Accessibility Resource Center Skip to main content
Get it fast with In-store & curbside pickup or same day delivery.

Ethernet cable

SOLVED
Reply
ramsey76
Bronze Contributor I
Bronze Contributor I
Posts: 51
Registered: ‎01-10-2012

Ethernet cable

Message 1 of 8
(16,708 Views)

Need help on what Ethernet cable to buy for 1gig internet.  We currently have 50 Mb service.  The coax between ONT and router run along the two basement walls and into the basement ceiling vis a utilly cut out btween the garage and basement.  The coax cable then run up into our study via small opening for hot water baseboard into the router.  Total distance approximately 50 feet.  Verizon has told us they will not follow the same path for new ethernet cable required 1gig service.  So I plan to make install my own cable.  What type of cable should I buy ( CAT ?) ?

 

Should I buy 75 ft and have extra cable  or run the risk of being to short and need a ethernet connector

 

Thanks

 

       

1 ACCEPTED SOLUTION

Accepted Solutions
jonjones
Platinum Contributor II
Platinum Contributor II
Posts: 5,248
Registered: ‎10-18-2016

Re: Ethernet cable

Message 2 of 8
(16,684 Views)

Verizon uses cat5e and it's sufficient.

i ran cat6 and that is what I have throughout our home. Limitations are normally 100 ft or under for best service. I have 25ft. And one that is 50 ft and they work great.

 

 

View solution in original post

7 REPLIES 7
jonjones
Platinum Contributor II
Platinum Contributor II
Posts: 5,248
Registered: ‎10-18-2016

Re: Ethernet cable

Message 2 of 8
(16,685 Views)

Verizon uses cat5e and it's sufficient.

i ran cat6 and that is what I have throughout our home. Limitations are normally 100 ft or under for best service. I have 25ft. And one that is 50 ft and they work great.

 

 

View solution in original post

joe-nyc
Nickel Contributor
Nickel Contributor
Posts: 35
Registered: ‎07-13-2017

Re: Ethernet cable

Message 3 of 8
(16,650 Views)

technically the ethernet limit per wire run is 100m not 100' Smiley Indifferent

 

cat5e should be fine, cat6 is better, either shielded is best,

also consider getting a plenum jacket for extra fire safety.

cat7 does not exist - it's dumb chinese marketing bull crap.

 

you'll find plenty of sellers of all cut cable types on ebay.

i'd stick with the domestic sellers, not the overseas crap.

ramsey76
Bronze Contributor I
Bronze Contributor I
Posts: 51
Registered: ‎01-10-2012

Re: Ethernet cable

Message 4 of 8
(16,645 Views)

Thank you for the help

 

 

jonjones
Platinum Contributor II
Platinum Contributor II
Posts: 5,248
Registered: ‎10-18-2016

Re: Ethernet cable

Message 5 of 8
(16,632 Views)

@ramsey76 wrote:

Thank you for the help

 

 


You're welcome. 😀

jonjones
Platinum Contributor II
Platinum Contributor II
Posts: 5,248
Registered: ‎10-18-2016

Re: Ethernet cable

Message 6 of 8
(16,629 Views)

https://www.bestbuy.com/site/insignia-100-cat-5e-network-cable-gray/6392428.p?skuId=6392428

 

Note Feet not meters. This is how most   Folks equate in the USA

americans resist metric which most of the world uses. 😊

CRobGauth
Platinum Contributor III Platinum Contributor III
Platinum Contributor III
Posts: 7,963
Registered: ‎11-04-2008

Re: Ethernet cable

Message 7 of 8
(16,540 Views)

Joe's comment is that Ethernet spec allows for full speed runs at up to 100m.

Does assume you use cable that follows the spec.


If a forum member gives an answer you like, give them the Kudos they deserve. If a member gives you the answer to your question, mark the answer as Accepted Solution so others can see the solution to the problem.
jonjones
Platinum Contributor II
Platinum Contributor II
Posts: 5,248
Registered: ‎10-18-2016

Re: Ethernet cable

Message 8 of 8
(16,503 Views)

Yep I knew what he meant.

however unless the original poster was using a full wire wheel and knew how to place connectors on and crimp properly the FEET is what the poster needs. No crimping necessary and plug and run very easy.

 

 

 

How-To Videos
 
The following videos were produced by users like you!
   
Videos are subject to the Verizon Fios Community Terms of Service and User Guidelines and contains content that is not created by Verizon.
Have a spare Fios-G1100?Learn how to bridge it into your network
Get Started


Covid19

Browse Categories
Categories:
Posts

Verizon Troubleshooters
Unable to find your answer here? Try searching Verizon Troubleshooters for more options.