×

Switch Account

Enabling Ethernet Port on ONT

SOLVED
Reply
Highlighted
Copper Contributor
Copper Contributor
Posts: 13
Registered: ‎01-05-2009

Enabling Ethernet Port on ONT

Message 1 of 7
(1,992 Views)

I know this has been discussed a few times here but I am still searching for an answer.  We are currently running Cat6 cabling throughout the entire house.  We are going to move the Quantum Gateway in to a dedicated space in a closet where all the cabling will terminate with a few additional switches.  Is it worth it to have the ethernet port enabled on the ONT and run a cable from there to the Quantum or should we just go coax?  I also have TV through FiOS so we are running the coax either way to the closet.

 

Thanks in advance for any insight.

 

 

1 ACCEPTED SOLUTION

Accepted Solutions
Highlighted
Platinum Contributor III Platinum Contributor III
Platinum Contributor III
Posts: 7,876
Registered: ‎11-04-2008

Re: Enabling Ethernet Port on ONT

Message 4 of 7
(1,936 Views)

If you are going to want Internet above 100M, you will need to have Ethernet.

If you are running a coax anyway, running an ethernet as well is little to no extra work.

Why not do it and have it for the future.


If a forum member gives an answer you like, give them the Kudos they deserve. If a member gives you the answer to your question, mark the answer as Accepted Solution so others can see the solution to the problem.

View solution in original post

6 REPLIES 6
Highlighted
Platinum Contributor III Platinum Contributor III
Platinum Contributor III
Posts: 7,876
Registered: ‎11-04-2008

Re: Enabling Ethernet Port on ONT

Message 2 of 7
(1,979 Views)

Do you have TV service?

If so, you will still need coax from ONT for that.

And Quantum router will need connection to coax to provide access to Internet for STBs to get guide data and VOD.


If a forum member gives an answer you like, give them the Kudos they deserve. If a member gives you the answer to your question, mark the answer as Accepted Solution so others can see the solution to the problem.
Highlighted
Copper Contributor
Copper Contributor
Posts: 13
Registered: ‎01-05-2009

Re: Enabling Ethernet Port on ONT

Message 3 of 7
(1,966 Views)
Yup. Still keeping tv. So should I run an Ethernet cable in addition to the coax I am running to the closet or is doing Ethernet a waste of time?

Thanks!
Highlighted
Platinum Contributor III Platinum Contributor III
Platinum Contributor III
Posts: 7,876
Registered: ‎11-04-2008

Re: Enabling Ethernet Port on ONT

Message 4 of 7
(1,937 Views)

If you are going to want Internet above 100M, you will need to have Ethernet.

If you are running a coax anyway, running an ethernet as well is little to no extra work.

Why not do it and have it for the future.


If a forum member gives an answer you like, give them the Kudos they deserve. If a member gives you the answer to your question, mark the answer as Accepted Solution so others can see the solution to the problem.

View solution in original post

Highlighted
Contributor
Contributor
Posts: 3
Registered: ‎02-06-2010

Re: Enabling Ethernet Port on ONT

Message 5 of 7
(278 Views)

can the Ethernet port be enable by me? Also how?

Highlighted
MVP MVP
MVP
Posts: 1,625
Registered: ‎12-02-2012

Re: Enabling Ethernet Port on ONT

Message 6 of 7
(274 Views)

@Brewskier1 wrote:

can the Ethernet port be enable by me? Also how?


No.

 

Contact Verizon support via chat and they'll do it for you.  Takes a few minutes and doesn't cost anything.

 

Highlighted
Moderator Moderator
Moderator
Posts: 10,022
Registered: ‎03-18-2013

Re: Enabling Ethernet Port on ONT

Message 7 of 7
(270 Views)

As this thread is now over two years old, it will be locked in order to keep discussions current. If you have the same or a similar question/issue we invite you to start a new thread on the topic.

How-To Videos
 
The following videos were produced by users like you!
   
Videos are subject to the Verizon Fios Community Terms of Service and User Guidelines and contains content that is not created by Verizon.
Covid19


Browse Categories
Categories:
Posts

Verizon Troubleshooters
Unable to find your answer here? Try searching Verizon Troubleshooters for more options.