? Wish I knew.

 

What I do know is that all three of the browsers I use can be problematic at times and on different sites. On another forum I'm on the same problem occurs. A user will report an issue with a browser, some users can duplicate the problem, some can't. Sometimes tech support can duplicate it, sometimes they can't. And that is a site where the administers take prompt action when problems are reported. But no one ever found a solution that works consistently for everyone.

Justin
Platinum Contributor III Platinum Contributor III
Platinum Contributor III
Posts: 5,173
Registered: ‎08-05-2008

Re: Does Verizon FiOS not work with Firefox any more?

Message 7 of 8
(1,847 Views)

@walt178 wrote:

In my experience, Firefox works if I clean cache and cookies and restart.  Until the next time I visit!  Then it normally acts flaky and I have to stop, and clean it out again. For me it's easier to have one browser (IE) which I keep clean at all times, and use it for sites where I encounter problems.

 

Why does Firefox (and Chrome and IE) work well on some sites and not others? Wish I knew.

Why does Firefox (and Chrome and IE) work well for some users and not others? Wish I knew.

 

What I do know is that all three of the browsers I use can be problematic at times and on different sites. On another forum I'm on the same problem occurs. A user will report an issue with a browser, some users can duplicate the problem, some can't. Sometimes tech support can duplicate it, sometimes they can't. And that is a site where the administers take prompt action when problems are reported. But no one ever found a solution that works consistently for everyone.


While I don't doubt you have experienced what you say you have, my experience is exactly the opposite regarding clearing cookies. I have Firefox set to automatically clear the cache on shutdown, but I never, ever clear my Verizon cookies. I use an add-on called selectivecookiedelete to manage cookies in Firefox, and I have it set to specificaly keep all Verizon cookies (along with the cookies for a number of other sites). Doing it this way allowed me to use the two-week login successfully for many months, until for some unexplained reason Verizon recently changed their VOLRememberMe cookie from one that expired exactly two weeks after creation to a session cookie which expires when you shut down the browser.

 

I know for a fact that some browser add-ons can interfere with the operation of some websites, including Verizon's. I know this because I have suggested people try starting their browser without any add-ons, and they have reported back that their problem disappeared. Other known possible causes are anti-virus and/or firewall programs interferring with website operation. I am sure there are also settings in the browser that can affect specific website operation. And of course there are certainly bugs somewhere in nearly every website, it is virtually impossible to test all possible conditions. So there are lots of potential sources for problems.

 

Firefox works just fine for me, has for every Verizon website that I have visited (not that I am fond of the look and performance of most Verizon websites, but all I currently visit do work for me in Firefox).

 

__________________________________
Justin
FiOS TV, 25/25 Internet, and Digital Voice user
QIP7232, QIP7100-P2, IMG 1.9.1
Keller, TX 76248

TonyVA408
Contributor
Contributor
Posts: 3
Registered: ‎02-22-2014

Re: Does Verizon FiOS not work with Firefox any more?

Message 8 of 8
(1,518 Views)

Five minutes ago, I would have said people reporting Firefox problems such as this thread describes must be dreaming, but not anymore.

 

My Problem -- After having to perform a router master reset, I obtained the default ID and password from my router's security label and attempted to sign-in.  I couldn't.  It's been so long since I had a problem, I initially forgot to try another browser.

 

My Solution -- I don't think Internet Explorer (IE) is a better browser; in fact I hate it.  But since Verizon Tech Support prefers using IE for troubleshooting, and since I have no add-ons installed with my IE browser, that's what ultimately solved my problem.  After successfully signing in and setting a new password, thereafter my Firefox browser worked just fine again.

 

I still don't know with 100% certainty what the problem was, but experiencing this problem will help me to remember: When Firefox seems to be acting up, try Internet Explorer.

 

Good luck, folks!

 

Tony

 

How-To Videos
 
The following videos were produced by users like you!
   
Videos are subject to the Verizon Fios Community Terms of Service and User Guidelines and contains content that is not created by Verizon.
Have a spare Fios-G1100?Learn how to bridge it into your network
Get Started


Covid19

Browse Categories
Categories:
Posts

Verizon Troubleshooters
Unable to find your answer here? Try searching Verizon Troubleshooters for more options.
Modal Dialogue Title