Accessibility Resource Center Skip to main content
Get it fast with In-store & curbside pickup or same day delivery.

FIOS APP on samsung stuck on detecting network

SOLVED
Reply
AMB22
Contributor
Contributor
Posts: 4
Registered: ‎10-19-2014

Re: FIOS APP on samsung stuck on detecting network

Message 11 of 38
(1,602 Views)
Same problem here...I've been complaining on a daily basis via multiple channels with no response from Verizon
Beyond
Contributor
Contributor
Posts: 1
Registered: ‎10-23-2014

Re: FIOS APP on samsung stuck on detecting network

Message 12 of 38
(1,546 Views)
Ditto. FIOS app stopped working over the weekend. The tv still connects to youtube, twit.tv and other internet services just fine.

FIOS app still working on my iPad though.
FIOS-Dan
Copper Contributor
Copper Contributor
Posts: 15
Registered: ‎08-24-2010

No Problems here...

Message 13 of 38
(1,531 Views)
I've read a lot of complaints, but haven't seen anyone state that everything if fine with the Samsung tv FIOS app. Well, I'm one of them. My Samsung FIOS Tv app has never been broken. It has always worked for me. I have a plasma smart tv (F8500 series).
AMB22
Contributor
Contributor
Posts: 4
Registered: ‎10-19-2014

Re: FIOS APP on samsung stuck on detecting network

Message 14 of 38
(1,454 Views)
Still not working here
jgp
Contributor
Contributor
Posts: 3
Registered: ‎10-24-2014

Re: FIOS APP on samsung stuck on detecting network

Message 15 of 38
(1,426 Views)

I have the same problem. It started recently.  It is very annoying as I was not sure it was Verizon, but after ensuring that the Samsung TV is working well and spending a lot of time resetting everything and talking to Samsung I saw these posts and realize it is Verizon. I have 5 set boxes at home and only use 2, with the others used only occassionally where guests stay. I have the smart tv where I do my paperwork and use it so occassionally. I guess Verizon thinks that by preventing the use of the app, they can force the rental of another set box. I just don't understand this rationale. Clearly a lack understanding of customer needs and reflects poorly on their management and what they think of their customers. I am considering seriously changing services.

tns2
Platinum Contributor III Platinum Contributor III
Platinum Contributor III
Posts: 4,437
Registered: ‎12-16-2012

Re: No Problems here...

Message 16 of 38
(1,419 Views)

@FIOS-Dan wrote:
I've read a lot of complaints, but haven't seen anyone state that everything if fine with the Samsung tv FIOS app. Well, I'm one of them. My Samsung FIOS Tv app has never been broken. It has always worked for me. I have a plasma smart tv (F8500 series).


Surprised its still working for you (you have tried it in the last week).   Might help if it could be figured out what is different between you and others reporing it not working.  I am in indirect contact with Verizon support, and they seem to be having trouble in figuring out what is wrong.  I am currently testing in VHO2 Florida.

FIOS-Dan
Copper Contributor
Copper Contributor
Posts: 15
Registered: ‎08-24-2010

Re: No Problems here...

Message 17 of 38
(1,403 Views)
I used it last night. It works perfectly. The FIOS app on my 2013 Samsung plasma tv says "Build 1.0.36". This app has always connected for me. It has never failed. I'm wondering if certain builds of this app are only meant to run on certain smarthubs of Samsung tv's? So loading my current FIOS app build on an older Samsung TV may be impossible due to hardware incompatibilities. My Samsung tv is also wirelessly connected to my FIOS MI424WR router.
tns2
Platinum Contributor III Platinum Contributor III
Platinum Contributor III
Posts: 4,437
Registered: ‎12-16-2012

Re: No Problems here...

Message 18 of 38
(1,357 Views)

@FIOS-Dan wrote:
I used it last night. It works perfectly. The FIOS app on my 2013 Samsung plasma tv says "Build 1.0.36". This app has always connected for me. It has never failed. I'm wondering if certain builds of this app are only meant to run on certain smarthubs of Samsung tv's? So loading my current FIOS app build on an older Samsung TV may be impossible due to hardware incompatibilities. My Samsung tv is also wirelessly connected to my FIOS MI424WR router.


Same build for me, so thats not the difference.  And mine are also 2013 plasmas

eyali
Contributor
Contributor
Posts: 1
Registered: ‎10-25-2014

Re: FIOS APP on samsung stuck on detecting network

Message 19 of 38
(1,319 Views)

Same problem here, customer service rep said it's a problem that has been inttorduced since Samsung's latest FW upgrade and has to do with a certificate issue.

My 2012 Smart TV is stuck on "Detecting Network" too, there is no network issues for sure.

Verizon, fix it, its a super minor thing, just fix, recompile and distribute already.

sava22066
Contributor
Contributor
Posts: 1
Registered: ‎10-25-2014

Re: FIOS APP on samsung stuck on detecting network

Message 20 of 38
(1,295 Views)
I figured I'd add my "two cents", The FIOS tv app on my Samsung TV stopped work last week. Now when I open the app I get stuck on a "Detecting Network" screen. Something has changed between Verizon app or Samsung. I've also engaged FIOS customer service and was told it's probably the TV. The remedie was to reinstall the app. This was done serveral times and has not resolved the problem. I wonder if Verizon would be more responsive maintaining the Fios TV app if their competitors like Cox or Comcast had similar apps on the Samsung Smarthub exchange. People would have the opportunity to which from Verizon to a more responsive cable/inernet provider.
How-To Videos
 
The following videos were produced by users like you!
   
Videos are subject to the Verizon Fios Community Terms of Service and User Guidelines and contains content that is not created by Verizon.
Covid19


Browse Categories
Categories:
Posts

Verizon Troubleshooters
Unable to find your answer here? Try searching Verizon Troubleshooters for more options.