Re: FIOS Internet Speeds :: 75/35 MB not even close
mtlebomac
Enthusiast - Level 2

Thanks for all the input.

So with all the line checking and REAL WORLD FTP upload/download testing of 150MB file to my dedicated server at ThePlanet.com... (with approx 10 hops at 7am ... I'll now challenge the second poster's comments... line degredation was neglible) ... 

...the advertised speeds WIRED are suspect, and at 120% load test in the calculated model, the file file should download  in under ~40 seconds. My REAL WORLD test: it still takes over 1 min 10-15 seconds to download the file. 

It's unfortunate, but "complaining" is going to fall on VZ's deaf ears. 

Is there a legal case here? Probably in aggregate, but VZ may argue all the points listed above in the thread, so we'll most likely not get anywhere... shame... oh well...

...on the bright side, Roku/Plex/Tivo OTA work great!!! 🙂  

Cheers

0 Likes
44r0n

I'm not a programmer, but I can do basic math and I'm having a very similar problem getting anywhere close to my advertised Fio speed from my cloud drive service (but not when I'm using another ISP):

Day 1- I had Fois's 75/35 plan.  I signed up for PogoPlug's unlimited cloud drive service and was getting roughly 26Mbps-up with several Mbps variance.  This is sort of what I expected, but I contacted PogoPlug to make sure they weren't doing anything to limit me to 26Mbps.  They said they were not and that traffic fluxuations, yada, yada, yada... -understandable.

Day 2- My up speed to PogoPlug dropped to 2.6Mbps with a variance of only .1 (that's point-one) Mbps.  I'm backing up hours of digital-IMAX footage, so this upload will take weeks at this rate.  I watch the upload for a few days and it never wavers more than .1 from 2.6Mbps.  I open a service ticket with PogoPlug, and call Verizon.