Accessibility Resource Center Skip to main content
Have a phone you love? Get up to $500 when you switch and bring your phone.

FIOS Internet

Reply
Chiz
Copper Contributor
Copper Contributor
Posts: 9
Registered: ‎09-09-2008

Re: FIOS Internet

Message 11 of 20
(9,353 Views)

prisaz,

 

I appreciate your reply, but if you would read a little more you would realize I'm not just aimlessly complaining.  I replied to Jim785, a Verizon employee, with the DETAILS he requested.  He still has not, nor has any other Verizon employee, posted back with possible issues.  Also, I was not upgraded to 20/5 for free.  Once again, I apprecite your reply, it appears that with your post count you are a very active/helpful member, or an undercover employee.  I don't mean to be negative towards you in any way, please understand this.    It seems all the threads I read tell you to call tech support.  You would think they would post possible answers on here for people to try themselves first, then call in to tech support. 

 

Chiz      

kevinb
Bronze Contributor II
Bronze Contributor II
Posts: 90
Registered: ‎05-21-2009

Re: FIOS Internet

Message 12 of 20
(9,332 Views)

@Chiz wrote:

Hello Jim785,

 

I'm not Anthony_gig but I too have some issues with my Fios speeds that irritate me.  My problem is it's just slow all the time, not a yoyo.  Here are my answers to your questions, please reply with any ideas that you may have to help.

 

Testing speeds at 6/1.5, paying for 15/2.

Wired connection

XP Home Edition

1.5 GB Ram

Using speak easy and selecting the closest site.

 

I switched from Verizon DSL a little over a year ago and expected a huge speed difference, but have been real disappointed, although I've been dealing with it, any help/info would be greatly appreciated.

 

Thanks

Chiz


 

Are any other devices using your internet connection while you are testing your speed? Other PCs, consoles, cell phones, etc?

Have you tried a speed test from safe mode?

@IS your NIC connecting @ 100mbps/full duplex?

anthony_gig
Contributor
Contributor
Posts: 4
Registered: ‎06-03-2009

Re: FIOS Internet

Message 13 of 20
(9,316 Views)

Today its slow choking - then comes on line - then again slow choking stuck - then online back to speed - like I said YoYo....

 

Here comes COMCAST !!!!

prisaz
Platinum Contributor III
Platinum Contributor III
Posts: 6,820
Registered: ‎08-23-2008

Re: FIOS Internet

Message 14 of 20
(9,307 Views)

@Chiz wrote:

prisaz,

 

I appreciate your reply, but if you would read a little more you would realize I'm not just aimlessly complaining.  I replied to Jim785, a Verizon employee, with the DETAILS he requested.  He still has not, nor has any other Verizon employee, posted back with possible issues.  Also, I was not upgraded to 20/5 for free.  Once again, I apprecite your reply, it appears that with your post count you are a very active/helpful member, or an undercover employee.  I don't mean to be negative towards you in any way, please understand this.    It seems all the threads I read tell you to call tech support.  You would think they would post possible answers on here for people to try themselves first, then call in to tech support. 

 

Chiz      


Not undercover, and I wish Verizon paid me. I did read all the posts and see you did provide information about your setup. I did not mean you should not post your beefs, but I have seen issues not related to the connection itself. Lord knows I have posted my share of complaints. Even as a CL I have not always had a positive spin on things. But I have had FIOS since 2005 and have never had issues with speed dropping off, unless something on the machine was flakey. When I switched to Vista there were issues with the TCP/IP stack, and Verizon's optimizer fixes that, but I fixed the problem before they did. Ran Vista Beta. I have seen a XP PC loaded with spyware come to almost a grinding halt. I hope you get your speed issue figured out and resolved. Sorry I can not be of anymore help.

prisaz
Platinum Contributor III
Platinum Contributor III
Posts: 6,820
Registered: ‎08-23-2008

Re: FIOS Internet

Message 15 of 20
(9,287 Views)

One more thing you can try. I know my Vista machine was slow at some point after loading a service pack and or MS hotfix. 50% slower. XP may have had some recent things pushed down from MS. The Optimizer adjusts the TCP/IP stack and could solve some of your issues.

