FIOS Goes Down Every Night at 9PM for Hours
InternetJunkie1
Enthusiast - Level 2

I'm a computer / network technician by day just to give an idea of my technical troubleshooting experience.

I've contacted FIOS about this and was either left on hold for 30+ mins or have been offered pretty basic and uneventful tech support regarding this situation that has left my family and I very very frustrated. 

Every day since January, our internet goes out at approx 9pm and regains full access around midnight. When it goes out, it will occasionally load a page but for the most part there's no connectivity. All the link lights are on the Fios router.

I have a secondary Wifi hotspot in bridge mode on the top floor to extend the range and I also have a PoE switch powering a few network cameras in the home. 

I've actually gone through the trouble of replacing all of the equipment on my side of the network per Verizon's recommendation (even though knowing this wouldn't solve the problem, I didn't want them wasting time blaming this on me). 

Still happens each night. I reset the Verizon router to the factory settings, and used just the Verizon router by itself. still the same problem occurs. Sometimes I am able to access the internet after 9pm, but only when over LAN by wire, and it's still spotty at best. 

Within the house when the internet cannot be accessed, I can run internal transfers at gigabit speed over wired LAN and over AC Wireless, I get 750mbps on the 5ghz wireless channel.

Trying to open the UI for the Verizon Router at 192.168.1.1 takes almost 4 minutes to load the page when the internet is acting up. 

It's extremely frustrating because we're online degree earners as well and this is basically the only time of the day we can get work done. I've been borrowing my neighbors Comcast login info because the FIOS is always down.