×

Switch Account

Ethernet switch between ONT and VZ router

SOLVED
Reply
Highlighted
Contributor
Contributor
Posts: 3
Registered: ‎09-02-2012

Ethernet switch between ONT and VZ router

Message 1 of 11
(3,771 Views)

Getting ready to have Fios installed in my home and i am looking at the different configurations possible. I want to know if it would be possible to place a ethernet switch between the ONT and the router from verizon? I am looking to have my home wired for ethernet here very soon so i am trying to be proactive and have that part ready for that project.

 

Also i understand that if i have TV service from fios I would need to maintain the coax cable connected to the VZ router is it possible to do that and have internet from the ont to my personal wifi router coming from the switch? So essectialy what i am wanting to do is connect one or two routers from the ethernet switch. 

1 ACCEPTED SOLUTION

Accepted Solutions
Highlighted
Gold Contributor III
Gold Contributor III
Posts: 1,122
Registered: ‎12-04-2009

Re: Ethernet switch between ONT and VZ router

Message 2 of 11
(3,755 Views)

Rigo wrote:

I want to know if it would be possible to place a ethernet switch between the ONT and the router from verizon?


No.  You can not place a switch between the ONT and your router. 


Rigo wrote:

Also i understand that if i have TV service from fios I would need to maintain the coax cable connected to the VZ router is it possible to do that and have internet from the ont to my personal wifi router coming from the switch?


 

You can request that the ONT be provisioned for a cat5 WAN connection.  That way, you can connect your router directly to the ONT.  You can place the Actiontec behind your router to provide VOD and guide data for the STBs.   Be aware that you will lose some functionality such as remote DVR and on screen caller-id.

 

 

 

View solution in original post

10 REPLIES 10
Highlighted
Gold Contributor III
Gold Contributor III
Posts: 1,122
Registered: ‎12-04-2009

Re: Ethernet switch between ONT and VZ router

Message 2 of 11
(3,756 Views)

Rigo wrote:

I want to know if it would be possible to place a ethernet switch between the ONT and the router from verizon?


No.  You can not place a switch between the ONT and your router. 


Rigo wrote:

Also i understand that if i have TV service from fios I would need to maintain the coax cable connected to the VZ router is it possible to do that and have internet from the ont to my personal wifi router coming from the switch?


 

You can request that the ONT be provisioned for a cat5 WAN connection.  That way, you can connect your router directly to the ONT.  You can place the Actiontec behind your router to provide VOD and guide data for the STBs.   Be aware that you will lose some functionality such as remote DVR and on screen caller-id.

 

 

 

View solution in original post

Highlighted
Platinum Contributor III
Platinum Contributor III
Posts: 5,881
Registered: ‎07-22-2009

Re: Ethernet switch between ONT and VZ router

Message 3 of 11
(3,753 Views)

Verizon, years ago, went to a strict one to one internet connection.  There was a time when you could hook up a switch and get upto 4 dhcp ip addresses.  They changed that, and now it's one ip to one device.  You can purchase static IP's (5 or more) and then you could do what you wanted to do, but if you go with a plain jane set up on dhcp, then you will have verizon give you either ethernet to one router, or coax to one router. 

 

What you do behind the router is a different story, and these are all the working configurations with FiOS that you can have. 

 

 

3.0 Networking
Highlighted
Contributor
Contributor
Posts: 3
Registered: ‎09-02-2012

Re: Ethernet switch between ONT and VZ router

Message 4 of 11
(3,748 Views)

Thanks for all the information. So I am able to purchase IP's having residential service?

Highlighted
Platinum Contributor III
Platinum Contributor III
Posts: 5,881
Registered: ‎07-22-2009

Re: Ethernet switch between ONT and VZ router

Message 5 of 11
(3,735 Views)

Yes, they will sell them to you.  I think they will consider you a business even though you are in a residential. 

Highlighted
Gold Contributor III
Gold Contributor III
Posts: 1,122
Registered: ‎12-04-2009

Re: Ethernet switch between ONT and VZ router

Message 6 of 11
(3,718 Views)

@Rigo wrote:

So I am able to purchase IP's having residential service?


 

Static IPs are only available with a business account.

 

@Hubrissinxs  - AFAIK, multiple DHCP addresses were never supported.  I believe you are thinking of PPPoE connections which did allow multiple IP addresses.

 

 

Highlighted
Platinum Contributor III
Platinum Contributor III
Posts: 5,881
Registered: ‎07-22-2009

Re: Ethernet switch between ONT and VZ router

Message 7 of 11
(3,704 Views)

When I was DSL before they started doing the MAC address thing, I would get upto 4 dhcp leases.  all unique.  One day my whole network went down, I called and they told me they began implementing mac address authentication and moving forward I wouldn't get more than one IP.  

 

it was a sad day, I remember it pretty well.  😞  def wasn't pppoe at the time.  

Highlighted
Platinum Contributor III Platinum Contributor III
Platinum Contributor III
Posts: 7,509
Registered: ‎12-15-2010

Re: Ethernet switch between ONT and VZ router

Message 8 of 11
(3,696 Views)

In the days of Verizon giving out free for all IP addresses on DSL, all you needed to do was take a switch and hook up machines to it. From that point, just use a PPPoE dialer and you'd get a public IP for each machine. PPPoE land had it. You just dialed up more dialers if you wanted more IPs. They've since enforced one session per line.

Highlighted
Contributor
Contributor
Posts: 3
Registered: ‎09-02-2012

Re: Ethernet switch between ONT and VZ router

Message 9 of 11
(3,637 Views)

So then I take it I would have to place my ethernet switch after the fios router. Will that degrade my connection connecting my switch to that one port from the router? I will have about 12-16 connectiong on the switch after my whole house is wired up. My internet plan i am currently scheduled to get installed is 75/35. Do you guys think that will be more then enough to handle constant streaming, gaming, and file sharing?

Highlighted
Platinum Contributor III
Platinum Contributor III
Posts: 5,881
Registered: ‎07-22-2009

Re: Ethernet switch between ONT and VZ router

Message 10 of 11
(3,612 Views)

After the first set of broadcasts, the switch will begin remembering and forwarding the traffic without use of the router, so you should be good.  You'll only be capped when you go through the net.

How-To Videos
 
The following videos were produced by users like you!
   
Videos are subject to the Verizon Fios Community Terms of Service and User Guidelines and contains content that is not created by Verizon.
Covid19


Browse Categories
Categories:
Posts

Verizon Troubleshooters
Unable to find your answer here? Try searching Verizon Troubleshooters for more options.