Accessibility Resource Center Skip to main content
Have a phone you love? Get up to $500 when you switch and bring your phone.

FIOS G3100 Router - External VPN Issues

SOLVED
Reply
SamerN
Copper Contributor
Copper Contributor
Posts: 6
Registered: ‎05-07-2021

Re: FIOS G3100 Router - External VPN Issues

Message 21 of 30
(946 Views)

I am not sure what you mean by this (The tracert to the office resource shows the tunnel is not really "up.")?

Both tracert are to the office. The one over wired connection completes and the other over Wifi timesout. Are you referring to the second one? In both cases, the Shrewsoft client says tunnel enabled.

 

Unfortunately, I have an iPhone and have tried to set it up with VPN in the past to those two office that aren't working now, and it couldn't be done so I can't test that 😞  For what it's worth, I have a laptop already configured with shrewsoft that was also working fine before and now has the same issue. The laptop doesn't have a wire ethernet (unless i get a dock) so i can't use it for work right now.

Cang_Household
Gold Contributor VI Gold Contributor VI
Gold Contributor VI
Posts: 1,155
Registered: ‎09-06-2020

Re: FIOS G3100 Router - External VPN Issues

Message 22 of 30
(905 Views)

Hello again, I attempted to use the IPhone's native IPsec client to connect to my test VPN behind a G3100 via WiFi, it failed as well. I am contacting Verizon engineering for insights.

Cang_Household
Gold Contributor VI Gold Contributor VI
Gold Contributor VI
Posts: 1,155
Registered: ‎09-06-2020

Re: FIOS G3100 Router - External VPN Issues

Message 23 of 30
(886 Views)

I have sent you a private message, please check. You can access your private message box by clicking on your account name on the right hand side of the page, and then click the mail icon on the pop up menu. Thanks.

lastofko
Contributor
Contributor
Posts: 1
Registered: ‎06-28-2021

Re: FIOS G3100 Router - External VPN Issues

Message 24 of 30
(745 Views)

What is the solution?

Cang_Household
Gold Contributor VI Gold Contributor VI
Gold Contributor VI
Posts: 1,155
Registered: ‎09-06-2020

Re: FIOS G3100 Router - External VPN Issues

Message 25 of 30
(736 Views)

Hello lastofko,

 

I have brought this issue to Verizon engineering and they are looking for causes and solutions. 

 

The current workaround is to connect an Ethernet cable between the G3100 and the computer. The internal resources on the other end seem to be accessible through this way.

 

What do you see in G3100's log when you are having VPN problems? Defragmentation error?

bulls23ant
Contributor
Contributor
Posts: 1
Registered: ‎07-21-2021

Re: FIOS G3100 Router - External VPN Issues

Message 26 of 30
(603 Views)

Hi has any resolution been found for this issue since the last comment? I am having exactly the same issue the original poster had. Which is I'm unable to stablish a VPN connection with my office. I'm using Shrew VPN and setting are identical to the screenshots he posted changing the hostname were I'm connecting to. I keep getting the same error over and over again in the firewall logs:

 

bulls23ant_0-1626901567034.png

 


https://drive.google.com/file/d/18ZSpR21YjIg0ZOZkccGaPsPKSBjRv4jY/view?usp=sharing

 

The ports change so I can't really forward them. I have forwarded all of the recommended ports I have found while searching posts in this forum of people with the same issue. 

 

I can't hardwire into the router because of the layout of my house so my current workaround is to temporarily place my laptop on the DMZ, connect, upload-download what I need and then take my computer out of the DMZ. It's 5 min at most but it's still not great. Luckily I don't have to be connected constantly. Any help will be appreciated.

Cang_Household
Gold Contributor VI Gold Contributor VI
Gold Contributor VI
Posts: 1,155
Registered: ‎09-06-2020

Re: FIOS G3100 Router - External VPN Issues

Message 27 of 30
(597 Views)

Sorry, I don't have further suggestions. Defragmentation error via WiFi interfaces is now a known error as multiple users have reported it.

Samsa
Contributor
Contributor
Posts: 1
Registered: ‎08-11-2021

Re: FIOS G3100 Router - External VPN Issues

Message 28 of 30
(411 Views)

I have only a basic knowledge of networking and recognize you folks are on a higher level, so this suggestion for a workaround might be quite obviously ridiculous. If so, please be kind...

 

The OP said the VPN works on a wired connection to the Verizon router but not on a wireless connection. Have you tried connecting another wireless router to the Verizon router, turning off DHCP on the second wireless router and turning off both wireless radios on the Verizon router, then connecting wirelessly to the second router? Your laptop would still be getting its IP address from the Verizon router, but this might "fool" the Verizon router into treating your connection through the second router as a "wired" connection, since the second router is literally wired to the Verizon router. 

Cang_Household
Gold Contributor VI Gold Contributor VI
Gold Contributor VI
Posts: 1,155
Registered: ‎09-06-2020

Re: FIOS G3100 Router - External VPN Issues

Message 29 of 30
(409 Views)

Yes. It should work as you described.

 

Update for the entire thread: a fix is on the way. VPN issue may be resolved in a future firmware update.

Cang_Household
Gold Contributor VI Gold Contributor VI
Gold Contributor VI
Posts: 1,155
Registered: ‎09-06-2020

Re: FIOS G3100 Router - External VPN Issues

Message 30 of 30
(975 Views)

Just for your information, VPN Fragmentation issue seems to be fixed in the latest firmware 3.1.0.12.

 

Users now does not need to use the Ethernet interface in order to connect to a remote IPsec VPN.

View solution in original post

How-To Videos
 
The following videos were produced by users like you!
   
Videos are subject to the Verizon Fios Community Terms of Service and User Guidelines and contains content that is not created by Verizon.
Have a spare Fios-G1100?Learn how to bridge it into your network
Get Started


Covid19

Browse Categories
Categories:
Posts

Verizon Troubleshooters
Unable to find your answer here? Try searching Verizon Troubleshooters for more options.
Modal Dialogue Title