 

http://www2.verizon.net/help/fios_settings/optimizer/

Chiz
Copper Contributor
Copper Contributor
Posts: 9
Registered: ‎09-09-2008

Re: FIOS Internet

Message 16 of 20
(9,272 Views)

prisaz,

 

I appreciate the help.  I have ran the optimizer, and it says I'm already optimized.  I do plan on getting some sort of spyware program to sweep my computer and see if that helps any.  I do run Norton all the time, but they may not be able to catch all of it.  Thanks again.

 

Chiz 

prisaz
Platinum Contributor III
Platinum Contributor III
Posts: 6,820
Registered: ‎08-23-2008

Re: FIOS Internet

Message 17 of 20
(9,259 Views)

@Chiz wrote:

prisaz,

 

I appreciate the help.  I have ran the optimizer, and it says I'm already optimized.  I do plan on getting some sort of spyware program to sweep my computer and see if that helps any.  I do run Norton all the time, but they may not be able to catch all of it.  Thanks again.

 

Chiz 


Here is a link to a thread regarding spyware, and has the links to three popular versions of software.

http://forums.verizon.com/vrzn/board/message?board.id=FiOS_Internet&message.id=3416&query.id=74712#M...

 

kevinb
Bronze Contributor II
Bronze Contributor II
Posts: 90
Registered: ‎05-21-2009

Re: FIOS Internet

Message 18 of 20
(9,239 Views)

@anthony_gig wrote:

Today its slow choking - then comes on line - then again slow choking stuck - then online back to speed - like I said YoYo....

 

Here comes COMCAST !!!!


 

You probably should just stop using the internet in general.
Message Edited by kevinb on 06-12-2009 11:12 AM
OWUaaronTSi
Nickel Contributor
Nickel Contributor
Posts: 43
Registered: ‎03-25-2009

Re: FIOS Internet

Message 19 of 20
(9,224 Views)

@kevinb wrote:

@anthony_gig wrote:

Today its slow choking - then comes on line - then again slow choking stuck - then online back to speed - like I said YoYo....

 

Here comes COMCAST !!!!


 

You probably should just stop using the internet in general.
Message Edited by kevinb on 06-12-2009 11:12 AM

 

lol
TR-Tim
Nickel Contributor
Nickel Contributor
Posts: 31
Registered: ‎02-09-2009

Re: FIOS Internet

Message 20 of 20
(9,218 Views)

Well, here is my experience over the past month.  I started noticing a slowdown in speed, not all the time, just periodically.  I would reboot the router, and things would clear up for a while, then would slow down again.  Other times it was fine, nice and fast.

 

Had called customer service several times, some reps were good, others not so much, but eventually they sent me a new router.  Seemed ok at first then later, same thing.  I was ready to call again and request someone to come out and look at the situation, but that evening was just fooling around, checking the router settings and such, and found when I turned off the wireless on the router, speed shot right up to about 9.8mps where it should be.  After a while it would slow down.  The only two computers on the network at that point was our main desktop PC and my son's laptop.  (he was in bed asleep, but he leaves it on all the time).  Next day we did a test, had him turn off his wireless card and wouldn't you know, THAT was the culprit.  He had some kind of virus or something affecting his wireless adapter, and that was causing all the problem.  Now he's fixed it, and all is well.   So, you may want to check if someone else's equipment in your household is causing you problems, or it's possible that a neighbor could be connecting to your signal and causing your situation.

How-To Videos
 
The following videos were produced by users like you!
   
Videos are subject to the Verizon Fios Community Terms of Service and User Guidelines and contains content that is not created by Verizon.
Have a spare Fios-G1100?Learn how to bridge it into your network
Get Started


Covid19

Browse Categories
Categories:
Posts

Verizon Troubleshooters
Unable to find your answer here? Try searching Verizon Troubleshooters for more options.
Modal Dialogue Title